Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Mixture
Blurs "best of" was always going to be good. A wide selection of tunes ranging from the Britpop of "Country House" to the sublime yet bizarre art-rock of "Music Is My Radar" offers a reasonable history of Blurs music. All of which is excellent (unless you listen to "There's No Other Way" too often). Annoyingly, "Popscene"...
Published on 6 May 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have had such a better track listing
Every Blur fan will love the tracks on this CD but most Blur fans will already have them. It's a shame that hard to get hold of single "POPSCENE" is not included here. Other great singles (Sunday Sunday,Chemical World,M.O.R.Stereotypes) are missing. I'd suggest buying the Studio albums you haven't got already. You can buy most of them quite cheap now and hunting...
Published on 9 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Mixture, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Blurs "best of" was always going to be good. A wide selection of tunes ranging from the Britpop of "Country House" to the sublime yet bizarre art-rock of "Music Is My Radar" offers a reasonable history of Blurs music. All of which is excellent (unless you listen to "There's No Other Way" too often). Annoyingly, "Popscene" and "Sunday Sunday" aren't included, but you can't blame the band for this as the fans were polled on what to include - so you can hardly say Blur are "ashamed of their early work".
Tracks you'd forgotten were so good: "On Your Own", "For Tomorrow", "She's So High"
An ace CD, charting the change in the bands career. A must for fans and casual observers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb album!!!!!!!, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Blur (Audio CD)
Over the past decade, Blur have evolved from a run-of-the-mill indie-dance act to bastions of Brit pop and, ultimately, to that rare band whose best songs owe more to art than to the hit parade. Eschewing chronological presentation, and wisely shortchanging the early years, this well-sequenced program will hammer home to casual fans what diehards have known for years: Damon Albarn and company craft concise gems that are thought-provoking without inducing head-scratching. In this context, cuts that were never obvious chart fare -- the sweeping ballad "To the End," the gospel-inflected "Tender," and the desolate "No Distance Left to Run" -- sound better than ever. The new song, "Music Is My Radar," a clutch of quirky, disparate sounds (harmonium, rickety percussion, fuzz guitar) in need of a melodic hook to anchor them, can't match the polish of the band's best, but otherwise, this is a greatest-hits package with an emphasis on the greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete with masterpieces, 9 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Ah Britpop. That dreaded word. It will proberly feature soon on the 'where are they now' round of Never Mind The Buzzcocks. There was Oasis, who, for a brief period ruled the world, until people realised that the were just rehasing old Beatles song, and not doing a very good job at that. Suede were content to gradually get worse and worse. Cast and The Bluetones have gradually slipped away and I suppose it's too much to ask if anybody remembers Sleeper. And then there was Blur, responsible for such modern classics and Parklife and Country House, who decided they cared not one jolt for public opnion and did what they wanted to do, disowning their old stuff on the way, losing many casual fans in the process, yet continuing to produce awe-inspriring music. Now, ten years on, it's only fitting that they should have a best of compilation to remind us a) just how important Blur were and still are, and b) they wrote some kick-ass tunes.
Listening to Blur over the years is rather like watching a child develop into an adult. From the one of the earliest tracks, 'There's No Other Way', passing the teenage cheekyness of 'Parklife' and 'Girls and Boys', through to the mature 'Coffee and TV' it hard to pick out a bad track. Granted, Blur may not have been proud of what they've done in the past and treat it accordingly (witness the don't care attitude displayed when performing Girls and Boys on Top of the Pops to promote this album), but that still shouldn't take anything away from the fact that these are damn fine songs that have stood the test of time.
If this truly was a best of CD, every track Blur have ever made would have to be included, their albums have been that good (with the exception of a few select tracks on the great escape). It makes no difference if you are a die-hard fan or a casual listener, this is a vital album. But then so is every other Blur release. Buy this now, immediately and relive every great moment over and over again and again.
And while I'm here I thought I'd add to the tracklisting debate. MOR and Popscene, two great singles that surely should have been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Best, 19 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This is a truly comprehensive CD, containing all the band's hits, from the
electronic-sounding "She's So High" to brand-new indie-ish song "Music Is My Radar", this album contains some classic stuff. "Girls And Boys" and "Parklife" are both sparkling gems of Brit-pop, as is "Country House".
"Charmless Man" is an insanely catchy tune and the four tunes taken from
their eponymous 1997 effort are all present and correct. There is also some obscure stuff, like the ballad-like "To The End", the country-ish "Tender", and the lounge ballad "The Universal". The only negative note I can make about this album is that the new song isn't really that good and there is the unexplainable abscence of two classics from Modern Life Is Rubbish, "Sunday Sunday" and "Chemical World". That aside, this is a great disc to pick up for true-blue Blur fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good but the end of an era?, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
does this album mark the end of the upbeat era for blur fans ? it has many of their classics and my favourites (charmless man etc) but are these tracks the best blur are going to get? why release a greatest hits album so soon? i think this is a number 1 album and contains some of the best music of the last 10 yrs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an awesome line up, 29 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
ok, most of you think this album bites because these aren't the songs you would have expected..... well i like almost everyone one of these songs, and i think they picked some good ones to put on this album. i am going to buy for a few reason. 1] i love blur and i like to say i have all there albums. 2] the line up is great for me, if i am in the car and want to listen to my fave blur songs i don't have to keep switching cd's i just pop this one in.
so all in all i really like this album and i think its gonna be great, even thouhg i am guessing it won't sell to big, but i could be wrong you never know!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of a Good Bunch, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This album, for me was one that I have been looking forward to for years; I have always viewed Blur as a hit and miss band, with more hits than misses. The Albums are a mixed bag, on one side you have weird instumental/alternative stuff (the sort of thing that Blur seem to love) and then you have some modern classics such as 'Girls and Boys' and 'Country House' to name but a few; and these, i am happy to say are what are on this album. I have waited with baited breath for a long time now to see this record, for the simple fact that Blur are a band made for a 'Best of' Album.
All these little gems have now been collected and bundled into a package, complete with, may i say, the excellent sort of cover you want to be made into poster and put up on your wall. All the classics that you skip to the albums are here from the air guitar classic 'Song 2' to the lighter swaying, foot stomping, gospel singing 'Tender'.
Blur seem to have disowned these earlier hits, prefering the more mature 'Music is my Radar' and 'Coffee and TV'. I say be proud Blur, be proud of these Brit Pop classics, which be remembered for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of BLUR?, 14 Oct 2000
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
There are a lot of things that could have benn better about this album. The track list should have been about quality, not sales (ie. what is country house doing here), and it should have been in order of realese, giving the listener an impression of how there sound has developed. Having said that Blur are a great band, and the bulk of material that makes up this album is great. With Blurs strong back material this should have been better, but this is worthwhile for a Blur newcomer. Best of's are never meant for hardcore fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a collection of one Britains best band in a must have CD, 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This CD really does contrast how good Blur are. They have jumped back on to the scene with the new song, but its the old ones that relive the memories of the best of Blur. Song 2, Coffee & TV to name just a few are the highlight of the CD. It also shows why in the old days they were such a thret to Oasis. If your not a BIG Blur fan but you do think that thewre pretty cool then this is the CD for you as it contains some of the best stuff around, from one of the best bands around, ladies and gents i present: Blur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good compilation, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
blur is a fantastic band and while their albums tend to be a mixture of hits and misses, generally, all the albums are enjoyable. so...while i adore blur (sigh sigh graham), this best of cd is all that you really need if you want to get acquainted with blur or if you like them but they're just not everything in your life :) a should have anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blur: The Best Of
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews