Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant R'n'B album, 27 Feb 2004
By 
L. Cooney (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
Usher's career kicked off in 1987 Atlanta and the wheel of fortune hasn't stopped turning for him since. With this, his third album, he has developed both as a singer and a songwriter from what we saw on My Way. The album nicely mixes slower ballads with songs that get you up and dancing as a more mature Mr Raymond shows he's quite possibly this generation's Michael Jackson. From the slower grooves of the loved-up 'U Got It Bad' and 'How Do I Say' to the pounding Neptunes and Shek'spere base lines on 'U Don't Have To Call' and 'TTP', from the instantly catchy 'U Remind Me' and 'U-Turn' to the genuinely heartfelt 'Can U Help Me' and 'Separated', by way of the uplifting 'Pop Ya Collar', Usher has produced a mature album that shows you can still have fun. Sure, there are touches of bravado about 'If I Want To' and 'Good Ol' Ghetto', but it's this slight overflowing of confidence that makes this an excellent album. The guest appearances by P Diddy, Pharell Williams and Kelis are also worthy of note. If this and the new single 'Yeah' are what we can expect from his new album 'Confessions', then bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic New Album from Usher, 26 Oct 2001
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
I have always been a great fan of Usher and have most of his work in my CD Collection, but this Album in one word, blew his older albums away. The Songs in this album are to suit absolutely every mood that is going. You have 'U GOT IT BAD' which is a fantastic rnb ballad with fantastic lyrics, sometimes you feel he is just singing about you. You have the great song 'I Don't Know' which features P Diddy, (they work so well together). Off course we have the other top 10 hits, Pop Ya Collar and U Remind me which just want to get you up dancing. This has to be the best Album i have bought in years. If you enjoy Usher and you havent got this yet, i suggest you rush out and get a copy now. 8701 - only problem with this album, what on earth is 8701.... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent album.., 10 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album by Usher, I have brought this album on hearing Confessions, but this album by far outweighs any albums he has esatablished so far. The album is well constructed, it is almost written in a ballad form and it directly addresses the theme of love - a meticulous beginning by the song U remind me and a brilliant ending by the song Separated. He has truly shown his talent and outhweighed his critics in this album, as the songs he protays has an element of subtlity encapsulated within it, each song has a deep meaning and thoroughly constructed. The song U got it bad is a brilliant example, it is almost as if he is referring to you directly. In addition, the guest appearances by P Diddy, Pharell Williams and Kelis are also worthy of note, and adds a huge impact on the album. There is a mix of rap in the album but the majority of the songs are dominated by the sole voice of Usher in an R&N&B manner, making this album an excellent hear for any music fan. Usher has risen from a teenage 13 year old to a mature 25 year old. This album is a vivid demonstration of his maturity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8701 pulls you in and never lets go, 14 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
Usher returns with an album that can only be described as "brillient".
Usher collaborates with the finest r&b producers of our time including Jermaine Dupri and The Neptunes to bring together a collection of tracks that get your blood flowing and your feet tapping while at the same time makes you passionate about love again.
The high-profile collaboration with P. Diddy "I Don't Know" is a big dissapointment - not even the Neptunes smooth funky production can save this one - but "U Don't Have To Call" makes you just wanna party.
The incredible "Separated" and "U Got It Bad" are Usher ballards of note and are the high points of the album.
The albums flows amazing and its a definitely best buy! Worth ever penny.
If your're not interested in r&b at all - then this is one that can change your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh,Funky,Fantastic, 13 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
Usher's latest release is a mixture of soulful R'n'B ballads and edgy hip-hop tunes. The songs pop ya collar and u remind me r quality pop/R'n'B singles.The pick of the ballads are all produced by R'n'B legends Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, how do i say, can u help me and separated.These songs r good but they are nowhere near as sultry or soulful as Nice and slow from Ushers first album My Way.The stand out track is I Don't Know which is produced by the Neptunes and features a rap from newly named P Diddy. Overall the album is better than My Way and the song Hottest thing is a perfect description of Usher and his album!!A definate must buy for Usher fans and R'n'B fans.It's fresh and funky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... If you have nay doubts BUY IT!, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
This was the first r'n'b album I bought, and is the only modern r'n'b album in my collection. It was really an impulse buy - I enjoyed the catchiness of 'Pop Ya Collar' and 'U Remind Me'. I have never been more happy with a purchase!
Usher is the perfect singer - he can hold a note better than nearly every singer I've heard. He is the new 'King' of r'n'b, but he seems more like a Prince. Young, fresh, clever, exciting and handsome.
Usher has combined rap with his songs, featuring P Diddy and JD. JD has a nasal tone - think of Eminem, but with different subject matter. The three singles are all fantastic. 'U Remind Me' and 'Pop Ya Collar' are upbeat, party affairs, hook-laden with clever lyrical twists. Usher is a very good lyricist, though he takes on a lot of production and musical help. 'U Got It Bad' shows off his voice to its full - the slow version is also better than the single mix. Of the album tracks, my favourites, from the range of excellence, would be 'Twork It Out', 'Good Ol' Ghetto' and 'U-Turn'. 'Twork It Out' is Usher in his sexiest mood. It may seem crass, but the way the lyrics are written make it come together perfectly. 'Good Ol' Ghetto' is upbeat party song, for those summer days - 'Told my men I'm having a barbecue - So grab some folks - Let U slide right through'. He spells every 'you' as 'U' in the album, by the way. Finally 'U-Turn' is a perfect social commentary for America over the last twenty or so years. The chorus is Usher at his catchiest, and best. 'Seperated' is very cheesy, but I can still take it!
This album may not age great, as it is full of the sounds and production of the moment, but it is a perfect snapshot of what life is like. With clever lyrics, snappy rhythms, catchy songs and great singing, this is one you have to buy. An added bonus is the glossy album sleeve - Usher looking his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fab mix!, 17 Sep 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
Usher's just got this album jusy right, with a mix of uplifting, soothing, and bass-pumping tunes. I put it on before footie matches to get me going, and it really does the job. But obviously, with such a good mixture, its ideal to listen to anywhere. His voice is incredibly likeable, and doesnt become annoying at any point, making it an album you'll never get tired of. Well done Usher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality!, 6 Feb 2004
This review is from: USHER-8701 (Audio CD)
I bought this CD while on holiday in Florida in 2002, and it became the soundtrack to the best holiday of my life. Usually I get bored of albums by a single artist, but this is one of the few exceptions available, and I often listen to it.
Each song is different in some way to all the others on the album; some being of the slower ballad type, and others being more hip-hop orientated, with the rest slotted somewhere in between.
The CD also contains the video to 'U Remind Me', probably usher's biggest hit so far, and is deffinately a plus point. My favourite track depends on the mood im in, but is possibly 'U Don't Have To Call', if I had to chose one in particular, although I'm a fan of every song on the album.
I would recommend this complete album to anyone interested in r&b / hip-hop music, as it's simply brilliant. Congratulations to Usher for producing one of THE best albums in history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RnB album of 2001 without a doubt, 16 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best RnB albums around, and practically every single track on 8701 is great. The highlight of the album is If i want to, which has confident lyrics, fantastic beats and just a really good track. U got it bad, pop ya collar, u turn and hottest thing are also good songs. The only low point of this album is the last song Separated, which is just too slow, sappy and cliched, altho ushers voice is on top form. Definetly gets a 10 outta 10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic Album with your bouncy tracks and slow jams, 17 Mar 2002
This review is from: 8701 (Audio CD)
A great album with many great tunes. The chart released tracks only give you a flavour of whats instore. Personal favourites being 'I dont know feat. P Diddy ' and 'You dont have to call ' - This album is a must for RnB Fans everywhere and when the boy on tour go check him out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

8701
8701 by Usher
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews