Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the mists of time...
So here it is, the place where the 30 year+andstill going journey began, and if the group decided to re shoot the album cover today, it'd look much the same without the make up! 'This Was' is Jethro Tulls first album, but even here their distinctive sound is apparent. The album is note-worthy also for being the only one in Tulls' vast back catalogue not featuring Martin...
Published on 28 Aug. 2001

versus
41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The early sound of a band who went on to better things
Everybody knows that Tull started off as a blues band. This wasn't exactly an original thing to be in 1968 and, indeed, by the time of the album's release the band's sound had moved on, hence the title 'This Was'. As a blues band, Jethro Tull were OK - a sight better than the dreary likes of Chicken Shack, Ten Years After or Savoy Brown. 'Beggar's Farm' is a most...
Published on 27 Sept. 2001 by C. C. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The early sound of a band who went on to better things, 27 Sept. 2001
By 
This review is from: This Was: Remastered (Audio CD)
Everybody knows that Tull started off as a blues band. This wasn't exactly an original thing to be in 1968 and, indeed, by the time of the album's release the band's sound had moved on, hence the title 'This Was'. As a blues band, Jethro Tull were OK - a sight better than the dreary likes of Chicken Shack, Ten Years After or Savoy Brown. 'Beggar's Farm' is a most effective song and the opening track 'My Sunday Feeling' even had a spate as a Northern Soul dance floor filler after I played it to a DJ friend. Despite the incomprehensible lyrics, 'Song For Jeffrey' is also excellent and notable for some tasty slide work by Mick Abrahams. Other songs are standard blues fare or overlong instrumentals; not bad overall but far from great. The additional tracks are welcome. 'One For John Gee' isn't very good but sure is hard to come by. 'Love Story', the band's last recording with Mick Abrahams, is already in a very different style to 'This Was' while 'Christmas Song', a more-or-less solo performance from Ian Anderson was indicative of a new folkier direction.
I have to say something about the packaging of these new remasters: 4/10 to Chrysalis for a total lack of effort. Sure, they're not as bad as the old CDs (which were simply shabby beyond belief) but they're still not good - indifferent front artwork, no photos, press cuttings or lyrics and only skeletal notes (though penned by Ian Anderson which is good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The blues orientated debut of a legendary band., 16 Aug. 2010
This review is from: This Was: Remastered (Audio CD)
'It's okay' would be a fitting summary of this album. 'My Sunday Feeling' and 'A Song For Jeffery' are the stand-outs here, and the rest chugs along nicely through various instrumentals and blues numbers. A good listen but Jethro Tull were soon to improve dramatically on this with 'Stand Up' and 'Aqualung'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the mists of time..., 28 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: This Was (Audio CD)
So here it is, the place where the 30 year+andstill going journey began, and if the group decided to re shoot the album cover today, it'd look much the same without the make up! 'This Was' is Jethro Tulls first album, but even here their distinctive sound is apparent. The album is note-worthy also for being the only one in Tulls' vast back catalogue not featuring Martin Barre on guitar, he only joined for the second album,(Stand Up), and here his space is filled by Mick Abrahams, who left the band shortly after this album to form Blodwyn Pig and has seldom been seen since! The album is more Blues tinged than any Tull album since,(Abrahams influence?), Tracks like 'Someday the sun won't shine for you' and 'my sunday feeling' being the more obvious cases. Also missing from most tracks is Andersons trademark flute playing, here largely replaced by the more blues appropriate harmonica. The most 'Tull-like' track here is 'Song for Jeffrey', which still remains a Tull classic, and was the shape of things to come.Anderson also shares song writing duties on this album, which he has seldom done since. All in all a good album, which launched my favourite band into world before I was born, but 33 years on they're still at it, so something must be right eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice vinyl reissue, 31 Mar. 2015
This review is from: This Was [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It was actually listening to the vinyl reissue of Aqualung as part of the 40th anniversary box set that got me back into listening to vinyl - the remix of this and new pressing had so much more presence and vibrancy than my old '80's Chrysalis blue label version. I've never actually owned This Was on vinyl before so it was a joy to be able to put the needle down and listen to this as it was intended. I can't comment on how it sounds compared to previous vinyl versions but considering the quality of the original recordings it comes over really well. The vinyl is a good heavy weight and comes in a vinyl lined paper sleeve with a replica green Chrysalis label - I'm not sure why they couldn't replicate the original pink eye Island label it was released on in 1968 rather than copy the 1973 reissue, but I grew up with the Chrysalis green labels so it still feels quite authentic to me. I didn't actually get this from Amazon but from my local HMV which was just as well as my first copy had an unfortunate deep scratch on Beggar's Farm but my second copy was perfect with no obvious surface noise, which unfortunately can't be said of many reissues these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the tull dynasty, 21 July 2008
By 
Mark Kibble "Underground man" (Coalville Leics England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Was: Remastered (Audio CD)
Like many other bands of the time, Tull rose from the blues movement, (where else with Mick Abrahams on board), but even in those early days it was not Tulls way to just toe the line. While their predecessors (cream etc) were now blazing trails on the psychedelic rock scene, much of the material on this debut album fused blues, rock and jazz to great effect.

This set the pattern for all early Tull releases, always innovative, keeping one step in front of the competition.

The inclusion of 4 instrumentals may be considered a bit excessive by some but think on 2 or 3 years to the likes of Vann der graaf generator and co, who I often thought suffered from terminal laryngitis, and it could equally be argued HOW forward thinking they were, anyway they're all good numbers.

Favourite tracks are 'Beggar's farm' and 'My sunday feeling' but everything on here oozes life and energy and above all quality.

If you've been put off by what you've heard from other blues bands, do yourself a favour and try this, its a lesson on how to play the blues with style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early Tull, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: This Was: Remastered (Audio CD)
Excellent remastered pair of CD's, demonstrating the foresight of this band. They must have had a good idea that they were going to progress from this blues / rock influenced part of their evolution to have used 'This Was ...' as the title. There is though elements of what we would expect from Tull over the years and this sounds as good as it did when these tracks were first released.

Interesting sleeve notes included which is always a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Jethro Tull Album, 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. Clifton Jones (Matlock, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Was (Audio CD)
This was the first Tull album and it is not bad (despite the fact that several state it as being their worst). Hints of what was to come can be heard on songs like "My Sunday Feeling", and "Cat's Squirrel" was the highlight of their set in the earliest days. However, the mix of blues based and more straight ahead rock numbers is a little uneasy (and there were plenty of better blues bands around) giving the album a certain lack of coherence. A reasonable first step, however.

This is the only album not to feature guitarist Martin Barre (it has original guitarist Mick Abrahams).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl review, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Was [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Excellent pressing and sound quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good 1968 offering, 10 Jan. 2015
This review is from: This Was: Remastered (Audio CD)
First LP I ever owned

Excellent bluesy debut album and different from what followed -the dominant flute sound and Anderson's annoying stage mannerisms were still in the future.

The line-up after this changed, and changed again and again so that they eventually became Ian and friends - similar to King Crimson, and both acts were dead on their feet by the mid seventies

The extra ( bonus ) tracks really add nothing

The CD mastering is not brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Was Great, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
P. A. Clarke (Oundle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Was: Remastered (Audio CD)
Yeah, well I just love this record. It's been one of my favourite vinyls since it came out - and I still love the sheer raw grit of "It's Breaking Me Up," and "Beggars Farm." In fact, these two tracks are for me the benchmark of deep 'n' dirty blues for their sheer SOUND - and worth buying the album for alone, in my view - without the bonus of the others.

For me, Jethro went off after this, as they became more progressive and bloody pretentious. Anderson's an interesting character - but he should never have been allowed to get away with all that pompous nonsense that followed: "Passion Play" for example. Dear me! What a frightful load of old hogwash!

No, for me, "This Was" was the best. It was downhill from here. "This Was" is a great record of what was....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews