Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still cool after all these years...
I first bought this album in 1973 when it first came out and it is still being played in my house today. Every track is a winner and Ferry has chosen the covers so well from such a wide range of sources that obviously influenced him - The Beatles, Motown/Smokey Robinson, Dylan, The Beach Boys, Rolling Stones etc. - but still manages to bring a fresh interpretation to them...
Published on 20 Jan. 2004 by Mr. G. S. Bond

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Baby I Don't Care
At this time (1973) Roxy Music were making some truly ground-breaking music and I never really understood why Bryan Ferry felt he had do this whole album of covers. I think it's only with Roxy Music that you get to hear the things that Ferry's remarkable voice can do. I'm not sure that tracks like 'Sympathy For The Devil' should ever be touched by anyone else, and it...
Published on 27 Mar. 2005 by Tealady2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still cool after all these years..., 20 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
I first bought this album in 1973 when it first came out and it is still being played in my house today. Every track is a winner and Ferry has chosen the covers so well from such a wide range of sources that obviously influenced him - The Beatles, Motown/Smokey Robinson, Dylan, The Beach Boys, Rolling Stones etc. - but still manages to bring a fresh interpretation to them so they don't sound dated even now. You can take one song and trace it back to it's original version and, assuming you've never heard stuff by them before, you open up whole new panaromas of music. And the front cover pic is cool epitomised - I've been wishing I looked that good ever since
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ferry at his cool chic best!!, 21 April 2003
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
If you love Bryan Ferry then this album is a must!!
This is super cool at his best!! I cannot tell you how many times I play this album!! These Foolish Things, the title track is so atmospheric. River of Salt so full of feeling.
Then there are the more upbeat Dont Ever Change and Its my Party.
Listen to this album...you will love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great record, 16 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
This is perhaps Ferry's greatest album of cover versions of great songs, chosen with great care and excellent taste. All the songs are wonderful classics in their own right, and Ferry adds to them his own interpretation and style without detracting from the originals at all. This is not easy to do, but Ferry succeeds because her clearly respects the original versions, and brings his own unique creativity to bear on the performances. This is one record I have listened to over and over again without tiring of it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... hugely entertaining album with about three or four genuinely great tracks (A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall, 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
This is a hugely entertaining album with about three or four genuinely great tracks (A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall, River of Salt, The Foolish Things) and the rest are just kind of fun. For example there's no way that Bryan could ever add anything much to Brian (Don't Worry Baby), nor to the legendary recording of the Stones' Sympathy. Yet even so it's fun to hear him try. (I'm really intrigued by the alternate lyric that he sings on Don't Worry Baby.)

"These Foolish Things" has a slightly ineffective start but after that it's a masterpiece of turning something cheesy back into cool. Great lyrics and great tune, made better by Ferry's uncertain pitching on the title phrase and by Paul Thompson's bristling drums, which counter-intuitively are very bouncy for a song you'd be tempted to treat with gorgeous languour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not so foolish, 24 Sept. 2010
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
This is just a short review as I am not a man of words but tend to woffle!
I bought the big black grooved album many years ago, but children and time got the better of it, which was sad as Brian Ferry's unique voice and rendition of this collection of songs was lost for me. How grand it is that I now have the CD of "These Foolish Things". If you are wondering if to buy this CD or not can I recommend you do. It has some wellknown songs sung as only Brian Ferry can, so go on treat yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan at his solo best!, 4 April 2013
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
Don't buy this old classic album if you want to hear Roxy Music sounds! It's not even close to a Roxy album, however it is without doubt one of the best covers of great songs done in a voice that ALL Roxy fans will appreciate as, simply unique! Yes Bryan Ferry simply oozes class on this album and songs such as the title track, These Foolish Things, I love How You Love Me, Baby I Don't Care and many others are done with the class and taste of what you would expect from the master of cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL AS GOOD AS EVER, 18 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
I bought this in 1974 in LP form and played it all summer. It hasn't dated and the music is as unique and original as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Jan. 2004
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
My favourite album of all time. every track is unique and brilliant in its own way. Totally eclectic - Dylan, Beach Boys, Janis, Stones, Shirelles, Presley, 1930s romantic - all interpreted in Bryan's inimitable way - a king of 70s update with (of the period) quirky vocals and sound effects.... It's Bryan's party and he'll cry (like a girl) if he wants to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Roxy at all?, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
Bryan Ferry wrote most of the songs for Roxy Music, but it seems there was still work left that he could not play with the band. Some originals on this album, but lots of covers, and wonderful ones, even though one could have thought that the definitive versions of those had been recorded before, which Bryan ferry proves not to be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever, 30 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. G. Firth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
I've had this album since it was released and never tire of listening to it. The mix of tracks is unusual but I've grown to love every one of them and their play order. My favorite has to be the title track, which I've compared to other versions - it's both haunting and evocative of an earlier age. A master piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

These Foolish Things
These Foolish Things by Bryan Ferry
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews