Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, two masters working in perfect harmony!
An excellent CD all round, from the swing of "It don't mean a thing" to the slow and melancholy "Solitude". This is a program of Duke Ellington tracks, brought to magnificent life by the great Satchmo, backed by members of his All Stars and Duke Elligton himself on Piano. Look out for an amazing rendition of "Mood Indigo" with an amazing...
Published on 2 Oct 2001

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Great Mis-match
Perhaps not a good idea to put these two giants of jazz together.
Whilst it's always worth listening to them the whole is less than the sum of the parts. Armstrong seems strangely inhibited in Duke's company but the big plus for me is the sublime playing of Barney Bigard.
Published 23 months ago by RAZZAMAJAZZ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, two masters working in perfect harmony!, 2 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent CD all round, from the swing of "It don't mean a thing" to the slow and melancholy "Solitude". This is a program of Duke Ellington tracks, brought to magnificent life by the great Satchmo, backed by members of his All Stars and Duke Elligton himself on Piano. Look out for an amazing rendition of "Mood Indigo" with an amazing vocal from Louis. A must for all fans of these two masters of Jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louis and Duke , the summit, 19 Dec 2005
By A Customer
In this CD, these two music giants have produced a wealth of music for us to enjoy for decades to come and probably for ever. The harmoney between them was natural and smooth. Remember, they recorded it in early sixties without a good deal of rehearsal, both were in New York after a long tours, especially Louis who has just ended an international tour to Europe and africa. It was a rare opportunity for them to meet and play together what I call super jazz like Dukes'place, cotton tail, mood indigo, Azelea. Louis most charming voice and trumpet and Dukes'piano were a perfect combination It is an endless enjoyment to listen to them playing together.I do recommend this CD for everyone who love jazz. Thanks to you Amazon for giving me the opportunity to buy a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Louis and Duke-what a combination!,, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD issue is superior to the original LP issues as it made me change my mind about a couple of things,originally I thought that barney bigard on Clarinet sounded too weak behind the powerful Louis and Trummy young on trumpet and Trombone respectively,but here he is exactly right,although not quite at his best.Louis and Duke are magnificent and this is probably Danny barcelona's best session, to me he was the weakest of all the All Stars drummers.
All in all, a very worthwhile issue and the extras are interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Don't get no better than this!!!, 8 April 2012
Dem Boys Deh Swing Yeah!!!..." The Great Summit ", what an apt title!!!... They take you to the top and don't EVER stop!!!...Two Maestro's showing you how to do it and having a blast doin' it!!! For my money, one of the Greatest pieces of music I've ever heard!!!...You can't learn this stuff, yer either "Is you Is or Is you Ain't"!!!...ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well I guess I'm just a lucky so and so, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Oh the splendid remedy for the wintry period, those Sunday afternoons when the rain falls and the mind's a blank. Creates a certain mood for me, and it's the most splendid mood indigo I can possibly comprehend. They can take me down to Duke's place any day of the week come to that, and to be able to turn to these two beauts whenever the chips are down, 'Oh that's when I guess I'm just a lucky so and so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A meeting of the Gods ..., 27 July 2013
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Recorded over a two day session in April 1961 this album has a relaxed, good natured charm that is all but irresistible. Like the records that Armstrong put out duetting with Ella Fitzgerald, it sounds exactly as you might expect it to. The music of New Orleans meeting the urbanity of the Dukes up -town swing and poise.Ellington supplies piano and the tunes, Armstrong croons and trumpets as only he can whilst the All Stars, particularly the wonderful Barney Bigard on clarinet and Trummy Young on trombone provide suitably lively solos when required. It is quite amazing how the two legends mesh together. The result is a brilliantly swinging little affair whose focus is on entertainment. Nothing ground breaking or revelatory occurs but that was never the point. It is almost too easy to take for granted what a real pleasure this set is. Listen to the musical interplay on 'The Mooche', Armstrongs vocals on ' I Got it Bad (And That Ain't Good)' and the Dukes superbly understated pianism on 'In A Mellow Tone' just get a feel for how great this project is in everyway.

The remastering and sleeve notes help bring what is a great set even more to life,so all in all a very worthwhile project. Fave track? too many to mention, but 'Solitude' with a truly moving vocal and beautifully constructed trumpet solo from a disconsolate Armstrong is a beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars louis, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a fantastic cd they sound like they really had fun recording it once you hear it the music gets inside your head
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Greats Together, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been a bit suspicious of recording sessions bringing two stylistically different jazz greats together - records with titles like Monk meets Fats ( not that this was ever done) and I never really thought that the Duke meets Mingus recordings really worked. As a result I was wary of buying these recording sessions when Louis Armstrong's All Star band, with Ellington on piano, played the Duke's compositions. But how wrong I was. These two grey entertainers and two great musicians obviously got along perfectly and the Armstrong band really does do justice to the Duke's music. Trummy Young is great on trombone and Pops sings beautifully and of course is sublime on the trumpet. A wonderful and enjoyable disc, pure heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Great Mis-match, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps not a good idea to put these two giants of jazz together.
Whilst it's always worth listening to them the whole is less than the sum of the parts. Armstrong seems strangely inhibited in Duke's company but the big plus for me is the sublime playing of Barney Bigard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Summit - The Master Tapes
The Great Summit - The Master Tapes by Duke Ellington & Louis Armstrong
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews