Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin collection from the bad man who makes you feel good
I first saw GT and TD live in Leeds when they supported the Stones and they rocked like the pros they are. This album captures the essence of the man and his band and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The only thing you can do to enhance the experience is to go and see them live 'cos that is when you can appreciate George and the band at their supreme best. I last saw...
Published on 18 April 2002 by charjenny@ccrookall.fsnet.co.uk

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
Maybe it's just because I'm used to the originals, but George Thorogood's abilities as a bluesman (or a slide guitar player) don't impress me.
To me, Elmore James did a considerably more convincing Elmore James, but there is no doubting that Thorogood rocks, in a meat-and-potatoes kind of way, and some of the originals on this extensive compilation album, such as "If...
Published on 18 April 2003 by Docendo Discimus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin collection from the bad man who makes you feel good, 18 April 2002
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
I first saw GT and TD live in Leeds when they supported the Stones and they rocked like the pros they are. This album captures the essence of the man and his band and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The only thing you can do to enhance the experience is to go and see them live 'cos that is when you can appreciate George and the band at their supreme best. I last saw them at the Forum in Camden Town and they enjoyed the gig as much as the extatic crowd.
This album is as diverse as you can get! From the bluesy 'The Sky is Cryin' to the thumping, humping beet of 'Bottom of the Sea' (my favourite track). At every turn you find a gem! Gearjammer is one I've never heard live but what a track!! 'Shake Your Moneymaker' is a much recorded number but George breathes fresh life into it. 'Johnny B Goode' is owned by one of George's major influences, Chuck Berry, and wouldn't Chuck be pleased with this kickin' version.
Get this album but, most importantly, get a ticket to his next gig but be quick 'cos this man may not be mainstream but he sells out in a blink!!He proves your never too old to rock and roll!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy compilation and a damn good listen!, 14 Jan 2002
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
I usually avoid compilations as I prefer to hear an artist's work in the original album context. However, every so often a compilation comes along which so perfectly captures what an artist is all about and which offers such a comprehensive representative sample of the artist's music that it's hard to resist. Such a release is 'Anthology' by George Thorogood & The Destroyers.
For those of you not familiar with GT & The Destroyers, this is the perfect introduction. These two discs include 30 tracks spanning their entire career to date with tracks off of every release, even the live albums. The track selection on compilations is usually the source of most disagreement among fans, as the compilers can never please everyone. However, Anthology is a very worthy effort in this respect, including both 'the hits' and classic album tracks, even one rarity. I don't think Thoroogood fans new and old will have much beef over this one.
Check this out - it's as definitive a musical statement as you will ever hear from a band who still refuse to compromise and bow down to fashion. This is 100%, pure, unfettered, buckle-yer-seatbelt rock'n'roll. It is a joy to behold. Every home should have one......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD with George Thorogood, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Frank Normann "vejlefan" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
I bought this cd, a double cd, and it is good rock'n roll, I can reccomend George Thorogood very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George thourghly good!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (MP3 Download)
What an album, I dithered for a while before I bought it and wow it was an instant hit for me. The rock and roll blues can't help but tap your feet to just about all the tracks. Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Thorogood, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (MP3 Download)
Brilliant! Have discovered this artist after seeing him perform on a old grey whistle test show from the seventies on the BBC,didnt even know he existed until then.He plays my kinda music,just wish he was home based, I would love to go to a
live show........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome George, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
I've seen George live twice now and this album sums up his music to me ,'Lets stick together' and 'Johnny be good' are two of the best versions I have ever heard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its all here., 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (MP3 Download)
For fans of George then its all the stuff you want. For fans of good rock and roll well played and enjoyed, treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Class, 28 July 2001
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This album really is very good indeed. It comprises every single one of George's songs and many special treats such as Johnny B Goode. The songs vary from blues to metal and Bad To The Bone is the best of these consisting of many instruments such as guitar, drums, saxophones, trumpets and many more. A must album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 cds of classic rock n roll, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
If you like down and dirty rock n roll this cd is for you it is a classic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 18 April 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Maybe it's just because I'm used to the originals, but George Thorogood's abilities as a bluesman (or a slide guitar player) don't impress me.
To me, Elmore James did a considerably more convincing Elmore James, but there is no doubting that Thorogood rocks, in a meat-and-potatoes kind of way, and some of the originals on this extensive compilation album, such as "If You Don't Start Drinkin'", "Move It On Over" and "I Drink Alone" are fun, catchy rockers.
The album may be too long for the casual fan (and the tempo and the approach barely changes through all thirty songs), but there is no denying that "Anthology" is a very comprehensive overview of the Delaware-born guitarist's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthology
Anthology by George Thorogood & The Destroyers
Buy MP3 Album£9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews