Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 1999
"Axe Victim" is a classic Bill Nelson song, with his raunchy guitar quivering from the opening moments. 25 years after it's original release it still jumps from the speakers and tugs at your heartstrings. "Third Floor Heaven" and "Jets At Dawn" are two further classic tracks, but the two best tracks are probably "Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape" and "No Trains To Heaven". "Rocket Cathedrals" is a bit of an oddity, as it's the only song not penned by Nelson, but still an out and out rock song. All in all, "Axe Victim" was an important debut album by a band that was largely ignored by the music media at the time.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 October 2010
Released in 1974, this was the first album in the unfortunately short life of Be Bop Deluxe. what a great start! this is a non-filler zone.
The first track "Axe Victim" immediately grabs your ears and demands your full attention, Bill Nelson's brilliant guitar work kicking straight into gear.
The next track "Love Is Swift Arrows" maintains the pace, but with a slightly more acoustic feel.
Next up is "Jet Silver And The Dolls Of Venus" which feels like a tongue in-cheek nod towards David Bowie's "Ziggy Stardust".
The strident, but flowing "Third Floor Heaven" follows, then along comes "Night Creatures" a softer, slower affair.
Next up is "Rocket Cathedrals" a rocker, the only BBD track not written by Bill Nelson, it holds its own nicely here.
Next track is "Adventures In A Yorkshire landscape" a classic song, featuring a brilliant guitar solo by Bill Nelson.
What follows is my favourite track on the album "Jets At Dawn" an anti-war song, with a beautiful chorus, and a fantastic guitar solo to finish.
"No Trains To Heaven" is another guitar-soaked rocker, and the appropriately titled "Darkness" with its rather sinister lyrics, round off this superb album.

Amongst the bonus tracks here (which have been lifted from the album "Live In The Air age") is a breathtaking guitar solo on "Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape".

If you want to discover what Be Bop Deluxe are all about, this is a great starting point.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2005
man what more can i say that other reviewers aint?all i can add is that, i love this music and i loved those times,my older brothers had lent me their,cream,who,hendrix,etc lps,but i wanted something to earmark my own adolesence for a future reference,something that i could say that i had found, and was all mine,and be bop deluxe was that band that i grew up with,i must ad that i'm 44 years old now and became a B.B.D fan when life in the airage was released,the first 4 albums are my personal favourites though,as with these albums the bands sound remained relatively similar,however if you listen carefully,you can make out some subtle more up to date sounds and nelson chords slowly sounding out and comming to the fore,leaving behind the nelson solos.buy this cd so as B.B.D can live on forever.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
I agree with most other reviews on this album i remember buying the LP in the seventies and was knocked out by it then and i have now bought it on cd and still play it now. This album was more of a guitar album than the rest of the bands output which came later. Bill is a fine guitar player and it really shows on this album.This was a great first album from a great band but this album never really sold that well it wasnt until Sunburst finish that they really took off.I would recommend all their 70s output as they were all great and i have them all on CD now. Despite some success i always thought they were underrated if i was to only have 2 of their albums i would get this and Sunburst Finish.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2002
An excellent album, and one of my all-time favourites from one of my favourite bands. I think that Bill and the boys only bettered this one with Sunburst Finish. Some superb guitar work and songs, but with Bill's vocals it always was a case of love it or hate it (my school buddies used to take the mick). I've just acquired the CD to replace my LP, so the beautiful solos of Adventures will soon be echoing round my home.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
First Be Bop album with a different line up from all the others, you will need to read Music in Dreamland for the story. This has some classic and great tracks, Adventures, Night Creatures etc, plus some unusual tracks, Bill's playing is fantastic throughout (as ever)and the rest of the band (soon dropped) sound fine to me. This is the only BeBop album with a non-BN track on it. A must for Be-Bop fans and an great listen to lovers of mid 70's art rock.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2001
Having just listened to this CD after many a year I am reminded of how good a guitarist Bill Nelson is. The album is full of memorable tracks which have stood the test of time and whilst this was the first incarnation of Be Bop Deluxe Nelson's undoubted ability to grab the lstener's attention is to the fore. If you like this album track the other Be Bop records through to see the development of Nelson's northern dream through to its premature waking - don't miss Radioland if you want to get the full vibrancy of the Be Bop sound.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 January 2015
I've always felt that it was a shame that Be Bop Deluxe wasn't more successful. I discovered the band in the late 70s, and managed to see them live once in New York. But after five albums, Bill Nelson called it quits and went no to other things: his Red Noise, then a long solo career.

But this album remains a classic, a great reflection of the musical diversity of the 1970s. Sure, it's heavily influenced by David Bowie, glam rock, even progressive rock, but Bill Nelson's quality as a guitarist cannot be ignored. There are some really memorable songs on this album: Axe Victim, Jet Silver and the Dolls of Venus, and the wonderful Adventures in a Yorkshire Landscape, which would become a much longer song with searing guitar solos in the band's live performances.

The band's career was uneven, full of great songs, but perhaps not enough to win over listeners. It's an acquired taste, but even now, this music sounds fresh and vibrant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2007
This album holds a special place in my heart. I rushed straight out and got it once I heard Jet Silver and Jets at Dawn on the UK Alan Freeman show way back in '74. Sure, there was some glam rock and Bowie influence here in the first album...what with the nod to the Spiders from Mars in the title...Dolls of Venus, which sounded like the intro to 'All the Young Dudes'. Well, Dudes was written by Bowie, not the Hoople. I never considered Be Bop to be anything like Mott. Strangely, Bill Nelson is reputed to have disliked any Bowie comparisons.

But it was Bill's unique and impossibly fluid guitar that was the big draw for me; the solos in Yorkshire Landscape and Jets at Dawn blew me away...even though the weird (at the time) Darkness and Night Creatures were equally brilliant whilst featuring no guitar solo at all.

I never really cared much for Rocket Cathedrals though.

Later albums might have spawned some great tracks, were better received and more commercially successful, but this quirky little number is where it all started for me and has no equal for that point alone.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2008
I've just purchases this on CD having owned a vinyl copy for more years than I care to think about. There are some undoubted high points on this album - most notably the title track, but there are a couple of horror moments - Rocket Cathedrals and Third Floor Heaven in particular. There are also pointers to Bill Nelson's self indulgent future output, although I must admit that Be Bop Deluxe's albums are at least 70% excellent.
My major gripe with this reissue set is that the so called 'Bonus Tracks' are all lifted straight off the first class 'Live! in the Air Age' album, so not much of a bonus if you already own this!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)