Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG1 com[plete box set
Overall a great box set I'm really pleased I bought it. Series 1-8 are fantastic to watch, 9 and 10 are OK but not as good as the characters change.

Would have given 5 stars apart from the fact that from series 7 onwards they force you to watch 5 minutes of adverts at the start of each disk. If your watching 1 episode an evening it gets really annoying...
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by James Tiberious Kirk

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Unfortunately we had to return this item as there was no English subtitles as described! !
Not sure if it was just a dodgy batch, but I suppose we will never know.
Published 6 months ago by michelle


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG1 com[plete box set, 16 Feb 2009
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
Overall a great box set I'm really pleased I bought it. Series 1-8 are fantastic to watch, 9 and 10 are OK but not as good as the characters change.

Would have given 5 stars apart from the fact that from series 7 onwards they force you to watch 5 minutes of adverts at the start of each disk. If your watching 1 episode an evening it gets really annoying watching the same adverts again and again for each episode ( -you only have to watch them once if you watch the whole disk). Unbelievably half the adverts are for Stargate SG1 which is really bad product placement considering you have bought the entire box set?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but the casing could be a bit better, 22 Dec 2008
By 
M. Mokrysz (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
Bought myself this a few weeks ago. It was, in my opinion, well worth the money - I've always loved sg-1. Anyway, there's 2 episodes out of place in the box-set, but both are only 1 disc from where they should be, and both are standalone episodes - so no harm done by ignoring it.

The cases for the individual series are very robust, and the discs are held tightly in place so they don't fall out, but still easily removable. In this it's typical of most box sets then. The menus and such are good, etc etc - nothing but good things there really.

There are two slightly less good points, however. The first is that the actual black case containing the series & movies is perhaps not as fancy as the rest of the set, but bearing in mind this is likely facing the wall where it is in storage so that the discs face forwards, it doesn't matter. The other niggle is the copy protection (if playing on PC) & copyright notices. Whilst I don't atall mind the copy protection itself, it does create pauses when the intro movies to the disc's menus are loading, though that's to the order of 1/2 a second at most. The final thing is the copyright notices, which can be rather over the top and annoying.

However, I'd still say a good buy - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic journey throught the stargate!, 5 May 2009
By 
Jennifer Rydqvist (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
Stargate S.G. 1 The Complete Series (All seasons 1-10 and the 2 feature films!) has everything You ever could wish for.
The series takes You on a fantastic journey through the stargate.

I am totally satisfied with the picture and sound qualitiy of the DVD's.
It is a plus that there are more audio options and subtitle languages from the second season on. Ewen if we are always viewing the episodes in English it helps with occasional subtitles for the very special vocabulary involved (English is not our native language).
From the third season on there are Special Features which I think are excellent.

The packinging is simpel, nothing fancy, but practical.
Why pay the double amount of money only because of some gold glimmering packaging and in my opinion a more difficult way of storing the DVD's in several "book"s?
The importing thing is the series itself!

The only thing that is missing is a booklet containing all episode lists,
but there are lots of nice books on that subject with colour pictures, episode guides and interviews of the cast and crew.
As the DVD box was not so extremly expansive as other collections You can afford to buy lots of nice books seperately!
Stargate S.G. 1 - The Complete Series is a bargain,
grabb it while You can and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set! And a bargain as well., 30 Sep 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic boxset. Stargate SG1, while not the longest continual running Sci-Fi (that honour belongs to Doctor Who), it is still an excellent television show. Season 7 was probably my favourite season out of all of them. And it was a bargain too, at least when I bought the boxset. It was on special offer when I bought it, I managed to get the whole of the SG1 series for 80! Probably the best 80 I ever spent. Too bad the price is back to normal now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin..., 18 Dec 2008
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
This review is primarily going to discuss the physical box set rather than the show. If you want to know more about the show, I suggest you check out the individual season reviews, of which there are plenty here on Amazon.

In terms of the physical product, it's going to depend what you want out of an SG1 box set. If you're simply looking for the cheapest way to get all 10 seasons and the 2 movies, this is currently the best deal around. It works out at about 14 per season, which is very reasonable considering the individual seasons cost 60+ when they were first released; you also get the two SG1 movies for free which is never a bad thing.

However, if you're looking for an all singing, all dancing, limited edition box set, this probably isn't for you. Whilst there's nothing distinctly wrong with the box itself, I think they could have perhaps made a bigger deal of presenting the set with a little more flair. The box itself doesn't have a back/front (depending which way you look at it), so would be very easy to tip the individual seasons all over the floor if you pick it up awkwardly, but it also means you can get at each of the seasons without having to take the whole thing off your shelf. Whether the trade off is a good or bad thing is up to the individual. The seasons themselves are presented in fairly typical, plastic 6 disc containers. The discs are secure (though there was one loose disc), so I don't foresee any major problems in the future.

I own a lot of box sets, and to be honest I'm a little torn about this set. On one hand, it's a little too basic for my tastes, which is somewhat disappointing; I would have liked something a bit flashier to put on my shelf. However, I know from first hand experience that when it comes to actually watching the DVDs, having a box set that lets you extract the discs with as little fuss as possible is always a god send.

This set delivers everything it promises (namely 10 seasons of SG1), so it's really down to whether you like the presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, must buy, 31 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
9035 Minutes of bliss ..
The whole amazing series and it will only take you 6.25 days of 24hour watching to finish.
Each season is in a large sturdy case, with the 2 films in slimline cases.
There doesn't seem to be as many special features as if you bought the individual seasons,
but its a fraction of the price.
Every episode & the 2 films.
If you want all of Stargate buy this .... I got it for only 89 .. a complete bargain!
(The price does vary, so keep an eye out and get a bargain)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargatebox set, 1 Nov 2009
By 
A. C. Rattray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent series at the best price found yet. This is great for those that like Sci-fi and enjoy guessing what could happen next. I enjoyed watching the entire box set through even those that I have seen in the past to make sure nothing was missed. A definate must have at Xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Jan 2014
Unfortunately we had to return this item as there was no English subtitles as described! !
Not sure if it was just a dodgy batch, but I suppose we will never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, poorly presented, 1 Jan 2011
By 
Russ HP (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute must for fans of the genre. Even though I watched them all first time round on TV it hasn't hampered the fun of re-watching them all again.

This product is let down by the poor boxset packaging, lack of subtitles on season 1, and very clunky and frustrating menu's on the other seasons. However - had I known it still wouldn't have put me off the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every Penny, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD] (DVD)
What a great buy, I was always an SG fan and it was just as good the second time around. If I'm honest it gets a little samey towards the end but still gr8 to watch. A must have for any Sci-Fi fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1 - Season 1-10 - Complete/The Ark Of Truth/Continuum [DVD]
Used & New from: 80.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews