Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars67
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2016
BRILLIANT CD .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2001
Outstanding, the pumpkins never ceased to amaze and this captures most of their greatest moments perfectly. Possibly the only noted ommission being 'the end is the beginning is the end' from the batman and robin sound track. The second CD is incredibly completist, one or two tracks being lifted from the Zero EP and teh rest being a fascinating insight into what missed out on being released, in particular, the ones taken from the 12 or so mellon collie tracks omitted from that album. This is an essential release for any hardcore pumpkins fan, and a wonderful way for any newcomer to get to grips with their greatest moments.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
no comment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
This is just pure quality! The album marks the end of an era, not just for the pumpkins, but for music in general. Every song is pure genius, from early billy corgan, to more mature billy corgan.
If i could recommend any album ever it would be this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Great cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
I bought this as an introduction to the music of the SP's. I know that most "best of" collections are nothing of the sort and viewed as such by many fans.
I found the album rather confusing. There's nothing I really dislike but on the other hand I don't feel any real excitement either. Neither bad nor good. It just seemed to pass me but without any stimulus. So it;s not for me at this moment; perhaps a different set of songs my change my opinion but not as yet.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2002
"Smashing Pumpkins" and "greatest hits" are two phrases that shouldn't ever have appeared on the same album cover. Not because the Pumpkins weren't a great band, nor that they didn't produce hit singles, but simply because their songs are far too diverse and numerous to condense into one so-called "greatest" hits record.
Inevitably, this was always going to be a record biased towards a slightly "popular" audience, and the inclusion of so many of the band's singles reflects this fact. My 3-star rating does not indicate that these singles are bad songs, but simply that the Pumpkins have written better songs over their 12 years together (Rhinoceros, Drown, Tonight Tonight and Stand Inside Your Love are possible exceptions). The fans ask, "where's Soma? Mayonaise? Thru The Eyes Of Ruby? Muzzle? For Martha?", knowing that to find these songs, amongst the vast collection of the Pumpkins' remaining best material, one has to buy Gish, Siamese Dream, Mellon Collie and Adore.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
This is really useful if you want to play music by the smashing pumpkins from a cd player. That's all I use it for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)