Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 'must have' cd
The vinyl version of this cd was the first record I ever bought and to this day it is still my fav record of all time. It is just fantastic. From start to finish this lp is brilliant. 'Do the dog' and 'concrete jungle' are particular favourates of mine. Its no wonder that this LP has been voted into the top 100 LP's of all times - its impact never lessons.
The only...
Published on 2 Sept. 2002 by K. Kay

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag
There are some great tracks here, but some weaker tracks, that for me do detract from the album as a whole.

First of all, there is no getting away from the greatness of 'A message to you Rudy' - now winning new fans thanks to it's use in a N**t ad. It still sounds like a breath of fresh air, and there's something special about a band that does its own brass,...
Published on 20 Sept. 2010 by K. Tune


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 'must have' cd, 2 Sept. 2002
By 
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
The vinyl version of this cd was the first record I ever bought and to this day it is still my fav record of all time. It is just fantastic. From start to finish this lp is brilliant. 'Do the dog' and 'concrete jungle' are particular favourates of mine. Its no wonder that this LP has been voted into the top 100 LP's of all times - its impact never lessons.
The only negative that I have always thought about this record (and this is a very minor point) is that this it has a long version of 'too much too young' which I find a bit slow - perhaps that's why they decided to release the live version of it in single format, which subsequently got to number one. However that is only a minor point and do not let that put you off buying this as it is still a great song.
To this this day I still find 'you're wondering now' makes me sad - maybe its because its the last song. Still this a good reason to press the repeat button as this soon cheers you up again. No
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING, 4 Aug. 2004
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
I bought this album without having heard anything other than Ghost Town and Too Much Too Young before. And it turned out to be be one of those rare records that you fall in love with on its first play, from start to finish. The sheer energy and enthusiasm of the record is astounding, every song is a masterpiece. I was only four years old when this was released, so I can't imagine how great it must have sounded back then. The lyrics get straight to the point, lines like "try wearing a cap, keep a generation gap" really get their message across. The only very minor criticism I have is that the version of Too Much Too Young goes on a bit too long, and its a tad slow. Overall though this record will quickly find its way into your Top 5 of all time. Stop reading reviews and just buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speechless, 9 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
I bought this album, or should I say LP when it first came out, it's an absolute masterpiece, never lived up to with any of their follow up albums, although they did do some good singles - if you like Ska, and you like a good dance, or listen, this is a fab LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Special, 24 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
This is my favourite of the 2 Specials albums. 'More Specials' is quirkier, but this is equally fun and more up-tempo. I love to leap around to this record at every oportunity, (much to the annoyance of my neighbours). I could wiffle on about all of the profound lyrics and such and Terry Hall's deadpan style, but once you buy this record then you will find out for yourself. Suffice to say that this record is well worth getting for your collection. If you like that 2 tone sound, then it really doesn't get any better than this. And at this price it is a steal!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will wipe that blank expression off your face (4.5 Stars), 26 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
If anyone owns 'The Best Of The Specials' (2008) then you might be thinking that that's enough for me. Well, think again! Because you'll be seriously missing out on the joy of discovering some other real gems, including: 'Do The Dog' and '(Dawning Of A) New Era' (it's the life affirming burst of energy that these two tracks provide), plus the intense build up to 'Too Hot' about Rude Boys carrying guns. Overall, a great album so "do the dog not the donkey" and order yourself a copy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of Musical Re-Invention. Brilliant !, 25 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
The Specials album is and was without doubt, a fantastic album. Anyone with any appreciation for music whatsoever, should buy this. The beats are great, the lyrics are great, the tunes are great. A great shame so much of our modern music is so dull and spiritless compared to music like this. As much a breath of fresh air as it was all those years ago. Superb !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as fresh ..., 29 July 2012
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
..sounding today as ever. A great compilation at a good price.
No regrets at all. Try it, you`ll like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Specials, something special, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (MP3 Download)
If you want a blast from the past, the smooth, energetic, raw tones of good old Ska hits the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Special live this studio recording has not lasted the distance, 11 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
The Specials were something else live in their early years. You were never quite sure what audience or band would deliver on the night. Tight adrenalin rush music, fights, polemics or stand-offs between members of the band. But they were good, awesomely good. A great mixture of parts that when they welded together blew the town apart. This album was a bit of a let-down. Old ska numbers updated which were good live did not overtake or add to originals. But it is the standout Brit Ska revival album of that decade. "Message to You Rudy" and "Gangsters" does capture the energy and focus of the band. Terry Hall and Neville, the vocalists were always a class combo and the guitars are great. It is a mixed bag of tracks. "Nite Club", "Too Hot" and "Concrete Jungle" remain locked in 1980. Other urban stories such as "Blank Expression" and "Too Much Too Young" still sit well. In 1980, it was new and raw. In 2012, it has lost some of the intensity. But I keep it and give it the occasional play and think back to those London gigs where a good time was had by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must buy this cd., 15 Sept. 2000
By 
This review is from: Specials (Audio CD)
The vinyl version of this cd was the first record I ever bought and to this day it is still my fav record of all time. It is just fantastic. From start to finish this lp is brilliant. 'Do the dog' and 'concrete jungle' are particular favourates of mine. Its no wonder that this LP has been voted into the top 100 LP's of all times - its impact never lessons.
The only negative that I have always thought about this record (and this is a very minor point) is that this it has a long version of 'too much too young' which I find a bit slow - perhaps that's why they decided to release the live version of it in single format, which subsequently got to number one. However that is only a minor point and do not let that put you off buying this as it is still a great song.
To this this day I still find 'you're wondering now' makes me sad - maybe its because its the last song. Still this a good reason to press the repeat button as this soon cheers you up again. Now where did I put that pork pie hat?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Specials
The Specials by The Specials
Buy MP3 Album£5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews