Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickin' up every stitch
When I was 18, which was about the third summer of love (1990) I had a copy of the 'Record Collector' magazine and had read about Donovan...one day (one of the hottest days that year) Radio one were playing 'Hot Summer' tracks and I heard this song that was so damn catchy - I turned to my dad and said that's Donovan even though I'd never heard this song before...turned...
Published on 16 Oct 2004 by MT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I hadn't listened to Donovan for years. Some of these are still lovely but some haven't aged well. I've deleted some from my MP3.
Published 9 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickin' up every stitch, 16 Oct 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I was 18, which was about the third summer of love (1990) I had a copy of the 'Record Collector' magazine and had read about Donovan...one day (one of the hottest days that year) Radio one were playing 'Hot Summer' tracks and I heard this song that was so damn catchy - I turned to my dad and said that's Donovan even though I'd never heard this song before...turned out it was 'Sunshine Superman' the first track on this album. I knew I'd love Donovan after that.
During the 60's under the production of Micky Most, Donovan produced some of his greatest music, everything from Dylanesque folk to Beatles backed tracks such as Mellow Yellow. This album concentrates on Donovans electric heyday 66-69. You won't hear all of Donovans styles on this album (folk and jazz to name a few) but you will hear some of the gentlest, insightful tunes ever written - just listen to 'Happiness Runs' which is like a childrens nursery rhyme but somehow manages to transcend generations and be relevant on many levels - 'Happiness runs in a circular emotion, thought is but a little boat upon the sea.. Happiness Runs Happiness Runs...' This is a great representation of Donovans heyday but by no means is a definitive collection. Thankfully though all the songs are representative of Donovans best albums of the 60's except the playfull and acoustic 1967 set 'Donovan in Concert' which spins a whole new take on these songs.
Start here though and if you like what you hear then there is better to come on the American imports of Donovans 1966 and 1967 albums 'Sunshine Superman' and 'Mellow Yellow'...Don't waste your time with the UK version of 'Sunshine Superman' which for legal reasons is an abridged version of the first two albums and misses some great tracks from the full albums.
To sum up.. you can hear the embodiment of the 60's in this album, you really can hear the innocence in his voice..not fake and certainly not cashing in (there is a lot of debate about whether Donovans 'Sunshine Superman' single or the Byrds 'Eight Miles High' was the first Pyschedelic single).
If you long for a better place when you shut your eyes then this is a good starting place...but that is what it is, a starting place that isn't represntative of all of Donovans styles. Hey, you have to start someplace though and it's where I started my long appreciation of this mans brilliance.
I hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Fantastic, 29 Jan 2001
The most outstanding aspect's of this album are probably the the fantastic backing vocals that always feature in Donovan's studio work coupled with the top class pop production of Micky Most and the variety of styles which feature on this title, Donovan travles from his folk roots through to psycodelic funk and soul. This album provides a good taste of Donovan's mellow fantastic song Stylings, a good starting point for any budding fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine Superman !, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All Donovans great hit records from the sixties in one collection ! UK's answer to Dylan and a hippy songwriting legend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This cd is great, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this cd it plays well and DONOVAN sings well and his songs are brilliant,great cd to buy also arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
What more can I say. Donovan's music, style and clarity shines through. One of the best from the sixties and a thoroughly nice chap as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a blast from the past, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
Oh to be 16 again! Well remembered songs and also not so well known. I need to check other albums with a view to more downloads. Lovely to relax to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
I hadn't listened to Donovan for years. Some of these are still lovely but some haven't aged well. I've deleted some from my MP3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It! what a bargain., 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this on the first play,some nice rarities and surprises along with the expected hits.
As a T.Rex fan,you can clearly see the influence Donovan had on Bolan's early work.
What is such a nice surprise, is the inclusion of tracks previously unavailable in the UK.
So if you think you know all there is to know about this influential artist,check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mellow side of the 60s, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
The 60s had a great variety of performers and Song Styles.

Donovan is in a class of his own, reflective and captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks - not so great versions, 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
Reading down the list of tracks on this album, anyone who wants a representative starting point for Donovan's music must think they've hit it all in one album. Most of the great Donovan classics are here and, to be honest, for a 20-track selection I think they've got it just right.

But beware! These are not all the original versions. Listen on other albums to the essentially solo wistful acoustic classics like Colours and Catch The Wind. Now listen to them on this album. It may be Donovan's voice, but what's happened to the tempo, where did the backing musicians and voices come from, what are all these other instruments? These are most definitely NOT what made Donovan in the 60s. If you've never heard the originals then fine, plunge right in. You won't know what you're missing. But if you're expecting to hear Donovan as he was when he cut these tracks first time around, you'll hardly recognise them.

I haven't listened to every track sample here. I don't know whether they are all affected by this re-recording or studio trickery. All I can suggest is 'caveat emptor' - let the buyer beware. You may be as well assembling (or improving) this collection by downloading selected tracks from other Donovan albums available.

Absolutely fantastic songs, so evocative of their time and place in music history, badly treated on this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafdef33c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews