Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never Let Me Down
Overall as a compilation with a time period (80-87) this Bowie CD does a very good job. While front-loaded - I think that the first three tracks are all UK #1 hits - it covers most of his best 80s singles and collaborations. That's not to say this is his best work. The CD is really just a singles collection nothing more, which is a shame to miss out stuff like 'Teenage...
Published on 18 Dec 2007 by The Chad Who Loved Me

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars David Bowie - the Best of 1980/1987: CD +DVD
Certainly the most commercial, if not the most original, part of his career, but still not bad, all the same. Most of the tracks that are contained on this album are not, what I would class, as classic Bowie. However, there are still some gems included here: namely those tracks off "Scary Monsters and Super Creeps" - "Ashes to Ashes", "Fashion" and "Up The Hill Backwards"...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by John Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never Let Me Down, 18 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
Overall as a compilation with a time period (80-87) this Bowie CD does a very good job. While front-loaded - I think that the first three tracks are all UK #1 hits - it covers most of his best 80s singles and collaborations. That's not to say this is his best work. The CD is really just a singles collection nothing more, which is a shame to miss out stuff like 'Teenage Wildlife'. The CD is a bit of a waste of space for owners of 'The Platinum Collection' released a couple of years before. Its invaluable for owners of just '69/74' and/or '74/79' and comes with a fan-bait DVD too.

This brief review is actually only to criticise the omission of 'Never Let Me Down'. It's easily the strongest of the three singles from the 1987 album. It is all well and good for the CD to mop up soundtrack rarities and collaborations (no 'Dancing in the Street' thankfully). However, I would have chosen 'Never Let Me Down' over 'Time Will Crawl' and 'Day In-Day Out' - or dropped something else. The omission seems a shame as this CD generally manages to pick the decades highlights ('Cat People', 'Loving the Alien') and glossing over lowlights ('Tonight').

All I'm saying is that it's a lost opportunity, and it could have saved a few people buying one of Bowie's worst albums. I suppose this review is just knit-picking, as all-in-all, '80/87' a very good summary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars David Bowie - the Best of 1980/1987: CD +DVD, 1 Feb 2009
By 
John Barber (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
Certainly the most commercial, if not the most original, part of his career, but still not bad, all the same. Most of the tracks that are contained on this album are not, what I would class, as classic Bowie. However, there are still some gems included here: namely those tracks off "Scary Monsters and Super Creeps" - "Ashes to Ashes", "Fashion" and "Up The Hill Backwards" - and "Let's Dance" - "Let's Dance", "China Girl" and "Cat People". The DVD isn't too bad, either. Good value too, if all you really want is the hit singles, of the period in question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great songs, 28 July 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
Bowie made surprisingly varied music in what is not considered to be his most innovative period. Still there's no denying that many of these tracks were huge hits and some of them have stood the test of time quite well. Let's Dance, Modern Love and China Girl are amongst his biggest hits but not too impressive musically, in my opinion. Ashes To Ashes references his Space Oddity hit of 1969 and still sounds good today, whilst the collaboration with Queen: Under Pressure, is a killer funk number with strong hooks. Scary Monsters is an appealing slice of hard rock Tracks that I consider a bit lukewarm include the music hall Alabama Song, the tepid synth ditty Cat People, Absolute Beginners and Day In Day Out. On the other hand, Blue Jean is a sharp little pop number and Fashion is a brilliant dancefloor stomp. There are interesting remixes of some of the aforementioned tracks, but the worst omission is This Is Not America, a stylish collaboration with the Pat Metheny Group. There are plenty of other compilations that include the better tracks of Bowie in this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An attractive package but who needs to buy it?, 16 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
On paper this is a very attractive and well put together compilation package, consisting of a CD/DVD of more or less excellent music & video's from his 1980's period, so this should really be a five star effort. However, who really needs to buy this, because if you're a diehard fan, then you'll already own the superb 'The Platinum Collection', plus the 'Best Of Bowie' DVD which renders this pretty pointless, hence dropping a star. Also, I can't see this appealing to the casual fan either, as it's too much of a concentrated 80's product. It would have been a different story of course, if this had been released before 'The Platinum Collection' which would render this bl**dy essential, plus at that stage, they wouldn't have felt the need to tag on the DVD.

So to sum up, this is only a really worthwhile purchase, if you're a completist, because of the 'Under Pressure', 'The Drowned Girl' and 'When The Wind Blows' videos which are not available on the 'Best Of Bowie' DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to this period and useful anyway, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Justin (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
I bought this when I was getting into Bowie a couple of months ago and has been a useful introduction to this period and it presents the decade in a positive way if you want to avoid certain albums from this era. Now, I'm not going to critisize this material for being commercial and not influential as I don't have a problem with that; what is important to me is the songs and they are as strong as ever. However, whilst Day-In-Day-Out and Underground are alright, the 80s production on these does detract some of the character. At least it doesn't include any of the reggae songs from Tonight!

The CD includes the big hits and many useful non-studio album songs mainly from soundtracks. Now, this package has been getting a bit of stick from collectors because they already have the same CD in the The Platinum Collection but I have no desire to buy that anyway so this CD is very useful for its single versions and aforementioned soundtrack songs so you don't have to buy all the individual albums they came from. The DVD is also a treat and an interesting watch with the addition of 3 previously unreleased videos for Drowned Girl, Where The Wind Blows and Under Pressure. Whether you buy this or not I highly recommend the Best Of Bowie 2xDVD Set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 stars for the DVD, 27 April 2007
By 
C. A. Parker "Chris Parker" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
Ok, for the record, I am huge Bowie fan, but as far as I can see the only reason for buying this is the DVD which includes videos which did not appear on the Best of Bowie DVD. As most fans know, the 80s were a mixed period for Bowie starting with the last of his RCA albums, Scary Monsters which included 2 huge singles and 2 minor hits. Alas artistically, if not commercialy, this was to be the last good Bowie album for a number of years.
Then came Let's Dance, that sold by the bucket load, which catapulted Bowie into a huge mainstream artist, something he had not was not used to. He tried to repeat the formula with Tonight and Never Let Me Down (Generally regarded by fans, and himself, as his worst album). This album contains the 4 singles from Scary Monsters, 3 from Lets Dance, 2 each from the other albums, various songs from soundtracks and collaborations, and a couple of oddities. I am assuming the CD is the same as the one in the The Platinum Collection although Amazon lists it with having one less track (This is not America is missing off there track listing). So if you own the The Platinum Collection you already have a copy of all tracks, and if you are a fan rather than a casual listener then chances are you have all theses many times over. So is it worth paying [...]for the DVD?.
Most of the songs on he DVD are included on Best of Bowie DVD, so if you own that then you are basically paying for 3 Videos. I remember in the 80 paying [...] for the Video EP containing the 3 singles from the Lets dance album so I guess [...] aint that bad. Its a shame that the 1980 Space Oddity track and Video could not have been included, that would have got it another star.
Will be interesting to see if they re release The Best of David Bowie 1969-1974 and The Best of David Bowie 1975-1979 with a DVD and what (if any) unreleased videos are included (There's a Promo for Ziggy which has not yet appeared on DVD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cat People original version, 2 April 2013
By 
C. J. Walker (U K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
Just like to add that the version of Cat People(putting out the fire) is the original from the film CAT PEOPLE and not the inferior version on Lets Dance,shame they couldn't have found a better video than using the Lets dance version.
It's a shame they couldn't have extended this release to 1989 and included tracks from TIN MACHINE.I agree one fault was not including" Never let me down" and where is "Dancing in the street" a No1 hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again, 16 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. West "mwest653" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
Yet another Bowie compilation just when you thought it would be save to go back in the water due to Bowies health , so instead of a new album we get retread after retread.There now is 4 of these collections about not counting re-realises and anniversery issues of classic albums . I bought this as I have been a Bowie fan for over 30 years and there were 3 videos that I never had , but why couldn`t they put this on the Best of Bowie?

The music is Very good as usual although not his best apart from the Scary Monsters stuff and his voice on The Drowning Girl is absolutely brilliant.

As another reviewer mentioned how about Space Oddity 1980, and how about the Dunstable version of the Santa Monica video clip Ziggy Stardust ?

Lets have something original stuff for a change like some clips from Saturday Night Live, Kenny Everett,TOTP etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zowie Bowie, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
If you like Bowie then this is right up your street. No need to buy 4 or 5 albums for the tracks you want to hear as they are all on this CD.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainty some of his best tracks, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of 1980/1987 (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD for anyone who wants to explore Bowie's back catalogue with influence of dance music which is much inspired by Nile Rodgers. A must and at great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of 1980/1987
The Best Of 1980/1987 by David Bowie
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews