Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misjudged Classic
Having spent the early 80s doing no wrong, the loss of two Taylor hit Duran hard. Each subsequent non-five piece album saw diminishing returns - from Notorious (1986) to Big Thing (1988). Seen as a critical and financial failure, in hindsight 1990's Liberty should be seen as a misjudged classic.
In a time when Madchester and baggy ruled Brittania, in the days just...
Published on 26 May 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A transitional period.
Previously capable of writing some of the catchiest songs around, Duran Duran hit upon a somewhat dry patch here. Some possibly good songs marred by lacklustre performances and production, with Hothead and Venice Drowning providing enjoyable moments of distraction. Album opener Violence of Summer is however one the best songs any form of Duran Duran has ever recorded. Not...
Published on 21 Jun. 2002 by C. B. Softley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misjudged Classic, 26 May 2004
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
Having spent the early 80s doing no wrong, the loss of two Taylor hit Duran hard. Each subsequent non-five piece album saw diminishing returns - from Notorious (1986) to Big Thing (1988). Seen as a critical and financial failure, in hindsight 1990's Liberty should be seen as a misjudged classic.
In a time when Madchester and baggy ruled Brittania, in the days just before grunge, Duran were desperately trying to find where they fit in the pop spectrum. The tracks on Liberty show an tremendous growth from the early pop of the 80s. Tracks like Can You Deal With It? or the hard rock of First Impression deserve a second or third listen.
The fact that My Antarctica and Serious are on here is reason enough to purchase. Two of the finest songs of any genre, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A transitional period., 21 Jun. 2002
By 
C. B. Softley "Badger" (Wolverhampton, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
Previously capable of writing some of the catchiest songs around, Duran Duran hit upon a somewhat dry patch here. Some possibly good songs marred by lacklustre performances and production, with Hothead and Venice Drowning providing enjoyable moments of distraction. Album opener Violence of Summer is however one the best songs any form of Duran Duran has ever recorded. Not the best D2 album including Warren on guitar, (Surely that would be the Wedding Alum, or maybe even Pop Trash) but maybe worth a listen every now and again to remind you of how diverse and genre stepping Duran Duran have attempted to be in 20 years of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally under-rated, i found this an immensely enjoyable album, 16 Mar. 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
Barcode: 0077779429226

Duran Duran have always been masters at coming up with catchy, well-crafted pop songs and contrary to many reviews, Liberty is no exception. Like all their albums it sounds perfectly off its time and this time sees the band soaking up the glossy pop-dance scene of the early 90s. Less experimental than Big Thing and more carefree than The Wedding Album, Liberty provides the perfect middle-ground.

First track and single 'Violence of Summer' is focused around a great little organ hook. It's a deliriously charming song and along with All Along The Water typifies the energetic, quirky feel of this album. The latter takes on more of a rock feel, its sensual lyrics echoing parts of the band's Rio album.

Title track Liberty and second single Serious take on a more leisurely, soul tinged feel, showcasing the band's versatility. This theme reaches perfection in album highlight My Antarctica. Starting with a simple piano hook the song progresses into an epic ballad with a truly amazing chorus. It is tracks like these that really showcase Simon's voice to its fullest and hint towards the direction they would take for future songs like 'Come Undone'.

First Impression and Can You Deal With It add further to the early 90s acid-house side of the record, more infectious piano riffs driving the songs while album closer Downtown sounds like a progression of Big Thing's 'All She Wants Is', all heavy bass and synths

My favourite track from the album has to be 'Read My Lips' though. Kicking off with a throbbing bassline, squelchy synths and heavy guitar riffs as the chorus rolls in the song evolves into an epic stadium rocker as Simon sings 'Get a grip, don't resist, read my lips!' over Nick's synths. Awesome.

All round, Liberty presents Duran Duran doing what they do best and while it may not be their most commercially successful or well-known record, there is a lot here to enjoy. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so different!, 2 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
i bought this cd the day it came out in united kingdom,and still listen to it sometimes.violence of summer is perfect pop,liberty(song)is very soulfull dance,not daft on hothead a bit clumsy sounding.i really like the tune serious although lyrics are naff,all along the water is very original and weird,my antartica should have been a hit as it is a lovely rythmical ballad.
ok time for "side two";first impression a very uplifting rock type song,although crap lyrics here,read my lips reminds me of robert palmer 100%,a good song but naff keyboard sounds.
i absolutely love can you deal with it,great uplifting pop,very nice tune.i actually hated the two closers at time of purchase 1990,now i like venice drowning as it reminds me of pink floyd who i now like(didn't then).i have to say that downtown is still a load of rubbish,these two tracks should have been squeezed into the middle of the cd as they are not uplifting enough,i think you need a really catchy song to close.
all in all a good effort from a totally underappreciated group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not cricket, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
Very bad. Songs are very dated and the album cover is an embarrassing Nod to Rod Stewart's Camouflage album cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Liberty, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
My favourite song on here is Serious. This is their first album for the 90s and I think their next one is their third best album just behind Astronaut and All You Need Is Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The bland leading the bland, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
This is such a dull album! I approached this album as a casual Duran fan, and I've got to say yhere don't seem to be any decent hooks throughout. It sounds so dated and weedy too. For completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album from one of Duran's best periods, 16 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
After seeing three posts on the first page all pointing to a decline for Duran Duran, I have been moved to type. Duran themselves have admitted that the final product didn't reach the standard of the sessions in the studio and having listened to re-recordings of two songs - Can You Deal With It? and Venus Drowning from John Taylor's solo career I would agree. That he felt strongly enough to revisit those two songs seven or so years later shows that this was no quickly thrown together effort. Those are two of the best and among the most underrated on this album; others have already mentioned how good Serious and My Antartica are.

Though not readily evident a lot of this stuff does sound like it came out of extended jam sessions. The keyboard intro's for Can You Deal With It and the excellent but unused demo, My Family, come close to sounding like New Orleans jazz piano. From what I've seen this is typical of the Warren era, from 1987-2001, there was plenty of improvising from the horn section during the Notorious tour to the emphasis on being a great performing band, hits or not. Watch some of the interviews from that period and you'll see what I mean. They knew this wasn't chart topping material, it doesn't even sound like they were writing top 40 singles.

Downtown is a good song too and I would personally say that it has a great guitar riff, guffaw all you want. I like the change that is introduced for the coda, great ending. Simon's voice never fails to induce shivers and the part "sundays refugees from sunday tv shows" along with the eerie keyboards and guitar reminds me of The Damned. All Along the Water at the least has some excellent guitar work from Warren. John said at this point Warren was in the same league as Vai and he wasn't kidding. Sometime in the 90s Steve Vai called up Warren to say how he enjoyed his playing on a DURAN album. Pop throwaways? 80s washouts? Shame on you Q, NME et al, you lot suck and should wish you had never been born.

There are atleast this many good songs on Liberty:

Venus Drowning
My Antartica
Violence of Summer
Serious
Downtown
Can You Deal With It?
My Family (this demo is available at duranduran.no)
Liberty (a simple laid back song, nothing wrong here)
First Impression

Duran are known for reworking songs for the live shows and bringing back old rare, sometimes never played before songs, so I hope they revisit this period to give these songs justice. It may have bombed then but by now many have changed their minds about it. Liberty is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Your Liberty !!!!, 2 Jun. 2004
By 
Karen (Queenborough, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
This is an EXCELLENT album, a must for all Duranies. If I am honest I think it's my favorite of them all. It can be hard to get hold of a MINT copy, but well worth the time and effort.
True fans be not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated! Well worth purchasing, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Liberty (Audio CD)
one of Durans most underated albums, some really great tracks on this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liberty
Liberty by Duran Duran
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews