Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the Rolling Stone comments
I was astonished at the comments attributed to Rolling Stone regarding this album. It is excellent. It is smoother and not as hard rocking as some of the earlier TYA releases, but still has plenty of places where Alvin Lee can show his stuff. I'd Love To Change The World was the radio single that is still heard on classic rock stations. The rest of the material is solid...
Published on 12 May 2003 by F. A. Smith

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why no remaster of this classic album?
I have this CD and the album itself gets 5 stars as being one of the very best TYA albums for the strength of the songwriting and the emotional depth of some of the songs. A far cry from the overlong guitar solos and rythmn and blues variations of the early days. Lose two stars for the rip-off of it still being unremastered. Ssshh, Cricklewood Green or Watt are a...
Published on 3 Mar. 2009 by Savita


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the Rolling Stone comments, 12 May 2003
By 
F. A. Smith (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space In Time (Audio CD)
I was astonished at the comments attributed to Rolling Stone regarding this album. It is excellent. It is smoother and not as hard rocking as some of the earlier TYA releases, but still has plenty of places where Alvin Lee can show his stuff. I'd Love To Change The World was the radio single that is still heard on classic rock stations. The rest of the material is solid throughout with a mixture of tempos. Baby Won't You Let Me rocks as hard as nearly anything in the TYA catalog, and the softer songs are just incredible. I wore out three copies of the LP before the CD was released. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remastering, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Space In Time (Audio CD)
Today I received the new remastered edition of this classic, with the two versions: stereo remastered in 2004 and quad to stereo mixdown done in 2012.
The stereo mastering is excellent, better to my ears from what was done in the triple Cd called "Think About The Times" and livelier than the gold Audio Fidelity version.
But the revelation is the new quad to stereo mixdown. It is simply stellar. With conventional two speakers, instruments and voices float around you with cristal clear accuracy. Obviously some kind of phase shift was done, but the results are incredible. At the end of "Here They Come", the guitar surrounds you like having four speakers instead of two. The best holographic effect I've heard from a conventional CD.
So the music is first class, and the mastering top notch for both versions of the album included in one CD.
Don't pass it by. It is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars listening to these distinctive versions of this classic album I am glad that someone has taken the time to lay out ..., 5 July 2014
By 
Kevin D. Rathert (Carbondale, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Space In Time (Audio CD)
This Ten Years After release completely escaped me when originally released in 2012. The disc contains 2 versions of this classic album. First is the original 1971 stereo mix in its 2004 remastering. No complaints there. Tracks 11-20 are stereo mix downs of the 1973 Quadrophonic version of "A Space In Time." I wasn't sure how I felt about quad when it came around in the 70s but it wasn't around long enough to even give me pause to think. However, listening to these distinctive versions of this classic album I am glad that someone has taken the time to lay out the two versions of the LP on this single disc. Some might say single mixes should be included as bonus tracks rather than 75 minutes 41 seconds, the total run time of the disc. Normally I would agree with them, but after several careful listens, the 1971 stereo mix and the 1973 quad mix are quite different and both deserve their place in the TYA catalog. This disc is available, inexpensively, and it evaded me in 2012, glad I happened to notice the track listing. What an interesting addition to the Ten Years After catalog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this mainly for the DVD-A, it did not disappoint and is very nice. Maybe it could have been packaged in a slot in cover rather than just inserted in cover with record but that is minor complaint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Space In Time (Audio CD)
Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Space In Time, 14 Mar. 2013
This review is from: A Space In Time (Audio CD)
A space In Time is probably the most consistent album Ten Years After produced. I have been playing this after hearing the sad passing of the main man (Alvin Lee) of this great band. A Space In Time contains some great music with some beautiful acoustic songs such as Here They Come to all out rock as Baby Won't You Let Me Rock 'n' Roll You.
The sound is also amazing with a lot of thought and effort going into the sound mix. This is an album that works well in Quad. I have this on DVD-R in Quad and it sounds spectacular.
Overall this is an excellent album and deserves to be played 'loud'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why no remaster of this classic album?, 3 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Space In Time (Audio CD)
I have this CD and the album itself gets 5 stars as being one of the very best TYA albums for the strength of the songwriting and the emotional depth of some of the songs. A far cry from the overlong guitar solos and rythmn and blues variations of the early days. Lose two stars for the rip-off of it still being unremastered. Ssshh, Cricklewood Green or Watt are a better bet than this one until the remaster comes around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is good value for money, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space in Time (Audio CD)
The item matched my expectations. It is good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Space In Time (Audio CD)
great music from a great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
By 
STEVEN J BEALE (TAUNTON, SOMERSET England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Space In Time (Audio CD)
Would buy from again A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Space In Time
A Space In Time by Ten Years After
Buy MP3 Album£6.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews