Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Grand Court Jester
When first released in 1974, I recall many being disappointed with Warchild, in comparison to its illustrious predecessor, A Passion Play, but over the years this view has changed considerably and the album is rightly considered one of Tulls best offerings.
Warchild is essentially a collection of outtakes from the Passion Play sessions and from the soundtrack to the...
Published on 14 Oct. 2002 by Magnus Quad

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But this album was not one of their better recordings. The 24 Bit material doesn't benefit awfully ...
Steve Wilson's remix is sympathetic and well judged. But this album was not one of their better recordings. The 24 Bit material doesn't benefit awfully much from the remix or the flat transfer because it was not well recorded to begin with. Wilson has polished it as best he can and although this is now the definitive version, it's only for fans. Some of the extras are...
Published 1 month ago by J. Knibb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Grand Court Jester, 14 Oct. 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
When first released in 1974, I recall many being disappointed with Warchild, in comparison to its illustrious predecessor, A Passion Play, but over the years this view has changed considerably and the album is rightly considered one of Tulls best offerings.
Warchild is essentially a collection of outtakes from the Passion Play sessions and from the soundtrack to the ill fated Warchild movie. Similarities with APP abound, especially in the use of saxophones and lyrical themes. There are Piano accordians in the mix, too and the album has a humorous, surreal English Music Hall / circus feel.
Standout tracks from the album proper, include the magnificent Backdoor Angels which features some savage guitar from Martin Barre; the classic Skating Away ( on the thin ice of a new day ); hit single Bungle in the Jungle and the sardonic Only Solitaire - an acoustic jingle, part self parody part searing attack on the rock press.
This remastered version features some outstanding bonus tracks ( 7 in all ) culled from various collections, all of which are regarded as cult classics by the Jethro Tull cognescenti and the album would be worth buying for these alone. Add all the original tracks and the pristine, crystal clear remastering job and you have what can only be described as an essential album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll take you down..., 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Chika (sitting at my desk! Duh!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the disaster (the Chateau D'Isaster if you will), Jethro Tull returned to blighty to do their next album, a cut down version of the epic work they attempted that was eventually to become "A Passion Play". With that done, Anderson and company turned to the next project and what would be yet another case of rescuing an album from the ashes of an incomplete work, this time a movie. The project was known as "War Child" which was supposed to become a movie and two albums; one being a film soundtrack, the other being a more normal work. Well, normal for Tull, anyway.

The eventual outcome was that the movie never happened, the OST was only partially completed but the rock album did surface to some success. It featured two songs lifted from the Chateau tapes, namely Skating Away (On The Thin Ice of a New Day) and Only Solitaire and a whole bunch of memorable songs including Bungle in the Jungle which became quite popular in America.

What we have with this collection are two DVDs and two CDs which include audio and video versions of the album, both as originally intended and as a remix as well as various bits and pieces from the era, a fair amount of the OST that was recorded, extra tracks including some unreleased tracks and video footage from Tull's brief return to Switzerland. The whole thing comes in a book sized case which also includes a lengthy commentary of how the album came to pass, what became of the movie, a script synopsis and much more.

The quality is pretty good, even the Steven Wilson remixes (I prefer to keep the mix as it is but these remixes aren't too bad) and the whole thing is good value. As the various Tull brothers drift into retirement, obscurity and, in a couple of case unfortunately, demise, it's good to have something like this to remind us of what Tull were like in their heyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the golden age of Tull, 15 Oct. 2002
By 
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
Strangely this was the album that got me into Tull after I borrowed it from a friend rather than Aqualung or Songs from the Wood which seem to be the usual roads in. Listening to the remastered version I remembered really how good this album is, the lyrics are just great, full of puns and yet never fail to hit their intended target and the music is full of great hooks and yet opens up layer by layer on each listen. The remaster has worked really well on the seperation so theres a real dynamism when instruments come in. Its good to have the extra tracks in context (even if they were on 20 years of Tull and Night Cap). My one niggle is the sleeve notes which give no info on the writing of the tracks or why some were left off originally. Most annoyingly is Warchild Waltz which I know nothing about and the sleevenotes enlighten me no further. All in all though its the music you just cant fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull Strike again, 25 Nov. 2014
By 
Stephen Johnson "stevie boy" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another smashing release from Jethro Tull.
Warchild was never at the time of original release one of my Favorite Tull albums but listening
to it again now sounds great.
Ok the 5.1mixes i could live without but with some Video content and plenty of Bonus tracks this makes
a nice item to add to your Tull collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War Child - 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition (Box Set), 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
War Child for me is not one of Jethro Tulls best 70s albums. There are some classic songs such as the title song and the two hits Bungle In The Jungle & Skating Away. There are several fillers in my opinion, the few tracks that feature accordion such as Queen & Country etc just don't have that Tull sound and don't fit well on the album.
Steven Wilson has once again made an average album into a better one with his 5.1 mix. The music sounds fresher, more enjoyable overall.
What I am enjoying more than the original album as well is the brilliant bonus tracks that were not included on the original album. Songs such as Rainbow Blues and Paradise Steakhouse are great songs. The alternative versions are also very enjoyable.
As with the other Jethro Tull recent box sets this contains a fantastic booklet with comprehensive information on the sessions and opinions by band members and others involved.
Overall this is one of those box sets i'll play occasionally with a few skips through the tracks i'm not keen on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 5 Oct. 2011
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
One of the (many) excellent, unique, masterful albums from the legendary Jethro Tull.
Their musicianship (even though the line-up changed over the years) is never less than stunning, the songs range from gentle ballads to all out heavy rock, via folk, jazz and classical.
I have been listening to Tull albums over the years (ever since "This Was") and (apart from a couple of synthesier oddities in the '80s) have been delighted, amazed and awe-inspired by them.
I saw Ian Anderson's tour last year (with most of Tull) and they are still wonderful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Album From A Fabulous Group, 30 Oct. 2000
By 
Elizabeth I Simar (Reed City, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JETHRO TULL - WAR CHILD (Audio CD)
As far as Tull albums are concerned, this is by far one of the best! Different musical journeys abound this masterpiece. The use of several different instruments throughout this album only enhance the genius that is Jethro Tull. For the Tull enthusiast, this album is a MUST! For those of you who have only sampled a bit, this album proves to be quite a treat. (Besides, how many 'rock' albums do you know that would have a bagpipe processional included?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album that grows on you, 10 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
On listening to this album, it doesn't strike you as typical Tull until perhaps 'Sealion' and 'Skating Away' make an appearance. It is the sort of album that eventually grows on you. I recommend the remastered expanded version as it has some great bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Court Jester, 30 Jan. 2015
It can begin to grate on even the most enthusiastic fan. How many times must we be tempted to part with hard-earned cash for the same album? Even with all the advances in technology how much new light permeates through old windows? To be fair to Ian Anderson (who surely does not need the money) the re-issues of the old Tull product are sumptuous, and none more so than this four disc ‘Warchild’ package. ‘Warchild’ was for years my least favourite Tull album. I started to listen to Tull during the ‘Heavy Horses’ era and was more a pipe and flutes man. With a few exceptions ‘Warchild’ didn’t excite me. Too much sax. I began to listen again following the 2002 re-master, which had a wealth of additional material, including the orchestral ‘Warchild Waltz’. To my surprise what I had once found merely quirky and a little leaden (compared with the Tull I loved) sounded vibrant and infectious. Here was Anderson learning to write songs again instead of forty-odd minute pieces of music. The early rockers knew if you’d only 3-4 minutes to get your idea across it must be on the money. I’ll skate over the fact that one of the best songs - ‘Skating Away’ - was recorded a year before much of the rest of the album and is more in keeping with earlier songs like ‘Life’s A Long Song’. The band rocks and Martin Barre is excellent throughout. Tull aims to entertain, with humour aplenty. I can now see this as the progenitor of ‘Songs From the Wood’, which is alright by me. The previously un-released tracks are of passing interest only except for the full orchestral piece, the inclusion of which, together with Anderson’s notes on the songs and this period in Tull’s history, makes for reason enough to dip into the pockets of one’s faded jeans once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, but unspectacular, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warchild (Audio CD)
This is a welcome departure from the previous 2 albums in that the songs are much shorter and the subject matter is less tiring on the poor old brain cells!!. However, with the odd exception, this is not a particularly strong collection. 'Back-Door Angels' stands out as an excellent piece of hard rock with a fabulous guitar solo from Martin Barre and 'Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day' and 'Bungle In The Jungle' are both lovely whimsical Tull singles; indeed there is a light-hearted feel throughout the 40 minutes. As with all the Tull remasters, there are plenty of bonus tracks here (7 of them - over 20 minutes of extra material) and so a 4th Star is awarded. For me, the follow-up album 'Minstrel In The Gallery' is a far better album and I would invest here before getting 'War Child'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warchild
Warchild by Jethro Tull
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews