Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, but then its Beth!
I must say that on first listening to Daybreaker, I felt that there was nothing there that grabbed my attention - nothing that made me sit up and take note. Nothing to shove whatever I was doing onto the back burner in order to listen to it. However, that could be because i'd just listened to Gemma Hayes' stunning Night on your side for the first time immediately prior to...
Published on 8 Aug 2002 by elbast

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beth Orton , buy if your a fan.
Buy this CD if your a fan as its good to have a complete artist's work. There are some great tracks on it but as a whole there are better Beth Orton CD's out there in my opinion such as "CENTRAL RESERVATION", "TRAILER PARK" and "COMFORT OF STRANGERS".
However music is individual and some may feel and connect with "DAYBREAKER" in a way...
Published 6 months ago by Gran Torino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, but then its Beth!, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
I must say that on first listening to Daybreaker, I felt that there was nothing there that grabbed my attention - nothing that made me sit up and take note. Nothing to shove whatever I was doing onto the back burner in order to listen to it. However, that could be because i'd just listened to Gemma Hayes' stunning Night on your side for the first time immediately prior to this one, and I was slightly hungover... therefore slightly behind events.
Now I've had the chance to re-listen and reconsider, I find myself in possesion of another great album from one of the best singer/songwriters around. While I still prefer Trailer Park for its rawness and the simply beautiful (semi)acoustic melodies, Daybreaker probably beats Central Reservation into third by a hair's bredth - afterall, all three are so brilliant that it is hard to put any of them down. In time this'll be crowned a masterpiece, and if it didn't just slip inside this years Mecury deadline, then i'd definately back it to make the awards shortlist next year... who knows, maybe if it did she'd win it this time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beth Orton - Daybreaker, 29 July 2002
By 
Kat (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
Heralded as being her most withdrawn album yet, Daybreaker proves that is all to the good as Beth Orton sweeps you into introspective bliss. She's also brought some friends along, with the Chemical Brothers, William Orbit and Ben Watt taking turns at production duty, but despite such heavy duty names, the indisputed star of the show is Orton herself.
It is impossible to listen to tracks like Concrete Sky or Mount Washington without lying back with an enormous smile of contentment, while darker songs like Daybreaker and country influenced Carmella (Ryan Adams and Emmylou Harris contribute frequently) make good the fact that Beth Orton is untouchable. Corrosive strings, trip hop and brass intertwine with joyous guitar and pure vocals that combine to make the something very special that is now to be expected with an Orton release.
Starting with a swell of strings on Paris Train and ending on a similiarly euphoric note with the magical Thinking about Tomorrow, this is an album that is at once delicate and strong but always compelling. Lay your hands on it any way you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something for a Sunday afternoon..., 6 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
I love this album, not as much as Central Reservation - which I still think is Beth's best CD, but the highlights for me are:
Daybreaker - an upbeat song, but it's sad, whilst uplifting!
This One's Gunna Bruise - brilliantly written by Ryan Adams, this is just amazing, check out that minor broken chord! Oh YES!
It's a sad song, but...wow - blows me away every time!
Overall, it's definitely worth buying. But also by Central Reservation and Trailer Park! Buy the whole lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some new classics on this record!, 1 Aug 2002
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
A review from a fan is obviously biased but there is no denying Beth Orton has a great voice. There is definitely a new sound to this record, The addition of an orchestra on 'Paris Train' is a nice touch. If you are looking for something more than Pop can offer then this an album worth listening to. Great Vocals and Lyrics provide Sensual listening.
I heard some of these songs live at 'the elecric ballroom' and the only downside is that they seem to be sanitised for the CD, 'Carmella' sounds better in the 'four tet remix'. I can't understand why they didn't put this on the album.
Its not music thats going to hit number 1 in the charts but thats a good thing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heavenly girl, 16 May 2005
By 
T. Hattersley (Rotherham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing some of Beth Orton's work with the Chemical Brothers, and its a classic!!! Truely amazing vocals mixed with excellent music you just can't go wrong, from start to finish its a winner. For me the best track is 'carmella' but the other 9 tracks are great aswell!
Buy this album and you won't be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow and Dreamy, 29 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
This album continues in the same vain as the previous two albums, but is in some ways deeper- the violins are more sweeping the vocals more tender. The collaberations on this record are interesting.. this album appealed to me at once, but i'm sure it will grow in to a deeper love as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few classics on this record!, 1 Aug 2002
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
A review from a fan is probably biased but you can't deny Beth Orton's voice has some great qualities. The new album is definitely a new sound, The addition of an orchestra is a great touch on 'Paris Train'. If you are looking for something more than Pop can offer then this is an album worth hearing, Great Vocals, lyrics and sensual listening.
I Have heard some of these songs live and the only downside is that they seem to be 'sanitised' for the CD, such as 'Carmella'; the four tet remix sounds great, I cant understand why they didn't put it on this CD! they sounded great at 'the electric ballroom'.
It's not music that is ever going to hit number 1 in the singles charts but thats a good thing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedown Queen?, 5 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
It's a well-worn view that Beth Orton's music is always at its most potent when Weatherall or Ed n' Tom couch her bleary-eyed melancholy in shimmering electronica. Orton took such exception to the 'crane-like-comedown-queen' tag that clung to her after 1996's acclaimed Trailer Park LP that she's branched out a wee bit, perhaps in order to distance herself from her early work.
On 1999's slightly-less-loved Central Reservation, she abandoned the dancefloor (and the post-club masses) for a jazzier, folkier direction in the vein of Terry Callier, Bryter-Later-era Nick Drake and John Martyn. The LP essentially won her a Brit for Best British Female, but critically, received less rapturous reviews than its predecessor due to a shortage of choruses and some snail-paced numbers. After three years, Daybreaker in a way returns to the ground where she made her name, with spectacular results...
Paris Train features almost Bjork-like, glistening vocals and a superb string line, thrillingly exciting, mirroring the dislocation of her lyrics and the descriptions of a passing and changing landscape. Perhaps a wee bit too long, and the ending isn't fully fashioned, but still a great opening track
Concrete Sky takes the tempo up a bit. It was co-written with Johnny Marr: the only surviving song from the ones they penned together (they apparently wrote about an album's worth). Fairly sparse, but upbeat and folky, it features the backing vocals of Ryan Adams to great effect - the two voices blend wonderfully. One of the years finest singles thus far; but it sounds a lot like the Orton of six years ago. Perhaps a sign that all these collaborations are cramping her style somewhat?
Mount Washington is overlong, but beautiful, jazz-inflected melancholy. The perfect 5am soundtrack after a night awake. Not unlike Paris Train, one of the best tracks lyrically.
Anywhere's shimmering Kingston skank and beautiful vocal line make it my favourite track on the album. A brass section add a so-far-unseen extra leaf to Orton's bulging book of musical inflections. Deliciously uptempo, a perfect soundtrack to a summers morning.
Daybreaker. The Chemicals man the controls for the album's only floor-filler. An animated vocal performance, coupled with some perfectly-times beeps and beats, obscure but Orton-like lyrics make it another high point.
Carmella's nearest relative is Feel To Believe. Orton, alone with her guitar, spins a fairly clichéd tale, the lyrics here are as trite as she's ever written - and for a woman renowned for her truthful yet enigmatic writing, that's not too bad. Her usually slurred delivery is irritatingly throwaway and lax, but the improvement in her range is shown to full effect.
God Song. Is beautiful for the first two or three minutes. Emmylou and Adams provide lovely backing vocals, if overshadowing our heroine a little. Then it all goes a bit pear shaped. Too long, torpid strumming, repetitive lyrics; makes me reach for the skip button.
This One's Gonna Bruise was written by Adams exclusively for Orton. A piece with Feel To Believe, it's vintage-era Heartbreaker, a dissection of a relationship that has died. Potent in Orton's hands, you can't help but wonder if Adams could have done it better. I think he could have. But then I'm no music critic.
Ted's Waltz. Don't let the first minute put you off. Slow and inflective; quite insular, it's really quite good once it gets going. Keyboard drones at the beginning sound not unlike REM's Star Me Kitten. Still one of few low points, unfortunately.
Thinking About Tomorrow is William Orbit's chance to shine. Refraining from his trademark squelching noises, but hanging on to his crystal-clear production, he does a damn good job here. The intro is superb. Gentle picking interspersed with synths and some lovely, glistening electronica. Orton's excellent vocal performance (that is blurred gently around the edges to add to the relaxed atmosphere) and a surprise turn or two make it a slow-burning gem. Its single bad point is a rather unoriginal string arrangement, but that's a minor point. Over 6 minutes it unfolds to a wonderfully laconic outro. What she does best.
General consensus: The girl done good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic album in the true sense of the word, 25 April 2008
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
one of the most listenable and emotive albums i've heard in a long while discovered this very late but glad i found it . the opener Paris Train is an incredible swirling cascading sound with beths kinda just woken up vocals make it ever more sexy to listen to . with guests Emmylou Harris and Ryan Adams adding the tinge of country / americana on songs like God song . Mount Washington simply rolls over you like a wave . the ska like Anywhere breaks up the sound into an uptempo vibe . Ted's Waltz is simply an amazing song so deep like the ocean ..way to go!
so where is ms Orton now... anyone know ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another lovely record, 28 July 2002
This review is from: Daybreaker (Audio CD)
Maybe it's because I love Beth Orton, but I think this album is just as good as last one. It has a slightly different, more relaxed sound - as if she's trying a bit less hard. But it has a really nice feel to it, and it's really relaxing. I'd recommend it for those times when you need something mellow. Beth Orton fans should definitely get it - I couldn't wait for her to release something else - and I'm not disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daybreaker
Daybreaker by Beth Orton
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews