Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary & the blues at his rippin' best
This is Gary at his blues peak for me, when he was still rockin' up the blues. Nowadays he's more of a purist's blues player but the concert captured on this CD is Gary really kicking, his Les Paul and Marshall singing as sweetly as they did on the Still Got The Blues album. If you love that album and the follow-up After Hours, then this is the perfect partner to those...
Published on 31 May 2007 by Adamski

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars v good but don't overlook the 'best of the blues' cd
so sad writing this review after Gary's passing earlier this month - he is very much missed.
this is very good album, but i'm posting this review really to suggest you also check out the "Best of the Blues" double album, which has a 2nd disc of live versions from the very first 'Evening of the Blues' tour supporting the Still Got the Blues album.
Gary's tone is...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by Macca


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary & the blues at his rippin' best, 31 May 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
This is Gary at his blues peak for me, when he was still rockin' up the blues. Nowadays he's more of a purist's blues player but the concert captured on this CD is Gary really kicking, his Les Paul and Marshall singing as sweetly as they did on the Still Got The Blues album. If you love that album and the follow-up After Hours, then this is the perfect partner to those two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Alive, 30 Dec 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
'Blues Alive' has to be the best place to go to hear Gary Moore powering out the blues with feeling and gusto. Not only is it a great Moore album, it is also an excellent live blues album. You get the soulful melancholy of tracks like 'Separate Ways', still one of my favourite blues tracks even after all these years, to more upbeat songs like 'Oh Pretty Woman' and 'Walking By Myself'. In addition to these tracks you get what is probably one of the best renditions of 'Parisienne Walkways' i've ever heard and considering how overplayed that song has become, that is saying something. Moores guitar tone and feel is amazing and will give you goosebumps. If you buy this album it will soon become required listening for years to come and will be something you keep coming back to, to be amazed and put in awe. Deserves every star it gets!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Alive, 11 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
Sad news following the passing of gary moore on 6/2/11 a much underrated guitarist. Blues alive is a collection of live recordings from 1992, the majority of tracks coming from the still got the blues and after hour albums, with albert collins appearing on too tired, stand out tracks are obviously parisienne walkways with phil lynott (probably the best version ever) still got the blues, and cold day in hell, but they are all great with gary really making the guitar talk. This is a good collection of songs with gary probably sounding better live than in the studio. Lets hope this musician gets the full recognition he deserves, and yes the sky is indeed crying... Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 13 April 2007
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
This CD captures the true quality of Gary Moore showing the quality,consistency and work rate of the guy. A Masterclass in how to bring the house down in a live performance and quite honestly I don't know how he can sing and play the guitar at such a high level.

Anyone who likes live music should buy this, crank it up, and the CD will do the rest.

Top Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best moore cd, 14 April 2006
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
I own 13 of his cds and in my opinion this is his best blues collection. This live cd has a lot of feeling to it and its well worth the money and moore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blues Heaven, 11 May 2008
By 
Andy (Retford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
People who are indifferent about high energy Blues music need not apply. For everyone else this album (along with others Moore has done) really rewrites the rules for blues guitarists and fans of such everywhere. I reckon Gary Moore ranks in the top five guitar players in the world EVER, and I would rather listen to this virtuoso irishman than Eric Clapton any day.

If you met somebody who had no idea what Blues music sounds like and they ask you to give them a taster, you could do no better than to play them 'The Sky Is Crying' or Peter Greens 'Jumping At Shadows' from this CD.

A word of warning though. Only invest in this CD (which comprises entirely of live material recorded at various concert venues), if you like your guitar players loud fast and full on. If you cut your teeth listening to John lee Hooker and the like you may not be ready for Gary's high voltage playing style. For the uninitiated this may be wearing after half an hour or so. A former colleague of mine years ago, turned Gary Moore's 'Still Got The Blues' album into a coaster only two days after buying it, citing the music as 'not proper blues' and I believe it was for this very reason.

But I love that album and this one, and would endorse either without hesitation.

Before I sign off, let me just mention, if you have enough experience of Gary Moore, you are starting to get bored of him, and wish there was another artist competing in the same market that might bring something new, I'm sure you won't be surprised that I would recommend Joe Bonamassa, and for those who haven't heard him yet, the album Rich Man Falling by brilliant Irish guitarist Simon Mcbride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Gary., 29 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. E. Georgoulas "wdllofzepia" (UK/Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
I don't like reviewing music since I find it a very subjective thing, but this is my short one. The cds contain some of his most well known songs with good quality and should be in everyone's compilation that enjoy the blues.
Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I aint got the Blues after buying this! :), 25 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
What can you say, you think Gary has recorded and written some great tracks, well guess what, he can do It Live! and boy can he play Live! This Album Captures Gary at his Best and his best is probably better than any other Living Blues Guitar Man, But what is Even Better is he can Even Sing a great Tune at the same Time!
He even manages to pull off the 30 Second Sustained Note on Parisienne Walkways, Breathtaking! of course his Les paul and his Soldano Amp help him Sound great! but its gary`s Great Style that makes them Sing! The Only thing better than the Cd is to see him Live! Buy this CD Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live blues at its best on cd, 4 Aug 2002
By 
Mr. S. Palmer "stephen8081" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
I have followed Gary Moore for some years and have bought most of his CDs and think they are all excellent for blues music and that he is negleted a lot by the music press.
I bought blues alive and can only say wow it is ace, with a good mixture of blues/rock and it sounds ace as well for quality I have finally managed to get a couple of tickets to see him live at portsmouth in nov for first time, and can,t wait if this album is a good example of what to expect, so go on do your self a favour for under a tenner get a real blues live cd by a real mucisian. Not on of those manufactured so called bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent recording of Gary Moores blues ability, 20 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blues Alive (Audio CD)
A great selection of tracks from slow to fast to blues to rock, 2nd only to the live shows. His crisp clear guitar playing and excellent group make this a recommended recording to add to your collection and listen to frequently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Alive
Blues Alive by Gary Moore
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews