Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once More..., 1 July 2002
By 
DJ (Kent , United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
Once more, David Gedge strikes the right chord. The usual mix of sex, swirling strings and soaring guitars make this a fantastic album. The way the pace changes is effortless, between tracks, during tracks. As ever the lyrics are top drawer. The sharpest observations from a lyrical genius. Has David Gedge ever had the recognition he deserves? If you own Va Va Voom and Disco Volante, the two previous studio albums, you'll buy this anyway. If you don't, then this is a great introduction to a songwriter who has been producing gem after gem for over fifteen years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Across The Sea, 5 Sep 2002
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
Weighing in from the U.S., I have to say Cinerama is fantastic. A bona fide reason to still believe in pop music as an artform. The amazing thing is David Gedge's ability to consistently nail the modern day love song. There are lyrical precedents: Jagger's lyrics on albums such as Sticky Fingers and Some Girls, Weller on "Paris Match," Sting even wrote a great love/lust lyric in "Don't Stand So Close to Me." But that was once upon a time. The winning streak in the post-modern era (Costello, Morrissey, and Westerberg have surrendered their thrones) is by a former schoolteacher from Leeds named David Gedge. Gedge, even more mature in Cinerama than the Wedding Present, is speaking for the new and old romantics of this world. If anyone is left listening to music that can get someone you love into bed with you (cue the old Sinatra and Al Green), then the artist you must gather around is the leader of Cinerama/Wedding Present. Buy Torino, but Va Va Voom, buy it all. And unlike latter-day Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen who have more going for them lyrically than musically, nearly every Cinerama melody will make your heart ache and your ears ring with pleasure. These songs will beat-up your lovesick soul beyond recognition. This artist is inspired by something/someone that can draw passion from a rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Before It's Deleted, 14 Nov 2002
By 
Richard Cutler (Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
If you liked the Wedding Present, now you're as old as me you're definitely going to love Cinerama. With David Gedge's wonderful, inimitable voice against a less frantic, but still immense musical backdrop, it's a sure fire winner. The lyrics too are something special, and get really rather saucy at times, particularly on Close Up and Quick Before It Melts.
Go on, treat yourself! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusually great, 3 May 2003
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
Cinerama are lighter and a little slower than the Wedding Present, with more strings, piano bits, female vocals, but the tunes are as good or even better.
This album is a little darker and denser than Cinerama’s previous two, yet the great tunes and clever clever lyrics continue. The lyrics are largely to do with the difficulty of successful relationships, wonderfully observed, yet it would be nice to hear a little more optimism and maybe a few more topics other than relationships.
Gedge writes some of the best singalonga songs around. Highlight is probably ‘Quick before it melts’, while ‘Airborne’ has a melancholic softness to swoon to, and the opening track, ‘And when she was bad’, one to get out your air guitar for, although I don't think that anything on this album quite matches 'Hard, fast and beautiful', 'Heels' or 'Superman'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Greatest Living Songwriter in Britain" Bar None, 21 Jan 2003
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
I have always loved music, and my taste is very varied, but I cannot recall a single song that opens with the melodic beauty of And When She Was Bad and explodes into such a glorious wall of sound that My Bloody Valentine and Jesus and Mary Chain would envy. The lyrical genius that is Two Girls, the 'sauciness' of Quick and Tie Me Up all leave me in another place as I'm halfway through the album when Starry Eyed simply rocks me! The album is then beautifully punctuated by the epic Health and Efficiency and you are left wondering how one man has managed to compose so many sublime songs.
If you liked The Wedding Present you'll love this album, if you hated The Wedding Present you'll love this album! Any album that includes among it's lyrics "I don't wear underwear because it leaves a stripe" has got to be heard!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Cinerama classic, 3 Aug 2002
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
Cinerama are one of those bands that deserve widespread critical acclaim. In an era of braindead, soulless, manufactured, highly packaged dross, Cinerama prove that there are some artists out there who take great pride in creating pop perfection.
Torino doesn't tread too far off the path laid-down by their previous two CD's proper, Va Va Voom and Disco Volante. This is by no means a criticism when the formula is catchy, summmery tunes that get lodged in your mind.
From the opening acoustic start of "And When She Was Bad" to the string-laden closer "Health And Efficency", every track on Torino fills you with the feeling that the world is a much better place than you thought it was before you pressed play on your CD player.
Each song on Torino tells a story and the lyrics are so sharp as to drag you in - making us feel as though we have been invited by David Gedge to listen to his innermost thoughts and feelings on love, life and happiness.
In short, Cinerama are one of the best bands in Britain at the moment. Sadly they will never be mainstream (well, they won't while the major labels spend their millions signing bands with not an ounce of talent or charisma) but will remain a hidden treasure to the people who stumble across them and then wonder how they ever thought their CD collection was complete without at least one Cinerma CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twinkly Maturity, 13 Oct 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
Another fine outing from Gedge, one of the few artists to still be mining his seamy side in his autumnal phase.
'And when she was bad' is simply his best lyrical work in years, working over that jealous/awkward ground that he's made his own.
Black mark for using the sleazy/uneasy rhyme twice, and doesn't top the ultimate Gedge line of 'I don't normally like champagne but I'll have some' from 'Drive'.
Good to have him back on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wedding Present 1 Cinerama 0, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Torino (Audio CD)
As someone who liked the Wedding Present but always thought the interminable play-outs and abrasive guitars masked a subtle songwriting talent, I was delighted when Cinerama arrived. All lush melodies and clever rhymes dripping with angst.
Torino is a very good album - the single Quick, Before It Melts and the opener are particularly strong - but I think it's a backward step towards the land of the Weddoes. Maybe Gedge is getting hacked off with people turning up to Cinerama gigs and asking for Brassneck.
It lacks the charm of Va Va Voom and the superb Disco Volante and is weaker than the This Is Cinerama collection. It reminds me of the last Wedding Present album, but Gedge is too good to traipse over old ground. Nothing here matches Gina Lolobrigida, Hard, Fast & Beautiful or Apres Ski (their best lyric yet).
Buy it and you won't be disappointed. But if you haven't heard the other albums, get those first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torino
Torino by Cinerama
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews