Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there is no such thing as a bad Nina Simone record
I would argue that there is no such thing as bad Nina Simone track. Her unique voice and interpretation could take such dross as My Baby Just Cares For Me and turn it into a great work of art. It is a wicked shame that due to a telly advert this is the track that has introduced a new generation to this amazing voice.

This compilation, like so many recently...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by David Spanswick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic
Lots of the classics of Nina's long career. If you listen to the whole album it can be a little morose though!
Published 16 months ago by Mr. Andrew J. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there is no such thing as a bad Nina Simone record, 3 Jan 2011
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I would argue that there is no such thing as bad Nina Simone track. Her unique voice and interpretation could take such dross as My Baby Just Cares For Me and turn it into a great work of art. It is a wicked shame that due to a telly advert this is the track that has introduced a new generation to this amazing voice.

This compilation, like so many recently feels almost haphazard in its choice and sequencing but just take some time to listen to one track at a time and revel in the riches you have before you. There was never a voice like this before and certainly is nothing even approaching it now.

This collection contains some of Nina's most spare recordings i.e. just the voice and at most a trio. The genius of My Man's Gone Now, Since I Fell For You, Nobody's Fault But Mine far eclipse those over recorded tracks that seem to have become so popular.

Included are some live tracks, and if you were ever lucky enough to see her perform live you would have witnessed something very special indeed.

this may well be a jumping board for new fans to explore this amazing artist and there are a great number of albums now available. My personal recommendation is a double album called Tell It Like It Is which contains many unreleased recordings from one of her greatest eras 1967-1973 though I will stand by my original statement that there are no bad Nina Simone recordings ~ go ahead prove me wrong!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 1 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This in my opinion is the best Nina Simone album. It is a great mixture of both old jazz and blues classics and covers of more modern songs. Totally inspiring, I would recomend this to any Simone fan. You will not be dissappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nina, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd Nina Simone at her very best,I have listened to it for hours, a great buy for any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review The Greatest hits of Nina Simone, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It's not my regular music I listen to, but this album came in good condition and I thoroughly enjoyed this album. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is such a good collection of Nina Simone's greatest hits. One could listen to it all day, every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of [Clean] (MP3 Download)
Lots of her own songs and some amazing covers on here too. Great for background music whilst cooking or working. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reminded me how much I like her, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
CD price includes MP3 download, which is handy. I have played it constantly since I got it. Morose? Not moi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of [Clean] (MP3 Download)
Nina Simone - tremendous - a really good selection: Mr Boajangles, great version of Leonard Cohen's "Suzanne"
Bought this as mp£ download. Amazon system works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of [Clean] (MP3 Download)
Lots of the classics of Nina's long career. If you listen to the whole album it can be a little morose though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice collection, 20 Oct 2011
By 
skye "lark" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a typical selection of the music of Nina Simone, I felt that the content was good but that certain well liked tracks had been omitted but saying that, if you like Nina Simone then you won`t be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of [Clean]
The Best Of [Clean] by Nina Simone
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews