Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous clock radio
This is a very smart, neat and easy to use clock radio. The DAB reception is very good and despite its small size, the speaker delivers excellent depth of tone whether listening to spoken word, pop or classical music. It is very easy to use, unlike some DAB clock radios, has two alarms so you can set say a weekday alarm and a weekend alarm separately or a one-off. The...
Published on 12 Jan 2009 by Caroline Hush

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late night lights
Radio is great and does exactly what it says on the box, and more.

One problem - and this may not bother all of you - is that the backlight lights up to full glare, as if somebody has pressed a button, when the thing receives a time signal. So at maybe 1 a.m., or maybe 2 or 3 a.m. don't worry that God's angels have come to collect you as the room is bathed in a...
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by P. Radcliffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous clock radio, 12 Jan 2009
By 
Caroline Hush (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
This is a very smart, neat and easy to use clock radio. The DAB reception is very good and despite its small size, the speaker delivers excellent depth of tone whether listening to spoken word, pop or classical music. It is very easy to use, unlike some DAB clock radios, has two alarms so you can set say a weekday alarm and a weekend alarm separately or a one-off. The display goes from very bright down to practically zero (there's a small knob on the underside) so you can customize it to your own requirements.

I read loads of reviews, looked at several different makes in a shop and even bought another brand which I sent back as the sound quality was so poor, and I can only say that in my opinion this is the best of its kind, well worth the extra money AND this has eco features so I'm helping the planet too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
I bought this after reading the reviews of this product against other similar items. The price did seem high but I have no regrets; this really is an excellent product. It arrived two days after ordering and it looks and sounds good. The instructions are easy to follow and the alarm/snooze/sleep features work reliably. I would not hesitate to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late night lights, 15 Sep 2009
By 
P. Radcliffe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
Radio is great and does exactly what it says on the box, and more.

One problem - and this may not bother all of you - is that the backlight lights up to full glare, as if somebody has pressed a button, when the thing receives a time signal. So at maybe 1 a.m., or maybe 2 or 3 a.m. don't worry that God's angels have come to collect you as the room is bathed in a beautiful blue glow, it's just your radio.

Spoke to Roberts: "oh it does that" the engineer said. It's a shame it's not on the advertised features since I probably would have bought a different radio,

The sound quality is good, and the set up and use is easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat radio with excellent sound quality, 12 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
This may not be the cheapest alarm clock radio on the market, but it is worth the extra money. The radio has a neat and uncomplicated design with an uncluttered display which always defaults to showing the time. The figures are clear and the brightness of the display is not too intrusive, even when set on the highest setting (a dimmer under the clock alows adjustment of the brightness if necessary). Set-up is very straight forward with automatic scanning of the radio stations once the radio is plugged in. Instructions detailing the various funtions are clear and easy to follow. The radio has a dual alarm which is easy to set. There is the capacity of presetting 10 radio stations, 5 for FM and 5 for DAB. This is not as many as some other clock radios, but because scanning for the other stations is easy to do, this is not a major problem. For me, the biggest selling point is the impressive sound quality. Unlike some of the cheaper clock radios which sound thin and tinny, the sound quality on this radio is excellent. The radio has a clear rich tone, excellent for listening to either speach or music. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts have got this one right., 22 Feb 2009
By 
Martin (UK, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
After reading many reviews I bought this radio alarm. Good sound, a dimmer that works and no alarms going off at midnight. Roberts have learnt from the other companies' mistakes. I have had other radio alarms and would have no hesitation in having this one again.
One downside. The backlight suddenly goes up to full brightness for 1 minute at 1am. I checked with Roberts who advised that 'The system is being automatically checked by the DAB signal for accuracy and unfortunately there is no adjustment and not a fault'.
Possible all dab radios do this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alarm watch!, 6 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
Great radio. Easy to set up and good tone. Effective dimmer. Small and neat. Guess the alarm is easy too if you want to get up at same time Mon -Fri, or at different time at w/e. But shift workers, part time workers or retired people beware. Although you can set alarm to go of on a single day, once you switch it off in the morning the setting is lost, so you need to go through a tiresome resetting for the next time you want to use the alarm. Either that, or set it up for weekdays and quickly switch it off if you don't need to get up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irritating alarm clock which broke after 18 months, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
Poor product. It completely stopped working after 18 months.

Prior to that it worked ok if you want to wake up at the same time every day, but if you just want to set the alarm for the next day it is an absolute nightmare. You have to go through a laborious process of what seems like an endless series of button clicks. This includes setting the date that you want the alarm to go off so you can't just select, for example, 7am like you would on a normal alarm clock and if you can't remember what date it is when you set the alarm you are pretty screwed. Not what you want when tired and just wanting to set the alarm quickly and put your head down.

Also, if you want to change the time the alarm goes off during the night (for example if you haven't been able to get to sleep and want to wake up a bit later than you originally planned), you have to turn the whole thing on, which turns the radio on and wakes your partner up! Another incredibly poor piece of design for an alarm clock.

Another mild irratation is that although you can dim the display (a good feature to have and one of the reasons why I shelled out 70 on this piece of junk in the first place), the whole display completely lights up really brightly at various times during the night, usually on the hour in the small hours (1am, 2am, 3am etc). Didn't particularly bother me but I imagine it would wake some very light sleepers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance but................, 5 Feb 2010
By 
C. J. Corby (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
This clock radio replaced my last one which only had FM but was always accurate to the second as it took its signal from the MSF signal. Thus setting it to come on at 8am each day on Radio Four meant that at exactly 8am the news would start. This radio does not appear to be capable of decoding seconds so that when it is first set it will set the time but the minute could be anywhere between 0-59 seconds and will change eaxctly a minute after it is set thus the radio can be up to 59 seconds out which you may care about..... or not as the case may be. Phoned the help line and the engineer told me that this radio gets its signal from the DAB information so it will not be accurate to the second. How come then that my other DAB radio, an Intempo, does keep time to the second? No idea he said as all DAB radios use the same chip! Finally he said that the radio is not fit for my purpose and I should return it for a refund! Hmmm! Incidentally my radio does not light up the room in the middle of the night at 1am or 2am (haven't checked 3am or 4am but I don't think it does) as it checks the DAB time signal as others have reported.....
I have not returned it as I have found a bit of a work around to the fault (or you could set it for 7.59am I hear you say..) but it is too wordy to put on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the whole a good radio, 14 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
I have no problems with reception, DAB or FM, from the corded aerial.
The sound, and build quality is good.
I have two complaints;
1) It takes 5 button presses to set the sleep timer. My previous experience of clock radios (Sonys) were much simpler.
2) Although there is a dimmer to adjust the brightness of the display, about 2 AM the display lights up full strength, when it recieve a time signal update.
But on the whole, this is a very nice clock radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One small annoyance, 17 May 2009
By 
A. Ryan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts Ecologic 5 DAB/FM RDS digital clock radio with low poer consumption (Electronics)
Quite nice for a bedside radio. DImmer thingy dial seems to work ( bright displays seem to be an annoyance with new alarm clocks for some reason ) The DAB reception with the small incuded antenna is variable in my house but that is the same for all DAB radios where I live.

One tiny annoyance is that, although there is a line-in socket so you can connect an mp3 player to it, if you fall asleep with the ipod connected, the alarm and the clock functions dont work ( ie it wont wake you up!) until you disconnect the line-in cable. I dont understand why they made it like this but the manual says thats how it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews