Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 'must have' cd
The vinyl version of this cd was the first record I ever bought and to this day it is still my fav record of all time. It is just fantastic. From start to finish this lp is brilliant. 'Do the dog' and 'concrete jungle' are particular favourates of mine. Its no wonder that this LP has been voted into the top 100 LP's of all times - its impact never lessons.
The only...
Published on 2 Sep 2002 by K. Kay

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag
There are some great tracks here, but some weaker tracks, that for me do detract from the album as a whole.

First of all, there is no getting away from the greatness of 'A message to you Rudy' - now winning new fans thanks to it's use in a N**t ad. It still sounds like a breath of fresh air, and there's something special about a band that does its own brass,...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by K. Tune


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 'must have' cd, 2 Sep 2002
By 
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
The vinyl version of this cd was the first record I ever bought and to this day it is still my fav record of all time. It is just fantastic. From start to finish this lp is brilliant. 'Do the dog' and 'concrete jungle' are particular favourates of mine. Its no wonder that this LP has been voted into the top 100 LP's of all times - its impact never lessons.
The only negative that I have always thought about this record (and this is a very minor point) is that this it has a long version of 'too much too young' which I find a bit slow - perhaps that's why they decided to release the live version of it in single format, which subsequently got to number one. However that is only a minor point and do not let that put you off buying this as it is still a great song.
To this this day I still find 'you're wondering now' makes me sad - maybe its because its the last song. Still this a good reason to press the repeat button as this soon cheers you up again. No
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING, 4 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
I bought this album without having heard anything other than Ghost Town and Too Much Too Young before. And it turned out to be be one of those rare records that you fall in love with on its first play, from start to finish. The sheer energy and enthusiasm of the record is astounding, every song is a masterpiece. I was only four years old when this was released, so I can't imagine how great it must have sounded back then. The lyrics get straight to the point, lines like "try wearing a cap, keep a generation gap" really get their message across. The only very minor criticism I have is that the version of Too Much Too Young goes on a bit too long, and its a tad slow. Overall though this record will quickly find its way into your Top 5 of all time. Stop reading reviews and just buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speechless, 9 Feb 2004
By 
John Tierney "viletrog" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
I bought this album, or should I say LP when it first came out, it's an absolute masterpiece, never lived up to with any of their follow up albums, although they did do some good singles - if you like Ska, and you like a good dance, or listen, this is a fab LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Special, 24 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
This is my favourite of the 2 Specials albums. 'More Specials' is quirkier, but this is equally fun and more up-tempo. I love to leap around to this record at every oportunity, (much to the annoyance of my neighbours). I could wiffle on about all of the profound lyrics and such and Terry Hall's deadpan style, but once you buy this record then you will find out for yourself. Suffice to say that this record is well worth getting for your collection. If you like that 2 tone sound, then it really doesn't get any better than this. And at this price it is a steal!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will wipe that blank expression off your face (4.5 Stars), 26 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
If anyone owns 'The Best Of The Specials' (2008) then you might be thinking that that's enough for me. Well, think again! Because you'll be seriously missing out on the joy of discovering some other real gems, including: 'Do The Dog' and '(Dawning Of A) New Era' (it's the life affirming burst of energy that these two tracks provide), plus the intense build up to 'Too Hot' about Rude Boys carrying guns. Overall, a great album so "do the dog not the donkey" and order yourself a copy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of Musical Re-Invention. Brilliant !, 25 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
The Specials album is and was without doubt, a fantastic album. Anyone with any appreciation for music whatsoever, should buy this. The beats are great, the lyrics are great, the tunes are great. A great shame so much of our modern music is so dull and spiritless compared to music like this. As much a breath of fresh air as it was all those years ago. Superb !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad track on the album, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
A classic album, still touring and sounding better than ever. Ska at its best, many have tried to emulate them but none have even come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it on vinyl, 3 Mar 2013
By 
J J NIXON (WORSLEY, MANCHESTER United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a must for all music fans. The vinyl copy will look great in any collection. A great debut album from an excellent band and still sounds good today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Specials, something special, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (MP3 Download)
If you want a blast from the past, the smooth, energetic, raw tones of good old Ska hits the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as fresh ..., 29 July 2012
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
..sounding today as ever. A great compilation at a good price.
No regrets at all. Try it, you`ll like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Specials
The Specials by The Specials
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews