Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickin' up every stitch
When I was 18, which was about the third summer of love (1990) I had a copy of the 'Record Collector' magazine and had read about Donovan...one day (one of the hottest days that year) Radio one were playing 'Hot Summer' tracks and I heard this song that was so damn catchy - I turned to my dad and said that's Donovan even though I'd never heard this song before...turned...
Published on 16 Oct 2004 by MT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I hadn't listened to Donovan for years. Some of these are still lovely but some haven't aged well. I've deleted some from my MP3.
Published 18 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickin' up every stitch, 16 Oct 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I was 18, which was about the third summer of love (1990) I had a copy of the 'Record Collector' magazine and had read about Donovan...one day (one of the hottest days that year) Radio one were playing 'Hot Summer' tracks and I heard this song that was so damn catchy - I turned to my dad and said that's Donovan even though I'd never heard this song before...turned out it was 'Sunshine Superman' the first track on this album. I knew I'd love Donovan after that.
During the 60's under the production of Micky Most, Donovan produced some of his greatest music, everything from Dylanesque folk to Beatles backed tracks such as Mellow Yellow. This album concentrates on Donovans electric heyday 66-69. You won't hear all of Donovans styles on this album (folk and jazz to name a few) but you will hear some of the gentlest, insightful tunes ever written - just listen to 'Happiness Runs' which is like a childrens nursery rhyme but somehow manages to transcend generations and be relevant on many levels - 'Happiness runs in a circular emotion, thought is but a little boat upon the sea.. Happiness Runs Happiness Runs...' This is a great representation of Donovans heyday but by no means is a definitive collection. Thankfully though all the songs are representative of Donovans best albums of the 60's except the playfull and acoustic 1967 set 'Donovan in Concert' which spins a whole new take on these songs.
Start here though and if you like what you hear then there is better to come on the American imports of Donovans 1966 and 1967 albums 'Sunshine Superman' and 'Mellow Yellow'...Don't waste your time with the UK version of 'Sunshine Superman' which for legal reasons is an abridged version of the first two albums and misses some great tracks from the full albums.
To sum up.. you can hear the embodiment of the 60's in this album, you really can hear the innocence in his voice..not fake and certainly not cashing in (there is a lot of debate about whether Donovans 'Sunshine Superman' single or the Byrds 'Eight Miles High' was the first Pyschedelic single).
If you long for a better place when you shut your eyes then this is a good starting place...but that is what it is, a starting place that isn't represntative of all of Donovans styles. Hey, you have to start someplace though and it's where I started my long appreciation of this mans brilliance.
I hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oringinal 1969 greatest hits album with more tracks added, 24 Nov 2014
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The original and first Greatest Hits compilation was released in January 1969 and although this CD edition shares the same picture cover it does not have the original album release content. However it may not matter to most people,
This is a good compilation and the sound is brilliant

The original 1969 issue was significant in its release at the time and stands out as not just a greatest hits album but almost a new album in its own right, And this CD edition that borrows the originals picture cover and art work is good.
The original album Greatest Hits was a big seller and had significant tracks on it. For a start it collected three singles that were previously unreleased on any album. Epistle to Dippy, There is a Mountain and Lalena. Ok, those tracks are included here so that is fine. The album also included the previously un released longer version of Sunshine Superman. Also on here so again that is fine. Then two of the songs Catch the Wind and Colours were actually re recorded with Big Jim Sullivan playing guitar and this time produced by Donovan’s producer Mickie Most. These two songs had of course been two of the most significant hits for Donovan in the early days and the record company that Donovan was now signed to, Epic, could not get the rights to obtain or release the original recordings. So rather than leave out two of the biggest hit songs they just re recorded them in 1968. But to save legal complications and to take the chance to do things differently Donovan came up with new arrangements for these new re recordings. (they were studio re recordings and not live recordings as some reviewers have suggested,) It was an attempt to arrange them so they sounded more like the more recent and new recordings. Now these versions were slower with full backing band and lavish productions. They do sound different and do lack the vitality of the original recordings. But they are very interesting and the arrangements help to make the album feel more like an album rather than a compilation.
This edition has changed the running order of the tracks from the original release and adds other tracks that were hits after the original album was released. The running order of the tracks is different from the original 1969 edition but its all there and more. The sound is great and it is a good compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Fantastic, 29 Jan 2001
The most outstanding aspect's of this album are probably the the fantastic backing vocals that always feature in Donovan's studio work coupled with the top class pop production of Micky Most and the variety of styles which feature on this title, Donovan travles from his folk roots through to psycodelic funk and soul. This album provides a good taste of Donovan's mellow fantastic song Stylings, a good starting point for any budding fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
Poor quality nothing like the original songs he sang accompanying music rubbish must have recorded this in a dustbin or a coffin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Where's Universal Soldier though?, 16 May 2014
Finally got round to adding Donovan to my eclectic music taste a while ago now with this and on the whole it is pretty good except for the omission of 'Universal Soldier'. I would have preferred to original version of 'Catch the Wind' as well. Some of the lyrics are more banal than I remembered and some of the tunes sound somewhat twee now but you have to make allowances for the time - the 60's and all that went with it. None of this has made me regret buying this CD though. The sleeve notes are nicely informative as well. Finally, it was not until recently that it dawned on me that 'Mellow Yellow' is not exactly what it seems, I bet I'm probably not alone either?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine Superman !, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All Donovans great hit records from the sixties in one collection ! UK's answer to Dylan and a hippy songwriting legend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This cd is great, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this cd it plays well and DONOVAN sings well and his songs are brilliant,great cd to buy also arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
What more can I say. Donovan's music, style and clarity shines through. One of the best from the sixties and a thoroughly nice chap as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a blast from the past, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
Oh to be 16 again! Well remembered songs and also not so well known. I need to check other albums with a view to more downloads. Lovely to relax to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits...And More (MP3 Download)
I hadn't listened to Donovan for years. Some of these are still lovely but some haven't aged well. I've deleted some from my MP3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews