Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For fans it's a blast but likely to be lost on others
Resident evil degeneration very much proves to be a resi game translated into a 90 minute scene. Arriving at the airport Claire Redfield finds herself in the middle of an viral outbreak of the T-virus, turning the dead into zombies. Trapped within the compound, with other survivors, a rescue team is dispatched headed by government agent Leon S Kennedy. As the story...
Published on 14 Jan 2009 by R. Fisher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars blue ray
once again would have preferred it if it was stated that it was an animated film, action sequences not as good in this situation
Published 7 months ago by mr k r gerrity


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil: Degeneration - Personal Review, 17 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Darren J. Powell "darrenkin" (United Kingdom, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil: Degeneration [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film rocks. It has the story, the zombies, fear factor, the giant mutated monster AND it completely connects with the videogame storyline without damaging the universe in any way shape or form. Plenty of action and gore. And the characters felt like the characters who I had previously played as in the Resident Evil games. This is exactly the kind of Resident Evil movie I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocked, 3 Jan 2009
By 
GJWilliams (West Rudham, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
What can I say? As the one of the series biggest fans, I thought it couldn't get much worse than the terrible RE: Apocalypse and Extinction garbage, which, in my mind put a bad name on the franchise.
Typical story, not much exciting, with your basic politics and 'there's been a accident (again?!) let's make it better' routine, however the obvious nature of this movie might have been saved if it wasn't for the brain dead characters they bring into the equation, which believe me, ruins the whole film. There is no depth and no sense to all but Leon (who's turned into an invincible Die Hard 4 style John McLane), giving us his corny one liners, and how did this happen, but Claire Redfield turns into a bumbling fool! Making ridiculous decisions, and making me wonder how she ever survived Raccoon City. The other characters are a mess, with disgustingly cliched acts- the fat, evil, weak politician who will take any devious route to survive- the crying annoying girl who's missing her mum- evil poorly voiced british guy (Albert Wesker anyone?)- the guy who makes ridiculous protests to zombie expert Leon. S. Kennedy.
Anyway, the list goes on, the CGI is a dream, the G- virus monster sucks big time.
Leon is cool, I think a film more focused around him alone would have been better. As another reviewer has mentioned, this seems like a long cutscene, and would have worked better.
I am so disappointed this was made into a film, but also that it is not the breakthrough R:E deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars needs to be more clear thats its a film not game, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought i was buying a game only to find it was the film i already had on dvd it was cheap enough mind but not knowing any difference between a game and film it took us all ages to figure out what was wrong when it wouldn.t play my son was not amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil - Degeneration, 14 Nov 2012
"Resident Evil: Degeneration" is a film that die-hard fans of the franchise are able to praise. Using the characters of Resident Evil 2, possibly the most highly ranked Resident Evil game; the film would give the fan a nostalgic feeling when watching it, especially now there is a film that ties in with the game, unlike Paul W. S. Anderson Hollywood take.

However not all die-hard fans may passively accept it, due to the lack of plot and lack of zombies, it may even leave you asking more questions, and the most obvious question would be "Why?". Those whom are unfamiliar with the franchise, this film is not for you as it would be too simplistic, illogical and boring.

There some flaws; plot holes, poor script and minor CGI defects but there is always room for improvement and the film shows that Capcom has the ability to provide an appropriate video game based film and learning from their flaws could conduct more successful ones in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The previous resident evil writer should take note!, 22 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. C. Thompson (Kelty, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Resident evil degeneration is set sometime after the events of resident evil 4 Game and is a prequel to the upcoming resident evil 5 released in march on 360 and ps3. while some people might say this is just a 90 min cut scene, i beg to differ. The animation is right up there with final fantasy advent children which came out a few years ago. While it might be more for die hard fans its still alot better than any of the live action resident evil. Mind you they had no input from capcom, this does. Id reccommend this to anyone that is a fan of zombie movies and the resident evil franchise. And i will be buying when its officially released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil Degeneration, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Christopher D. Keen "Chris" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a resident evil fan i had to buy this on dvd, and after watching it i thought it was really Great, the animation looks real. Well worth buying.
Awesome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing for Resident Evil fans and Zombie lovers!, 3 April 2009
Amazing animation and strong storyline packed with hilarious special features. A must have for Resident Evil fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident evil 4, 5 Aug 2009
By 
J. Vermeer "JJCP" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil: Degeneration [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Intresting change for this movie, as it is animated, but well done. Goood quality on blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars and you thought the other 3 were bad..., 12 Jan 2009
By 
What the hell Capcom?!?
I anticipated the forthcoming of this film for months with high hopes of a rebirth of the resident evil series seen as it was so ever more destroyed by those other 3 ridiculous films, and now this.
this is the final nail in the coffin for the franchise.
I was a huge fan of the series until it started to get stupid and bringing in meaningless character after meaningless character hell-bent on the same outcome which was to sell off the research of the virus.

This film proves that Capcom really have no idea what they are doing anymore and have reached their end with the story.
This film is basically like watching your favorite horse that you grew up with get flogged by your ex-best friend, the characters are wooden, emotionless and the animation is under-developed, every scene that should be in fast motion (such as running) is animated poorly or in slow motion to cover up the fact that the animators are incapable of creating fast moving biped actions.

As an end note...remember that horse you loved?

--Kev--
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars zombie fans AVOID resident evil fans AVOID AT ALL COST, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Joshua Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you value your time and money do not waste it on this badly acted, overly cliche'd, pointlessly animated disapointment that should never be refered to as 'fantastic'. i had high hopes for this movie that it could improve on various sequals to the first resident evil movie, but this clearly a desperation menouver for the failing movie franchise. i was brought in by the cgi zombie concept but after wasting nearly 2 hours of my precious time i am thoroughly outraged. being an animator myself the animators of this film clearly don know the meaning of the words LIP-SYNCING...that is a huge put off from the start and it carries on throughout. i won't go into detail with each character as they are all equally cleche'd, uninteresting and show no appeal whatsoever but the so called 'hero' of the film was one of the worst character's i have ever encountered LEON S. JACKSON, RESEMBLE A KEANU REEVES TRIBUTE ACT NEED I SAY MORE. so right about after the airplane crash filled with zombies at the beginning you are immediatly bored from there on it because the story goes nowhere i don't feel the need to spoil it for you for you but if you must know the airport crash is the only interesting thing in the whole film.
this movie is one of the biggest let downs i have ever bought. i would not suggest this to anyone. YOU WOULD FEEL BETTER AS THE UNDEAD THEN BUYING, RENTING OR WATCHING THIS 'THING' see i refuse to even call it a zombie film or a film in genral

1/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil: Degeneration [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews