Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed and Quality-filled.
This anthology covers 11 years, and features 19 songs from the underrated genius Richard Thompson. He does fast stuff, slow stuff, ballads, bitter stuff and funny stuff. The melodies creep into your head and heart and linger there, as do some of the most sensitive lyrics this side of heaven. There are memorable songs of love and love lost, of death and misunderstanding,...
Published on 19 April 2011 by Sentinel

versus
6 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars two great tracks does not make a 5 star album
i read somewhere on here that thompson has always been consistent in the high quality of his work. i beg to differ. and heres why:

thompson, like all other singer-songwriters of his generation. dylan/cohen/mclean/taylor/donovan etc - does not seem to realize where his strengths ly. they ly in his introspective acoustic numbers. they do NOT belong in the lame,...
Published on 23 Aug 2009 by the lone voice of reason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed and Quality-filled., 19 April 2011
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This anthology covers 11 years, and features 19 songs from the underrated genius Richard Thompson. He does fast stuff, slow stuff, ballads, bitter stuff and funny stuff. The melodies creep into your head and heart and linger there, as do some of the most sensitive lyrics this side of heaven. There are memorable songs of love and love lost, of death and misunderstanding, of frustration, emptiness and rejection, all carried on a raft of insidiously unforgettable melodies.

This is a fine introduction to Richard Thompson's solo work, and forms an ideal partner for the earlier Island collection which includes his work with Linda Thompson, The Best Of Richard And Linda Thomspon: The Island Record Years Once you've given these a listen you're likely to join the rest of us in exploring all the other treasures in this wonderful songwriter's albums. I envy you the journey! A bargain of real quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover (or re-discover) the talents of Richard Thompson, 23 April 2001
For long term fans, there is only one new track (three if you don't use vinyl), but it's a cracker .
For those of you who have not yet had the pleasure of discovering the talents of possibly the finest songwriter and guitarist this island has produced, here is a selection of his finest songs from the Capitol years.
Do yourselves a favour and give your ears a treat - buy this album!!
The lyrics are thought provoking, clever, tender, funny, dark, evocative & insightful. The tunes range from stomping rock to subtle accoustic ballads. The guitar playing is just superb throughout and the voice is simply Richard Thompson.
Its a wonderful collection of wonderful songs by a master of his craft.
I bought it just because I can.
You should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic, 13 Nov 2003
I bought this album as an introduction to Richard Thompson having hearing 1952 Vincent Black Lightning on BBC 6 Music and being blown away by such a fantastic and very moving song.
If you've never heard him before or are looking for a more complete introduction to him, then this is the album
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare thing, 17 Sep 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This compilation from four of Richard Thompson`s most musically uncompromising albums, dating from 1988-99, is a real boon, as it cherry-picks the best tracks from those albums to give the grateful listener a feast of Thompsoniana that includes two of the finest songs - by anyone - of the last forty years. In fact, why don`t I just come out and say it: this man is the greatest contemporary songwriter, bar none. He`s certainly the subtlest, though his friend Loudon Wainwright is funnier, and Dylan simply untouchable. But RT, since the 70s, has been surely the most consistently brilliant.
According to the excellent booklet notes by Rob Bowman, the unimprovable song 1952 Vincent Black Lightning is `the most requested song on National Public Radio in the United States` - quite an achievement for an old folkie from W London. I can believe it though, since once heard the song is impossible to forget. Like so many RT songs, it`s about real people in credible situations, a poetic, witty lyric which shows both compassion and a wry empathy for their humanity. I love its opening lines:

Says Red Molly to James, `That`s a fine motorbike,
A girl could feel special on any such like`.
Says James to Red Molly, `My hat`s off to you,
It`s a Vincent Black Lightning Nineteen fifty-two`

The names he chooses for his characters are always just right. Red Molly...!
Chuck Berry never wrote a better, more affecting song than this, and that`s the highest praise I can think of.
Beeswing is the other obvious unforgettable song here, a gentle mid-tempo nostalgic ditty set in the Summer of Love, which may well be the most beautiful song in his repertoire. He`s tenderly remembering a girl:

She was a rare thing, fine as a beeswing...

It`s such a wonderful song you want to rush out and play it to anyone who`ll listen.
But these 77 minutes are packed with beauties, starting with the opening track, Turning Of The Tide, boasting one of RT`s gutsiest vocals, then comes Waltzing`s For Dreamers, a sad and lovely ballad that reminds me of his earlier songs for himself and his then-wife Linda.
Then there`s the rambunctious I Feel So Good, about a man fresh out of prison, featuring another tremendous RT vocal:

I feel so good I`m gonna break somebody`s heart tonight...

You believe him. A great performance of an urgently edgy song.
There are 18 tracks in all, including two unavailable before on disc, and one with son Teddy sharing vocals, sounding like a fresh chip of the old block.
Not every track is as good as the best ones here, this era of RT`s recording career producing a few rather `cold` songs, at least musically. But as a whole I`d say this is an exemplary compilation, and as such an essential one.
A hugely underrated singer, a superlative guitarist, a songwriter of genius.
Endlessly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Respectable compilation of RT's Capitol years, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Lord Groan (Stafford, England) - See all my reviews
Richard Thompson's Capitol albums were sometimes marred by Mitchell Froom's overenthusiastic production. This compilation is a very good representation of those years and has great variety of pace and theme. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 26 July 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This latter-day compilation is a rare example of an artist who continues to turn out high quality material in middle age. Thompson's folk influences are evident, but it's a collection that ought to appeal to anyone who appreciates thinking-man's popular music. 'I Misunderstood,' for example, is the type of recording you might expect from Crowded House, while there are a few songs reminiscent of the so-called power-pop bands of the new wave era. Nevertheless, Thompson is at his most compelling when he accompanies himself on guitar on the menacing 'Cold Kisses.' There are a few instant offerings, the best of which is 'Feel So Good' but this is a varied and highly enjoyable collection of intelligent, thought-provoking songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master at his undisputed best..., 8 Nov 2003
By 
carl iredale (halifax, west yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you've chanced upon this album because you've heard Mr. Thompson is a bit of a musical genius, then you could do alot worse than start here. Unlike alot of artists, Richard's musical output has no 'weaker' areas, so doing a best of must have been a hideous job to perform. Let me say this: Richard Thompson has been voted the best songwriter award several times by several different institutions (Q magazine, etc) and is one of this country's finest lyricists. The breadth of scope covered in is songs is always refreshing and sometimes touches areas of life we wouldn't conciously wish to go. He also has he rare ability ot move you in 3 minutes of music. Obvious examples here are ...well, there are so many, but I still remember hearing the track 'Beeswing' for the first time, and tears falling down my cheeks but the end of it. Crushingly beautiful stuff.
Richard Thompson is a national treasure (albit a well kept secret at the same time) and though many are unfamiliar with his talents, one day he will be recognised as such. If you're still not sure, dip your toe in here. You will not regret it. Promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-Class Compilation - A Must Buy!, 1 Oct 2010
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The songs on this compilation are diverse, beautifully played and stunningly good. This has everything, from foot-tapping rockers like 'Turning Of The Tide', through story-telling songs such as '1952 Vincent Black Lightning', to glorious ballads such as 'Beeswing' or 'Persuasion' (a masterpiece). If you are unfamiliar with the music of Richard Thompson then this is a fine place to start. If you're already a fan, then these remastered tracks should satisfy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, 29 Mar 2009
By 
Terry Starr (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with the reviewer who said it must have been a hell of a job deciding which tracks to include and which to leave out. Richard Thompson's output is staggeringly consistent - you would have difficulty finding a single weak track on any of his albums. You will laugh, cry, dance and sometimes just be dumbfounded with wonder, first of all at how he does it, and then at why he is not a major international superstar. Who else has a catalogue like this? Elvis Costello, Van Morrison maybe, but Thompson pips them both for the sheer excitement he generates. He has been the world's greatest living guitarist ever since Hendrix died, and a singer and songwriter of rare talent. So don't waste your money. Once you've bought and listened to this compilation you will want to buy all the individual albums, because if you are a fan, not one of them is to be missed. Buy them in chronological order, or alphabetical order or whatever, but buy them. You will never be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars West coast RT?, 18 Jun 2004
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Why 4 stars and not 5? I guess I have a hankering for the older, folkier, more acoustic, more introspective RT. Here, he largely sounds happier, more relaxed, more west-coast electric AOR. Not that there aren't folkier numbers, including the sublime and moving 1952 Vincent Black Lightening, but more of Richard's material is tending to the bland and familiar - though of a considerably higher quality than many you'll find churning them out!
Don't regard this as overt criticism, because it's not intended as such. This is a fine collection, with several memorable songs. But if you're new to the man, start with older material first and understand his roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews