Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure 70s pop
For me, Middle of the Road, is the quintessential (I'm not sure that's spelt right) 70s pop group. They typify the whole feel of the early 70s with songs like Soley Soley and, of course, Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep. However, it is easy to overlook some of the great tracks on this 'Best of' album. Their own versions of 'I can't tell the bottom from the top' and 'Yellow...
Published on 13 May 2010 by Doh

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chirpy Bubblegum
Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep was a hit for a certain Lally
Stott the year before, but it took Middle Midle Of The Road to take it to number one in middle 1971. This charming collection of early 1970s bubblegum pop also contains their other hits Tweedle Dee Tweedle Dum, Samson & Delilah and Soley Soley, plus cover versions of familiar 60s hits like Yellow River and I...
Published on 15 May 2003 by Pieter Uys


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure 70s pop, 13 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
For me, Middle of the Road, is the quintessential (I'm not sure that's spelt right) 70s pop group. They typify the whole feel of the early 70s with songs like Soley Soley and, of course, Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep. However, it is easy to overlook some of the great tracks on this 'Best of' album. Their own versions of 'I can't tell the bottom from the top' and 'Yellow River' are rather good. I guess that Sally Carr's distinctive warbling vocals are a bit of an aquired taste. You either love them or hate them. Personally, I love them. They're certainly different, if nothing else.

If you're a fan of 70s pop then this is essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep, 10 Aug 2002
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Cast your minds back to those heady pop days of 1971. The 60's had left us all just a little bit lonelier and sad. Along came Middle of the Road and the blues in Soley Soley never seemed more poignant. Maybe it was the highland weather but the grit in their oyster was always mellowed by that Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep. We laughed and cried out "where's your mama gone" - we were the generation of latch key kids - skateboarders, fully american now with our space hoppers and gum - we were cool and melancholy at the same time - "until you came back - until you came oh soley soley - soley soley".
THIS IS A STAR BUY AND YOU'LL BE SURPRISED JUST HOW MANY OF THE LYRICS YOUR REMEMBER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chirpy Bubblegum, 15 May 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep was a hit for a certain Lally
Stott the year before, but it took Middle Midle Of The Road to take it to number one in middle 1971. This charming collection of early 1970s bubblegum pop also contains their other hits Tweedle Dee Tweedle Dum, Samson & Delilah and Soley Soley, plus cover versions of familiar 60s hits like Yellow River and I Can’t Tell The Bottom From The Top. There’s a tremulous quality in the female voice in songs like Chirpy and Tweedle Dee that reminds me of Stevie Nicks on some of her solo stuff. I think they were a Scottish band and I remember seeing them live in South Africa way back. As pop music goes, this isn’t bad at all. Nothing cerebral, but these catchy songs still pack a punch and if you’re prone to nostalgia, this will serve as a pleasant time machine trip back to your childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chirpy Bubblegum!, 2 April 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep was a hit for a certain Lally Stott the year before, but it took Middle Midle Of The Road to take it to number one in middle 1971. This charming collection of early 1970s bubblegum pop also contains their other hits Tweedle Dee Tweedle Dum, Samson & Delilah and Soley Soley, plus cover versions of familiar 60s hits like Yellow River, Sacramento and I Can't Tell The Bottom From The Top. There's a tremulous quality in the female voice in songs like Chirpy and Tweedle Dee that reminds me of Stevie Nicks on some of her solo stuff. I think they were a Scottish band and I remember seeing them live in South Africa way back. As pop music goes, this isn't bad at all. Nothing cerebral, but these catchy songs still pack a punch and if you're prone to nostalgia, this will serve as a pleasant time machine trip back to your childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy 70's memories, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
If you lived through the 70's you will no doubt remember the hits of this group. If you were a boy growing up through that period you will probably remember MotR for Sally Carr the lovely lead singer who always wore hot pants. The collection includes all of the hits plus many I had not heard before. A great nostalgia trip and at Amazon's current selling price you are better off buying this CD than downloading the 3 or 4 songs you may be familiar with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of life's guilty pleasures, 22 Sep 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
There are some CDs that I don't freely admit to owning, and this is one of them - but come on? - how can you resist the chirpiness of 'Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep', which hit the top spot of the UK singles chart in 1971.

The first four tracks on this 'Best Of' are pure '70s pop fun. 'Tweedle Dee, Tweedle Dum', 'Soley Soley' were both top 5 hits, and 'Sacramento (A Wonderful Town)' was also a top 25.

If I'm honest, it's these four tracks that make this CD for me, and if it had been cut down to EP size, I would have gave it a five stars. The rest of the songs are hit and miss for me, but there are still some good ones to be found.

Middle of the Road certainly gave us some nice simple pop music, and if you remember them in their early '70s heyday, you'll enjoy this generous collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Middle of the road., 13 July 2013
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
This Cd is just a fabulous collection of tracks of the group Middle of the Road. There is a good representation of the sort of thing they did and each track is a gem.
Middle of the Road originate from Scotland and were Lead singer Sally Carr with her brilliantly original and unique vocals. Ken Andrew on drums, Ian McCredie on guitar and his brother Eric McCredie the bassist. This unique group had already been together since 1967 by the time of their first hit record in 1971. During that period they had tried many different things and adopted many musical influences. They had even been known as Los Caracas and had been doing Latin American styled music. They had even won the TV series Opportunity Knocks under that format.
But they moved to Italy in 1970 where they were helped by Italian music producer Giacomo Tosti. Their cover version of Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep went to Number 1 and the group had short lived success for a few years across Europe and America.

The great thing about this group was that they just had that magical formula. Great catchy tune, Great arrangement, brilliant harmonies, rich in musical influences, and just great fun. There is emotion and passion but nothing is too serious. And although they were labelled a bubble gum pop group because of the less serious and fun nature of their records, they just did it all with great style. The tracks are all very clever actually. I wish I had been more aware of them at the time of their success but no matter because if its good its good regardless of when you discover it.
Obvious tracks are the big hit Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep and Tweedle dee Tweedle dum. But my favourite track of all is their other hit single Soley Soley which is just brilliant. All the other tracks on this CD are good and there isn't a bad track amongst them.
For more of Middle of the Road there is also the set of three albums Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep / Acceleration / Drive on which is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Just as i expected, great sounds of yesterday. Could sing along to ALL the words, brought back good memories, good times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 70's are back, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
I had quite a few of this tracks on vinyl, so it was nice to get them and others from this 70's band on CD. A must album for anyone who is a fan of 70's pop music.
Good delivery and fast from supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better..., 11 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
The first 12 songs is identical (in a different order) to the first 12 on the Ariola/BMG CD from 1989. Track 13-16 (Bottoms up - Rockin' soul - Yellow boomerang and Kailakee Kailakoo) on the Ariola CD is better songs than the last 4 on this CD. The sound on the Ariola CD is more soft/LP like, and I think that makes the vocals sound better - especially on "To remind me". This new CD has more bass, and for some tracks it's fine. I prefer the "old" sound, but the difference is not big.
The new versions of the early ELO CD's has a lot more bass/drums and that is terrible...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of
Best Of by Middle Of The Road
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews