Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
The Chemicals' moment has past, according to a large chunk of the music press, but they still know how to make rocking tunes. This album is a significant return to form, with very little on it that's below par. Some of the tracks are really hard and exciting - "Believe", which features Kele Okereke from Bloc Party, stands out - and there are some long tracks which pass...
Published on 29 Jan 2005 by The Fisher Price King

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating...but still Good.
This album scores, or rather scrapes a 7/10, but could, and should, have been soooo much better.

The main reason is the length of the album, and in particular, certain tracks that went on too long without any new ideas being brought in. I suspect a lot people will be annoyed how it appears to gain mommentum then lets it go for no good reason. 'Believe' is the...
Published on 3 Nov 2009 by Mr. S. Bennett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 29 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
The Chemicals' moment has past, according to a large chunk of the music press, but they still know how to make rocking tunes. This album is a significant return to form, with very little on it that's below par. Some of the tracks are really hard and exciting - "Believe", which features Kele Okereke from Bloc Party, stands out - and there are some long tracks which pass through several different moods and tempos. I can certainly see DJs wanting to hammer some of these, and there's a strong dance flavour here. The guest vocalists are an interestingly forward-looking bunch, too, with people like The Magic Numbers and, surprisingly to me, Q-Tip. Where other artists who broke dance and electro into the mainstream in the late 90s have faded miserably - look at Fatboy Slim for instance - the Chemicals can still cut the mustard, and there's as much to admire and enjoy here as on any of their previous albums. Four stars rather than five because, for all its excellence, this is an album that will excite you rather than open your eyes. Maybe that's a bit of a pretentious thing to say, but there is a sense, even with this strong album, that we know precisely what to expect from the Chemical Brothers: they don't disappoint, but there is an element of predictability. For instance, the very lively track "Come Inside" could be straight off Dig Your Own Hole. Still, if you're a fan, you'll love it, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Push the Button - The Verdict, 16 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
Having been a big fan of the 'Brothers' since their first album, I was excited to see what musical route the lads had taken on this latest offering, having been slightly disappointed with their previous record 'Come with Us'. The album explodes from the word go with the latest single 'Galvanise' which has obviously had a lot of air play recently, but is still the best single of the year so far. However, I recommend that you skip to track 2 straight away with 'The Boxer' which thuds and screeches with bangin beats and piercing vocals. For me though, the album hits its highest points during the next few tracks. 'Believe' with vocals from Bloc Party is pure Chemicals with superb sampling and catchy riffs. The brothers adopt a trancy feel for 'Hold Tight London', and achieve a gorgeous sound with soothing vocals whilst at the same time losing none of that Chemical beat. 'Come Inside' is possibly the best track on the album and hopefully the next single to be released. It possesses a sexiness not seen elsewhere on the album and again a thumpin' riff that will lodge itself in your brain for a long time. Other highlights on the album include 'The Big Jump' and 'Shake Break Bounce', both very listenable and diverse in their musical feel. Overall, this is the 'Brothers' most consistent album to date and one that I would thoroughly recommend to fans of dance, trance, electronica and funky house music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating...but still Good., 3 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
This album scores, or rather scrapes a 7/10, but could, and should, have been soooo much better.

The main reason is the length of the album, and in particular, certain tracks that went on too long without any new ideas being brought in. I suspect a lot people will be annoyed how it appears to gain mommentum then lets it go for no good reason. 'Believe' is the main offender, and should have been the radio edit length, and 'Hold tight London' should also have been about 2 minutes shorter, as this would have meant the album flowed into the middle part quite well. Some tracks seem slightly out of place, like 'Left right', which should have been linked with 'Galavanise', as could 'Shake break bounce' (although this could also have been placed next to 'The Big Jump'). 'Close your eyes' is very indulgent, and could have been left out, or simply used as a closing song - it just doesn't work this early in the album. 'Surface to air' is class but again could be slightly shorter - a common theme that makes the album seem unfocused and a bit stale in places. It scores well on the diversity of styles and is very occasionally sublime.

So, all in all, an album with no real stinkers, and one or two gems, that's ultimately let down by long and flabby versions, and is very poorly ordered. Silly mistakes to make really. Exit Planet Dust should have pointed the way, as it excelled on these points, but instead they've frustrated most people. A real shame, but i still rate it as maybe 3rd, in terms of favourite chems albums. 'We Are The Night' is a lot better though, and is almost a more accomplished version of this album. So 'Exit Planet Dust' is the best 'dance' album they've done, and 'We Are The Night' is their best album in terms of diversity.

I've actually re-sequenced the album to prove my point, so why not try this track order if you can find the time (and the 2 edited versions)....?
I reckon with this order it sounds close to a 5 star album :)
1. left right
2. galvanise (4:30 single version)
3. come inside
4. believe (3:47 radio edit)
5. hold tight london
6. surface to air
7. shake break bounce
8. the big jump
9. the boxer
10.marvo ging
11.close your eyes

happy listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Defining Album Of 2005, 25 Aug 2005
By 
B. Broadribb (Wimbledon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
I seriously can't understand the backlash this album has received from the media and indeed many reviewers here on Amazon. All I can think of is that these are people who were "ravers" ten years ago, but have now grown up and don't want electronic music to change from how it was when they went raving. In my opinion this is a great album, and possibly even a future classic of the era along with The Prodigy's "Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned". If things didn't change music, and life, would be much more boring.
The opening track is in some ways nothing like the Chemical Brothers' previous work, but also contains elements typical to their style, and was the perfect choice as the debut single from this album. This is followed by The Boxer, a track that sounds to me influenced by Fatboy Slim's more recent work, and one that I didn't like on first listen but has since grown on me. Not one of my favourites but a good track nonetheless.
We then come to what is my favourite track on Push The Button, Believe. I would rank it as one of my all-time favourite Chemical Brothers tracks. Everything about it is brilliant with huge drums, dirty "in your face" bass, and adrenaline-fuelled lyrics and tune. This is followed by three more blinding tracks that are typical Chemical Brothers in style and execution, namely Hold Tight London, Come Inside and The Big Jump.
We then come to Left Right, probably my least favourite track. I am a hip-hop fan, but I haven't taken to the rapping on this track. The over-stated political message, with lyrics such as "What's the difference between Bush and Saddam...?", also puts me off this track. It has its moments, and I don't have to skip it or anything, but it's my low point of the album. Fortunately we are treated to one of the best tracks after this, Close Your Eyes featuring The Magic Numbers. A classic chilled out Chemical Brothers track in the same vein as Surrender's Asleep From Day and The State We're In from Come With Us, that also manages to make full use of The Magic Numbers' wonderful flavour; the two styles fuse to making a truly brilliant song. The rest of the album is simply great. Shake Break Bounce, Marvo Ging and Surface To Air are all top typical Chemical Brothers tracks that all offer something we haven't heard elsewhere on Push The Button.
With the majority of tracks falling into the "great" category or higher, this is definitely another ace album from the Chemical Brothers, who in my opinion have yet to release a bad one. If you like their previous stuff, you'll more than likely enjoy this album. Not the best album they've released, a title I personally bestow on Surrender, but one that I highly recommend, and definitely one of my favourites of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving the Hip Hop influences, 26 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
This album is a solid listen. Great variety. Its not particularly original - but compared to the latest guitar based XFM darlings : Kasabian, The Bravery....etc it is very original. I have listened to it many more times than any other purchase in the last 6 months. There is much more to this album than the title track - Galvanize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most amazing album, 17 Sep 2005
By 
S. J. Withers "flutterby12" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
i've never really been a big fan of the Chemical Brothers but the second i heard the opening sounds of 'Galvanize' i was hooked. The next day i marched straight out and bought every other Chemical Brothers CD that existed.
'Galvanize' has got to be one of the best songs on the album featuring one time big rapper Q-Tip who nails the lyrical content on the head perfectly.
One of my favourites is 'Close Your Eyes' featuring the Magic Numbers who i had previously not heard of until this song.
Also, 'Shake Break Bounce' is a chilled out, slow groove song that is so catchy once it starts going you cant help but want to dance around to it.
Then of course there is 'Believe' featuring Bloc Party's Kele, who's haunting voice floats over the hard bass line. (believe i blew my speakers out listening to this song...)
I recommend this album... i cannot actually physically live without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dance music: not dead, never was, 30 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
As Billy Corgan prematurely delivered the last rites on rock music a few years back, so has the ubiquitous fashion mag NME lined up to take a pop at this, the Chemical Brothers' fine comeback.
I can't understand how people can slate this album. It's not the most original dance album you'll ever hear, but how many original rock bands are there and yet they're still worshipped? Galvanize has a killer Banghra hook and is a cool opener. Believe has some mellow vocals from Kele Okereke over a thumping 80s electro beat and is a real highlight. This segues into the chilled Hold Tight London, an uptempo yet dreamy track. The Big Jump is quality as well, containing a wrecking ball of a bassline. The next single has to be Left Right featuring Anwar. His aggressive hip hop delivery over a stonking 70s theme tune is a great departure from the usual Chemicals material, mixed in with some intelligent political bile. Close Your Eyes and Surface To Air are also awesome tracks, showing that the Brothers were right in taking their time to put this album together.
Put simply, this makes a nice change from the usual guitar based fare at the moment. Albums like this show that dance music still has a very bright future, even if the genre has been spliced into several more recognisable styles since its early to mid 90s heyday. Hopefully the Chemical Brothers have awakened a sleeping giant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Push The Button Review, 22 Dec 2004
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
This album vields the return of the worlds number 1 techno/acid house/big beat duo, in full out pumping, earth shattering, Chemical form like youve never witnessed previously. Many people quickly say that dance music is 'game out' but after listening to this you quickley realize that Ed and Tom(The Chemical Brothers) are back and are out to prove all the snotty nosed non belivers wrong.
It is clear after listening to this album that the Chemicals have had a clear change in direction with a much fresher sound after what some considered a disapointing effort with 'Come With Us'. It is a compleate back to the drawing board album that is according to Tom Chemical is 'free, closer, like a sound you couldn't ignore, and he had to be wilder'.
The album boasts some interesting guest vocalists from old friends such as Tim Burgess and new ones such as Q-Tip, Anwar Superstar, Kele Okereke and The Magic Numbers, that all prove this is something not to be overlooked speaking for themselves.
The 11 track head-rushing album begins well with 'Galvanize' featureing Q-Tip, this tune is quite different from other Chemical sounds that at first is difficult to get the head around, but has catchy hip hop vocals and the phase 'Push The Button' in an electronic robotic voice overlaying a nice jerky beat and violin. After this follows 'The Boxer' featureing Tim Burgess with a very clear well defined voice. 'Belive' featureing Kele Okereke is next which has a kinda electro light acid sound, the track is very rushing and fastly flows very well and is not the type of club tune that can just be danced to but can enjoyed at home with the relaxing lyrics 'I needed to believe in something'. 'Hold Tight London' is next up which im very sure will become a live favorite like the next track 'Come Inside' which was played over the summer at festivals such as Glastonbury going down a treat, it is kinda simular to 'Under the Influence' from the 'Surrender' album, with the words 'Would you like to come inside' looped in a sexy female voice after a clear build up that when released pure estasy is felt. Other future athems on the album include 'The Big Jump', 'Left Right', 'Close Your Eyes' featureing The Magic Numbers, 'Shake Bounce Break' and 'Marvo Ging' which still have that chemical formula but this time with a little extra that forces a newer sound. The final track also previewed live over the summer is 'Surface to Air' which is a kinda chilled house tune reminding me of the feeling of being underwater, this could be the most well recived track of the album due to its simularities to the amazing 'Star Guitar' from'Come With Us'.
Over all a good clear cut album that i feel will prove to be a big seller of 2005 that is essential to all Chemical fans and those who want something that is cool and different to normal clubland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Push the button rocks man!!, 14 Feb 2005
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
This album is friggin excellent. I just cant see why some people reviewing this dont like it. Its like a natural follow up to Surrender, which I think is their finest piece of work and yes, it is better than their only weak release Come With Us. They are surviving the world of dance music today, which is sort of declining now but thank god for the Chems.
Opening track and first single Galvanize with US rapper Q-tip, is a catchy middle-eastern track which is rather different to what they usually do but its so cool. Believe is classic Chemicals. One of their faster ones on the album and possibly next single. Incredible techno bassline, thumping beat along with wierd-funny-cool noises, has great vocals and is addictive. Come Inside has a fantastic bass and brilliant drum sounds.
The only track I may take a while to get used to is Left Right basically because its different and slow with hip-hop vocals from Anwar Superstar. Marvo Ging and Surface To Air are two of the best on it.
All the tracks bar Left Right are what you would expect from them really but I think THE best track on it is Believe, its incredible!! Wow!!
Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too mainstraim and predictable, 21 Jan 2008
By 
D. Shaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Push the Button (Audio CD)
In Push The Button, Tom and Ed seem determined to answer the blunt critics of their 2002 album Come With Us with a record that is likely to please lovers of dance music, but not necessarily those that grew up with the creativity of Dig Your Own Hole and Surrender. The tracks which bookend the album, "Galvanize" and "Surface To Air", are brilliant, whilst "Believe" and "Close Your Eyes" remind us that The Chemical Brothers are capable of creating something special. But this album lacks the typical Chemicals' spark and is disappointingly commercial; "Come Inside" and "Shake Break Bounce" get tired after a few listens. "Left Right" is ghastly, and confirms the album's unfocused, incohesive nature, and Tom and Ed's most unsatisfying album since Exit Planet Dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Push The Button
Push The Button by The Chemical Brothers
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews