Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Sublime!
In one word, "WOW!!" Sorry for my lack of eloquence, but if you want superb articulation, expression, originality, creativity, delivery, verve, just listen to the "Thelonious Monk Quartet with John Coltrane," the find of the 21st century and a real buried treasure! The 1957 concert, spotlighting pianist/composer Thelonious Monk and tenor saxophonist John Coltrane, took...
Published on 1 Oct 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Digitally Restricted Music
This is not a CD. It is a plastic disc blemished with the legend 'Copy Protected Disc'.

This means that you cannot convert the data to mp3 and play it on your iPod, or keep a backup for your own use, or even play it in CD players greater than a few years old.

Just a warning to potential buyers.

The music is good though.
Published on 27 Dec 2006 by footloose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Sublime!, 1 Oct 2005
In one word, "WOW!!" Sorry for my lack of eloquence, but if you want superb articulation, expression, originality, creativity, delivery, verve, just listen to the "Thelonious Monk Quartet with John Coltrane," the find of the 21st century and a real buried treasure! The 1957 concert, spotlighting pianist/composer Thelonious Monk and tenor saxophonist John Coltrane, took place at New York City's Carnegie Hall and was recorded with state-of-the-art equipment by Voice of America for a later radio broadcast, (which never occurred). The tapes were located, (by sheer chance), at the Library of Congress in Washington DC early this year. The concert was a benefit for the Morningside Community Center in Harlem, and the line-up of artists also included Billie Holiday, Dizzy Gillespie, Ray Charles, Chet Baker with Zoot Sims, and Sonny Rollins. Another "WOW!!"
Coltrane and Monk had been playing together for approximately four months at the Five Spot. The quality of their working relationship is evident from the extraordinary opening piano/saxophone dialogue of "Monk's Mood" through "Epistrophy," the last cut of the two 25-minute sets which make up the CD. There are actually two versions of "Epostrophy" here, the complete one showcasing Monk at his best, and an incomplete second take in which Coltrane simply shines.
The musicians are clearly at ease with each other and confident with Monk's tricky, quirky keyboard compositions. They each contribute outstanding solos accompanied by bassist Ahmed Abdul-Malik and drummer Shadow Wilson. Monk's music, his idiosyncratic piano sound and compositions, have had a tremendous impact on modern jazz, even now, almost twenty-five years after his death. However, his recordings from this period are rare.
This never-before-heard jazz classic was just released by Blue Note Records, in conjunction with Thelonious Records, and is sublime. The album documents one of the most important working bands in the history of jazz. I rejoice that this lost music, just glorious, has been found and that I can listen to it anytime I want. 10 Stars and worthy of the highest recommendation!!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius's of Modern Music, 25 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Gavin Irvine (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
It was always thought Coltrane and Monk's legendary collaboration was not properly documented. Just the beautiful "Ruby My Dear", two other studio tracks and some poor quality recordings from the Five Spot Club. But now there is this. I jumped for joy. Monk's solos make me laugh out loud especially on Blue Monk and Coltrane's playing is awesome. Coltrane once said that getting lost while playing a Monk tune was like falling into a lift shaft. Evidence is littered with lift shafts but he is right on top. Nutty is outstanding too with both musicians clearly enjoying themselves.

If you want another laugh, check out the reviews on the amazon.com site. Kenny G indeed!

Just to clear up one thing. I had no problems downloading this on to my computer (using Real Player) or transferring it to my Creative mp3 player. But then again shame on the people who try to protect this especially considering it was recorded by Library of Congress for all mankind! And what a gift it is.

Indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out there, 23 Mar 2008
This review is from: At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
There is nothing more to say on the musical genius or the African American roots of this pairing - that has all been said by the other reviews. This is a recording that was lost for almost 50 years and which has given us all a wonderful gift of music that can only be understood by hearing it and then breathing in the depth of the music. The sounds produced here are not from 1957 they are timeless, the music and the beat will always go on and Monk and Coltrane will live forever with this recording. I sure as heck wish I was there when they played Carnegie Hall that night.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Individuals come together, 28 Dec 2012
Forget any idea that two such noted individuals might not work too well together. They are a superb combination. Terrific jazz. Also worth noting that sound/recording quality is very good. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz treasure buried since 1957., 14 Feb 2012
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This remarkable Carnegie Hall concert was recorded by Voice of America on November 29, 1957 but the tapes languished in the Library of Congress vaults until their CD release in 2005.
The short-lived Thelonious Monk-John Coltrane quartet had been playing regularly for several months prior to this concert so the level of understanding between them was high.
The 9 tracks come from the early and late show with Monk sounding happy to be playing the Carnegie concert grand piano and Coltrane in inspired form on tenor.
Ahmed Abdul-Malik(bass) & Shadow Wilson(drums) are supportive throughout.
This superbly recorded live album is an important find and absolutely essential for all fans of Monk & Coltrane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monk and Coltrane at Carnegie Hall, 20 July 2009
By 
John P. Tindall "skinman" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Just terrific. I read about the CD in a detective novel and couldn't wait to get my copy. I'm NOT at all surprised that it is a special CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovered gem, 18 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Although this has been available for a few years now, I have only just got around to purchasing it. Considering the age etc of the recording, the sound quality is fantastic and I would recommend it to any Jazz fan .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Digitally Restricted Music, 27 Dec 2006
This review is from: At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
This is not a CD. It is a plastic disc blemished with the legend 'Copy Protected Disc'.

This means that you cannot convert the data to mp3 and play it on your iPod, or keep a backup for your own use, or even play it in CD players greater than a few years old.

Just a warning to potential buyers.

The music is good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST - NOT TO BE MISSED, 12 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Coltrane and Monk together in an archived performance only recently discovered. Thank God it was! This is to be listened to again and again and celebrated joyously. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The High Priest and The Master, 14 Nov 2005
By 
Ademola Soremekun "Admore" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
It is hard to believe that these were forming years for John Coltrane - they tell me that this was when Coltrane was really finding his voice (don't quote me on that) and I recently read how Coltrane would go hang-out at the High Priest's place every morning just 2 hear this guy (Monk) churn out music like he got them in a vision in his sleep. Unlike typical Coltrane in those days - these tracks are fairly short (longest is under 10mins) but still very mind blowing. You know you are in for a special treat when they kick off with "Monk's Mood" and Coltrane playin very mildly but thing begin to heat up as the next Track "Evidence" starts and Shadow Wilson is really jamming on the drums with Abdul-Malik just keeping the tune afloat on the bass. I particularly like Nutty & Epistrophy (Not sure if it is how Americans spell Epistrophe - if it isn't then I really don't have a clue what they are on about) - the album is delightful, hard and mellow all in one. I don’t think I can particularly tell you my best track yet. The anecdotes in the inlay are quiet a good read too and I know it come across as a Cliché but this you must have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Carnegie Hall
At Carnegie Hall by Thelonious Monk Quartet With John Coltrane
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews