Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great American Rock radio tunes!
Vixen is a great little record for us blokes to sing along to with pop metal classics 'Edge of a Broken Heart', 'Cryin'.
It was a great debut album from probably the only all female Rock band to come out of America in the last 15 years.
Plus the band wrote the majority of all their songs with a little help of Richard Marx.
Just a great pop rock album!
Published on 12 Jun. 2003 by J. Maher

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rock chics
Cryin and love made me, where the reason i bought this album which where both released as singles the rest are average tracks .
Published 19 months ago by Red 66


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great American Rock radio tunes!, 12 Jun. 2003
By 
J. Maher (Rochdale , Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
Vixen is a great little record for us blokes to sing along to with pop metal classics 'Edge of a Broken Heart', 'Cryin'.
It was a great debut album from probably the only all female Rock band to come out of America in the last 15 years.
Plus the band wrote the majority of all their songs with a little help of Richard Marx.
Just a great pop rock album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's pop dressed up as rock but I like it...., 6 April 2003
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
Some great tracks here like "Edge of a broken heart", "I want you to rock me" and "Cryin". It's the sort of stuff you would expect to hear on American rock radio.
Hell, but I like it. Let's face it - it's pop music but a bit rockier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vixen are awesome!, 27 May 2007
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
I love this cd, Vixen were one of the best glam rock bands of the 80's and this album is a total classic! The hit 'Edge of a Broken heart' is a rousing, well-written pop song that was a great debut for the band, while 'Crying' is probably the best song on the album, showing off Janet Gardner's great vocals and extensive range. Cool rock tunes include 'I want you to rock me', 'Hellraiser' and 'Cruisin', and 'Desperate' is also a really great song - showing the band from a more sensitive side. Although it's fair to say Vixen's music wasn't particularly profound in it's style or lyrics, the quality of their output was always high and they produced some killer songs that anyone with a taste for rock or pop can really get off on. This is a great album with some real gems, and deserves far greater attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!!!!!!!, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
Loved this album since I was 16. Had it on tape and hunted in the shops for it, should have looked on amazon first !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glamrock works much better when done by women, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Jan Patrik Sahlstrøm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
It really should have been obvious even though it took the music industry long enough to understand, pop metal works much better with female vocalists than a guy looking like a rock poodle singing at the top of the vocal range. Vixen walks right over the guy bands of the glamrock age. Recommended and fun glamrock album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Radio Friendly Hair Metal, 23 Nov. 2008
By 
J. M. Salinas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
The thing with Vixen, there's a wiff of manufactured band around it.

When you record your first album, most of the songs, if not all, should be yours. Allegedly, those are the songs you have built your reputation on around the club circuit and got you the record deal. So how come when you look at the writing credits there are so many non band members involved?

But then, you know what? The result is not so bad. The opening track is an instant classic. And there are quite a few rockers in the album to make it an enjoyable listen throuhout. The production is polished, with a clean sound that makes it radio friendly, ensuring your ears won't tire of it.

It is definitely a worthy addition to any rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
I love Vixen. This is their first album, awesome. Buy & enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rock chics, 9 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Vixen (Audio CD)
Cryin and love made me, where the reason i bought this album which where both released as singles the rest are average tracks .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vixen
Vixen by Vixen
Buy MP3 Album£6.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews