Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mission (Original Score)
For anyone who has seen the movie, the Original Score will bring scenes in it vividly to mind. To anyone who has not seen the movie, just sit back and enjoy the magnificent creativity of Ennio Morricone's music. The tracks range from the beautiful to the tragic. Some inspire tears, some inspire fears, but all inspire awe. This is a must CD for all lovers of good music and...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by Gordon Richard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful flute
I bought this for a friend, only listened to some of the music on iplayer. It's one of those CDs where there is one very good - must have it - track, and the rest are really quite good too.
Published 15 months ago by AE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mission (Original Score), 14 Jan 2011
By 
Gordon Richard (Jersey Channel Islands U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone who has seen the movie, the Original Score will bring scenes in it vividly to mind. To anyone who has not seen the movie, just sit back and enjoy the magnificent creativity of Ennio Morricone's music. The tracks range from the beautiful to the tragic. Some inspire tears, some inspire fears, but all inspire awe. This is a must CD for all lovers of good music and I defy anyone not to be totally moved by the two versions of Gabriel's Oboe with that haunting theme which then runs through the rest of the score. Buy it people, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very emotional, 10 Nov 2002
By A Customer
I may be in a minority, and judging by previous reviews, I am. But I heard this soundtrack when it was first released before I saw the film. Suffice to say that hearing the music without a reference to the actors in the film, I feel that the music could stand alone for its evocative use of tone and mood. In plain english it makes me cry. So I would suggest that anyone who doesn't have this in their collection should buy it post haste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, powerful, spectacular. A true masterpiece., 10 April 2001
By A Customer
If you have not seen the mission, see it. Then buy this album, don't worry about hearing it first, just buy it. The film will reduce most people to tears and the music did the same for me. Not because of the film itself, but the emotion of the music as a seperate entity form the film is so powerful, it will mean something different to everyone and explores the feelings of the listener. This is a must have recording and it is, in my opinion, probably the best soundtrack recorded. It is now over a decade old and still brilliant, truly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for True Music Lovers, 6 Sep 2001
By 
Mrs. A. Storey (Durham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone who listens to this album cannot fail to be moved by it's brilliance. There are some striking pieces which almost reduce the listner to tears -particularly Gabriel's Oboe and Falls. A truly passionate recording which depending on your mood when you listen to it will leave you feeling uplifted or melancholy.Either way, a must have for true music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly music!, 18 Jun 2010
By 
What can I add, nothing really, other than the most beautiful, evocative inspiring music I have heard
on a soundtrack - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arguably the finest film score ever written, and certainly the high-point of Morricone's illustrious and prolific career. Lyrical and haunting, and infinitely powerful in its simplicity and directness this stands alone as a great piece of music fit to to be judged alongside the classical world's greatest composers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 22 Dec 2007
By 
G. Peters (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The most beutifull, emotional music score ever written!

This amazing music score has it all, it is extremely moving and powerfull, and the mood suits the film perfectly. The actual film is excellent but there's no doubt that the movie would not be as good without Morricone's masterpiece. How it never won an oscar for Original Music Score i'll never know.

10/10 !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply emotional music, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew Moore "lord derfel cadarn" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whether you've seen the film or not, this music is sure to please. The emotions contained in this soundtrack are indescribable; sad, happy, melancholic, uplifting... the words do not do justice to this masterpiece. The music does not need the imagery of the film so can be listened to in its own right.
Switch off the lights, turn up the volume and enjoy. This album is a sheer joy, no matter what mood you are in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a powerful and passionate recording, 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This soundtrack is without doubt one of the most powerful and passionate pieces I have heard. Having seen the film, owning the soundtrack was a must-do. The music is so passionate it almost moves one to tears of sheer joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 28 April 2002
Gabriel's oboe is one of the most beautiful, haunting melodies you will ever here. It's the pinnacle of a wonderful soundtrack which fulfils the onerous task of matching the film's superb scenic backdrops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews