Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year
To tell the truth, before this album, I wasn't a big Coldplay fan. 'Parachutes' was a nice enough album, with some good tracks... Trouble, Shiver, Yellow and Don't Panic... although the others are less memorable.
But this album has completely blown me away! It's pure class. Stand out tracks are The Scientist, Clocks, Daylight and Warning Sign. The others are...
Published on 9 Oct 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
There were only five tracks on the album that I enjoyed the rest were awful not what I expected from Coldplay.
Published 10 months ago by Christine Fagbadegun


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 9 Oct 2002
To tell the truth, before this album, I wasn't a big Coldplay fan. 'Parachutes' was a nice enough album, with some good tracks... Trouble, Shiver, Yellow and Don't Panic... although the others are less memorable.
But this album has completely blown me away! It's pure class. Stand out tracks are The Scientist, Clocks, Daylight and Warning Sign. The others are great too. Politik is a stomping opener and Amsterdam a beautiful last track. In My Place deserved to get to number one, and Green Eyes is a great acoustic track.
This is the album of the year so far (closely followed by Doves and Idlewild). Coldplay have excelled themselves, far surpassing their first album with what will soon become a classic. Well done, lads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coldplays best 9/10, 20 Aug 2007
By 
D. A. Mcculloguh "Deborah" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
More moving that the former and latter this album gives a much more rounded consistant quality between parachutes guitar and piano driven emotion and X&Y's rockier feel. The reason I rate it so highly is simply, every song on here feels different and the album frequently gives me shivers with its raw emotion.

The album opens up with Politik an arena bound protest song pleeding to the G8 about fair trade. Getting lost in the worldlyness of this song is easy and the lyrics feel so wise and true, shaking you towards the end when Chris pleads for 'love over this' bridging very nicely into In My Place's 'come back to me'.

From here all of the well known singles (God put a smile / the scientist / Clocks / In my Place) are squeezed together to make lesser bands produce a one sided album. Especially with the quality of those 4. While Daylight and Greeneyes feel like lowlights only in comparison to the former and later parts of the album the touching Warning Sign is guarenteed to pull on the heart strings.

The title track itself has a cold and chilling persona as Chris explains calmly and coldly how he would do anything for his lover 'buy a gun, start a war' A brilliantly unique love song, with a killer chorus and riff.

But its the final moments of the album that provide both the most depressing of songs and coldplays greatest moment of redemption. As human kindness pulls a man back from suicide. As gripping as Running to stand still - U2. It ends the album on a totally uplifting feel.

And there you have it, second only to efforts by Pink Floyd and Radiohead, this is one of the best albums i've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserved Glory, 25 Feb 2003
By 
Charade_uk (Hollowell, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As I write this, Colplay bask in the glory of Brit and Grammy awards, and there has not been a more deserved winner in a long time. With this album Coldplay have stepped up and joined the big boys (the U2 and Radiohead comparisons might not be so far out). The disc starts with the fantastic Politik, that doesn't seem much at first listen but when the outtro hits you'll realise that this is something special. The pace is furious as In My Place hits like a dose of Prozac. The guitar hook is enough to carry any album. If the band thought Yellow was their Magnum Opus then thet should hang their heads, The Scientist is richer, deeper, more intense and everything that Coldplay stand for. There is some filler, A Whisper is a small lull in the action but it only serves to make the title track more stunning. As the chorus explodes from your speakers you almost feel like your feet leave the ground. I first listened to this album a few days after it came out and it still sits in my CD player above all others. The passion of U2, the beauty of Radiohead and the intelligence of R.E.M. are all in evidence but Berryman/Buckland/Champion/Martin have raised the bar to a new level. Stunning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest album, 19 Oct 2002
By 
joe (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
I bought the album, and listened to the first five tracks and was at first worried that i'd spent 11.99 too much. Putting the album away for a few days i listened to the beloved parachutes then i played the entire c.d and was astounded at the quality which i had missed in the first listening, 'politik' suddenly made sense with it's un-coldplaylike intro and the exceptional piano riffs in 'amsterdam' had me hooked. The band has adapted it's style to perfection. Parachutes now sounds old and on a monotone next to this great piece of work. My album of the decade without doubt.You need this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully uplifting, 19 Sep 2002
I'll get the one gripe I have with this out of the way. The chord sequence on 'Green Eyes' copies Gabrielle's 'Rise' and 'Knockin' on Heaven's door'
Apart from this, it's varied, original and wonderfully produced. Highlights are In my Place, Scientist, Daylight and Amsterdam, but quite honestly it's all good stuff!
I never really got into Parachutes, but Chris Martin's voice is absolutely fantastic. The Scientist is beautiful, while Politik and Daylight bring to mind Radiohead at their best. Chris Martin does seem to like to copy Thom Yorke's style - I hope they don't become too similar.
Well done Coldplay - bringing superb music to the mainstream (top of the UK album charts)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Guitar Album Since 'OK Computer', 8 Sep 2002
By 
orac_uk (bracknell, berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
There have been many guitar pretenders praised by NME who have tried to provide the next OK Computer. All have failed dismally.
Most of these 60's throwback bands have sounded dull and tired. The Doves provided a brief glimmer of hope again with the usual NME fanfare that seems to be lavished on any band so long as they have guitars and a 'real' drummer. Sadly though, The Last Broadcast contained just one decent track and I got a refund.
I have never owned a copy of Parachutes but after hearing 'In My Place' (one of the finest singles in recent years), taking a risk on the new album seemed like a good idea.
Unlike most guitar 'rock', 'A Rush Of Blood...' is an instant collection of melodic perfection. The album never forgets the importance of musical hooks, and this is where it succeeds where many fail. 'God Put A Smile On Your Face' has a superb chorus whilst 'Warning Sign' is simply haunting. No thrashing guitar solos here, but carefully selected notes and subtle electric effects that makes the album quite unique and very memorable.
Not quite as complex as the soundscapes created by Radiohead, this album probably has more in common with the Manics glorious 'This Is My Truth' with regards to structure and melodies. The vocal delivery of the lead singer does seem to pay homage to Tom York's finest moments whilst some tracks will also remind listeners of U2 when they were at the height of their powers with 'Achtung Baby'.
So it's no real surprise to see Coldplay escaping the narrow NME sphere of appeal and being rewarded with a top 5 album in the States and around the world.
A turning point for UK music at long last...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST REVIEW TO AMAZON, 6 Sep 2002
By A Customer
I enjoy reading reviews of new albums and have bought a few from Amazon on the strength of reviewers and luckily have been introduced to a some new bands e.g Royskopp. My wife made me buy he latest from Coldplay, she is a firm fan - me? I enjoyed the singles and odd track from Parachutes. I thought I would never submit a review but feel that this is easily the best album I have bought this year. I am not going to disect every track but the overall melodic beauty of the tracks is superb - just hit start and let the next 55 odd minutes wash over you. Three plays so far and my 7 year old daughter is now singing along. Tracks 2,4,7 are absolutely outstanding but I'll probably choose different ones as my favourites tomorrow. I can only offer my opinion and the album may not be to everyone's taste but for those that appreciate great melodies, thoughtful lyrics and a change from the serious amount of tat that is swamping the British music industry then can thoroughly recommend this - go on and buy it - you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats, 8 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. T C Colman (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After Parachutes, this album needed to be special. Coldplay started life as glum indie rockers, strumming their way to success with their first album. However, A Rush of Blood to the Head had to be more educated to fulfill the appetite of the bands growing faithful. I don't think anyone knew just how much the boys had grown up. This is truly a work of pure genius. The album opens with Politik, a Pounding like tune that appears to be going nowhere, until it transforms into a glorious finale. In My Place is the supposed lead song of the album, and despite knowing that it is an epic piece of music, it is safe to say that this is not the finest song here. The fourth track, Scientist, is a mind-blowingly powerful track, that builds from the start, and finishs in a fiendishly beautiful manner. The title track is again very powerful, as is the last song, Amsterdam.
This album matches any album in the last ten years, for accessability, quality and ingenuity. It simpley is the finest album of the year, even the Doves' effort does not come close to challenging this. If you like music that is full of guitar, piano and pure emotion right from the start, look no further, but don't listen to it if you have just split with a girlfriend; you won't last five minutes with this ringing gently in your ears. Glorious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But how is this possible? Better than Parachutes?, 12 Feb 2003
Yes, It's been said, BETTER than Parachutes. An awsome start, swelling from nothing to the amazing Politik, sliding into the hit single (not their best by any means but...), followed by the almost ditty-like God put a smile. Then, the masterpiece arrives... The Scientist. The single most gorgeous Coldplay song ever, with a simple piano riff to start you off, moving into what becomes a classic tearjerker. Don't listen to this song if you are single through your own fault... You WILL cry. A couple of songs later you hit Green Eyes, with the most gorgeous outro in the entire world..."And I crawl back, into your arms again", again, jilted ones... step away. The AMAZING title track sums up the entire ethos of the album. Quite whimsical, very self satisfying and all in all quite impulsive listening.
Ironicaly, i usedto hate the last song, it always had me reaching for the remote, in order to retstart the cd, but now, Amsterdam has to be the perfect ending to an album, which (hopefully) points to whatever direction they take next. Now if only Radiohead would return to OK Computer Territory as expected..ahh musical bliss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpieces still exist in this Day and age, 19 Sep 2006
I have subconsciously been a Coldplay Fan since they released Trouble off Parachutes. I heard the song on the radio and immediately it conjured up Pink Floyd (Meddle era) only problem was that I could not tell people who the Band was as I never got to the end of the song. The song had number 1 written all over it. They dominated Glastonbury and live8 over the next few years that came along. When X & Y came out, I simply went and got all 3 Albums all at the same time.

X & Y sounds more structured, more U2 (better to be compared to U2 than take that), Parachutes is mesmerising, But A rush of blood to the head steals it, only just. Often the best singers are the ones who don't have to try, they have a unique way of sounding natural. The Rest of the Band are equally important, The lead guitar playing often sends me on a beautiful day dream elsewhere (don't know where), The bass playing is stunning and melodic and the drums are simplistic and give time to the rest of the Band, they don't get in the way, merely complement the music. The Piano Playing is somewhat unique and is part of the successful ingredient that is Coldplay.

I don't have a favourite track on the Album, best not to, the music should be listen to as a whole, If they make a Classic Sounds Album, this album needs to be used. You don't listen to the hype, you listen to the music, Coldplay won't like this, but musically then stand up against Early Queen, Bowie and the Who, because the music swirls and is adventurous. They don't need to be only compared to Oasis, Travis and Radiohead (who all, by the way, are talented by their own standards). I have no more to add.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews