Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars21
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2005
The CD is a collection of all the singles / EP and non-album tracks from the first few years the Cramps career and really captures the band at their rawest and most essential. Where a lack of musical ability or good taste would be a problem for most bands, The Cramps rock on regardless making some of the most rockin' good time dirty pyschobilly punk sounds ever! Ivy And Gregory's guitars play simple irresistable riffs whilst Lux Interior's yelping / screaming vocals steal the show. The songs range from the rockin' feel good sounds of 'Domino' and 'Save It' to the brooding and moody 'The Way I Walk' and 'Garbageman' to the atmospheric and spooky 'Fever' whilst still retaining the unmistakable Cramps sound. If you're a guitarist just starting out and want to know howto make great music with a limited ability CHECK THIS OUT!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2001
The ultimate early Cramps, a combined "Best of..." the Bryan Gregory & Kid Congo Powers eras this album is a must for all fans of The Cramps' twin guitar, buzz-saw riffs. Fifties Rock & Roll get's the full treatment on "Domino" and "Fever" & there are brilliant reminders of The Cramps' wicked humour on "Human Fly" and "Some New Kind of Kick". Take a trip back in time and revel at the simplicity of Lux & Ivy's twisted genius. I'm Cramped!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
OFF THE BONE OFF THEIR HEADS. A good starter/intro to the Cramps. The mighty HUMAN FLY (possibly the best guitar intro in the world) followed by a selection of other Cramps songs. Buy this along with the LP's "Songs The Lord Taught Us" and "Psychedelic Jungle" A good deal on Amazon for all 3. If you like your buzzed out psycho-rockabilly guitar accompanied by fat ear wiggling, head nodding, nonsensicyle lyrical, grave digging beats. Its a hoot you'll love it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
I've rediscovered the Cramps after many years and this compilation album took me back to my rockin' days way back when...... Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
if your only going to buy one cd by the cramps make it this one its a greatest hits kind of package that every self respecting record collection had back in the day and it includes their best song human fly but what happened to that famous 3d cover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
This got me into the Cramps. I couldn't believe this album when I first heard it - there's not - the sound of southern culture dissolving in a blaze of hiccups and shudders - a bad track on it. Only the squarest of squares couldn't like this and there's no hope for people like that.
In fact I became so Cramped I became known as Lux. One of the greatest bands of all time. There early stuff is their best but as a live act they were probably the best I've seen - in a league of their own.
If you've never heard the Cramps but like rockabilly and garage rock plus 50s and 60s b-movies and are a Teenage Tiger and a Goo Goo Muck Beast, buy this album.
Put one foot up, Put another foot up - put another foot up and you're on board - the Drug Train Woo Hoo!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
Awesome fun and dark all American punk with the 50's be-bop rocker style.
Love this album from start to finish. 8 out of 10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
Essential for any Cramps Fans. My first Cramps album back in the 80's and just about all of their best tracks. I'm Cramped!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Bought this album to replace my very old LP version and it still cuts the mustard after all these years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Classic Rock And Roll with a future edge. This is is timeless Brilliance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)