Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely underrated
In my opinion this is David Bowie's most underrated album. A clear leap in class from his early recordings it contains moments of great beauty, sadness and intensity.
Although the title track is perhaps over familiar these days it's still an effective track - the central message of a space traveller choosing to abandon earth is actually pretty powerful and gets lost...
Published on 17 Sep 2002 by bowieclone

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's most 'loved-up' album for sure
Having been a fan of his music since I was eight years old (Starman on Top Of The Pops in 1972!) I have now decided the time is right to do a little review of all his albums on Amazon. As a naive and impressionable child, I had no concept of the chronology of Bowie's work, and didnt actually hear this album until the summer of '77, by which time he was light years beyond...
Published on 30 July 2008 by C. J. Cunningham


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely underrated, 17 Sep 2002
This review is from: Space Oddity (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is David Bowie's most underrated album. A clear leap in class from his early recordings it contains moments of great beauty, sadness and intensity.
Although the title track is perhaps over familiar these days it's still an effective track - the central message of a space traveller choosing to abandon earth is actually pretty powerful and gets lost in the gentle melody of the song. And that's just it - these aren't the gentle harmless folk songs that they are so often described as. "Cygnet Committee" is right up there with not only Bowie's best work but the best work of any artist ever. A lyrical masterpiece and powerful story - it is no exageration to say that it out Dylan's Dylan! Similarly "The Wild Eyed boy from Freecloud" draws you in to the narritive and "In memory of a free festival" is a beautifully nostalgic and touching look back on the end of an era. "Letter to Hermione" is a rare beast - a song where Bowie bares his soul and it is all the more poignant and effective for it. If you don't believe me then it is worth comparing it to the rather listless "Janine" - possibly the only weak song on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Ground Control to Major Tom...Take Your Protein Pills...Put Your Helmet On..." - Space Oddity by DAVID BOWIE (2009 40th), 22 Nov 2009
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This EMI Collector's Limited Edition 2-Disc reissue is a 40th Anniversary celebration of Bowie's long forgotten and criminally underrated 2nd album from 1969 - "David Bowie" - later more commonly known as "Space Oddity". There's a lot on here so let's get to the Major Toms...

UK released October 2009 - "David Bowie" on EMI DBSOCD 40 (Barcode 5099930752221) is a 2CD 40th Anniversary" reissue and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (46:12 minutes):
1. Space Oddity
2. Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed
3. Letter To Hermione
4. Cygnet Committee
5. Janine [Side 2]
6. An Occasional Dream
7. The Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
8. God Only Knows
9. Memory Of A Free Festival
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "David Bowie" issued 14 November 1969 on Phillips SBL 7902 in the UK. Released in the same month in the USA but with slightly altered artwork (the photo on the cover is used as the 1st page of the booklet), the US version was re-titled as "Man Of Words/Man Of Music" and issued on Mercury SR-61246.

Disc 2 - BONUS MATERIAL - (63:47 minutes):
1. Space Oddity (early 'Demo' version featuring duet vocals with John "Hutch" Hutchinson, recorded January 1969)
2. An Occasional Dream (early 'Demo' version also featuring duet vocals with John "Hutch" Hutchinson, recorded March/April 1969)
3. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (this is an alternate version put out as the non-album B-side to "Space Oddity" issued in July 1969 as a UK 7" single on Philips BF 1801. It contains the Paul Buckmaster spoken intro and less brass and strings - none of which are on the LP version)
4. Let Me Sleep Beside You
5. Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed
6. Janine (tracks 4 to 6 were recorded live for the Dave Lee Travis show on the BBC's Radio 1 on 20 Oct 1969 (broadcast 26 Oct). 5 and 6 have been issued before on the 2000 CD set "Bowie On The Beeb..." but 4 is previously unreleased)
7. London, Bye, Ta-Ta (Stereo Version) (recorded in January 1970 in Trident Studios as a follow up single to "Space Oddity" but shelved, this version first appeared on the "Sound + Vision" 4CD Box set in 2003)
8. The Prettiest Star (Stereo Version) (released as a UK 7" single in March 1970 on Mercury MF 1135 but only in MONO - this STEREO version first appeared on the 1997 compilation "The Best Of...1969/1974")
9. Conversation Piece (Stereo Version) (the non-album B-side to "The Prettiest Star" 7" single which was only ever issued in MONO - this is a previously unreleased STEREO version)
10. Memory Of A Free Festival (Part 1)
11. Memory Of A Free Festival (Part 2) (tracks 10 and 11 are the A&B of the June 1970 UK 7" single on Philips 6052 026. This is not the LP track, but a re-recorded version then split across two sides of a single. These first appeared on the Ryko CD version of "Space Oddity" in 1990)
12. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (Alternate Album Mix)
13. Memory Of A Free Festival (Alternate Album Mix) (previously unreleased version that is over 2 minutes longer)
14. London, Bye, Ta-Ta (Alternate Stereo Mix)
15. Ragazzo Solo, Ragazza Sola (Full Length Stereo Version) (the 1970 Italian version of "Space Oddity". It translates into "Lonely Boy, Lonely Girl". The single mix turned on the "Bowie Rare" LP in 1983, but this version is previously unreleased)
[Note: 1, 2, 4, 9, 12 to 15 are Previously Unreleased]

The British album (on which this release is based) originally came in a fetching gatefold sleeve (now a hugely collectable £400 vinyl rarity in mint condition) and it's this artwork that's used for both the back and front cover of the tri-gatefold digipak. Different Trident Studios Master Tape boxes are pictured under each see-through CD tray, while the 32-page booklet is a feast of memorabilia from fans and collectors - rare picture sleeves, trade adverts, period photos - all topped off with a fantastically detailed essay by noted expert KEVIN CANN.

If I was to have a gripe about the booklet and the packaging, it would be this - on the back of the UK success of the "Hunky Dory" album in September 1972 (reached number 3 in the UK charts), the "David Bowie" album was then reissued in November 1972 on RCA Victor LSP 4813 as "Space Oddity". It came in different artwork and was given an inner lyric bag and a foldout poster. I mention this because for such an extensive and superbly annotated booklet, none of this is printed or pictured - an odd omission?

But it's a minor point because the real sparks are to be found in the SOUND. Remastered from the first generation master tapes by PETER MEW at Abbey Road with help from TRIS PENNA and NIGEL REEVE - the audio is FABULOUS. I've sung the praises of Peter Mew's work before (Jethro Tull's "This Was" and Dr. Feelgood's "Down At The Jetty" jump to mind - see reviews) and having years and hundreds of credits to his name, he knows his way around a tape or two. I've never heard the track "Space Oddity" sound so clear and full - it's a superlative job. The clarity on the two newly found demos at the beginning of Disc 2 is incredible also - especially given their vintage and crude recordings.

The music itself is an acquired taste. Not quite the Sixties pop of his debut or the Seventies rock brilliance of "Ziggy" and "Hunky Dory" which was just around the corner, it's a man finding his artistic feet - ideas are everywhere - and it's even quite folky in places. It won't be everyone's cup of tea for sure, but if you've the inclination, it's a rediscovery well worth making...

To sum up - this is a superb reissue - and it's the dogs bollox where it matters the most - in the sound department.

Far above the world - sitting in his tin can - Major Tom is grinning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved her! Bye Ta Ta..., 15 Oct 2009
By 
Adriano (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Bye bye love, hello superstardom. This chapter of Bowie's music career is so pivotal.
Kenneth Pitt's influence is cast aside and David's intense love affair with Hermoine sadly ends... lonely boy becomes the nucleus of Ziggy - isolation and artistic rediscovery and the future. Not just the future of 1970s pop, but a snapshot of another strange universe or, at least the beginning of what would become an alien meets superstar phenomenon.

Yes, the record companies do cash in on these re-releases.
And yes, you may be thinking I already have Space Oddity on vinyl, CD, and/or the BBC Sessions.
If so, sell your old copies and keep this definitive version.

Not only is the original album (disc one) beautifully remastered, but also disc two is worth owning for:

The Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud in all its orchestral glory (as described by Tony Visconti in Nicholas Pegg's book) sounds amazing, as if a 50-piece ensemble in the studio surrounds you. Why this wasn't used as the selected take originally may have been down to technical/quality reasons. It sounds perfect to me now, convincing me that some real dedication has gone into this release.

Memory Of A free Festival - there really is a party. This sounds like a spaceship landing at Woodstock! Okay, more like Lou Reed's `Kicks' with the background chatter/celebrations going on before take-off. The original version has these sounds electronically treated. This works well and runs in at 9min, 25secs about the same as Cygnet Committee.

Regazzo... beautiful full version on CD at last.

London Bye Ta Ta - this second take is an upbeat contender follow-up to the Space Oddity single. If only. Again the echo on Bowie's vocals made me think of what might have been. Thank God for Starman.

Only time will tell how many times I replay this second disc, its easy to get excited over newly unearthed material. But I reckon the alternate takes will replace the originals on my playlist.

For this price, to listen to David and Visconti's original vision is worth every penny.

Great new remastering takes you there to 1969 to experience this album just as it should have been.

A final note on the booklet included with this release. If your eyes are up to it - I needed a magnifier to read it.
There's an interesting diary of events covering the era around the recording - with pictures, facts and figures for anyone who, like me, can never get enough Bowie trivia.

This was an interesting period of transition (Mick Ronson makes his Bowie debut on the Memory parts 1 & 2), though it gives no real hint as to the direction this band would take next with TMWSTW

The sun machine is coming down again after 40 years. And the party continues...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet, 22 Oct 2009
There is no point in reviewing the album. It is of its time.

It's only worth talking about this reissue.

This has had a couple of CD issues - the Ryko, and the original EMI.

The Ryko had some extra tracks, the EMI was bare bones. (Ryko extra tracks were Conservation Piece, and two of the Memories of a Free Festival tracks. Also note, the short "Don't Sit Down" was also on the Ryko, it runs for all of 39 seconds).

So I'll only talk about this disc in the context of those two previous releases.

Basically, it's very very simple. THIS version is worth a tear or two. Tears of joy. The bonus disc is full of glorious early Bowie, and the original album has never - ever - sounded this good. Yes, a couple of the bonus tracks were already included in the original Ryko disc - but even they sound better.

And then you have the booklet - which is pure magic.

Downsides? No lyrics. So hold on to your Ryko (why do they omit the lyrics?!?!?!)

Look - this is an ESSENTIAL buy. I don't care that it's been reissued twice on CD. It doesn't matter. For better or worse - this is the best yet. And if you can accept this era Bowie, you have to have it. Why? Because it sounds wonderful. And the package is terrific.

I could apologize (who wants to buy this yet again?!?!?!?) But I don't make these things, I only buy them.

Worth getting? For a Bowie fan yes. A resounding yet. If you don't own it yet.... well now is the time.

I am as cynical as the rest. I'd love to slate this release as more gouging. But now is not the time. This is a wonderful release.

Game over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last - Released as it should be., 19 Oct 2009
By 
davidp (manchester uk) - See all my reviews
This is all about the cover - the music you know so well already.

As a thirteen year old Bowie fan back in 1973 I (like many others) purchased the RCA 'Space Oddity' vinyl lp. with its Ziggy style cover which I never thought was a great Bowie image (prefered the back cover photo really). I knew it was a reissue of a previous release - it says so on the cover, but search as I tried in the mid-seventies I never knew what the original Philips cover looked like.
Eventually, in 1978, after 6 years a Bowie fan, the Rare record stall in Manchester Underground Market (both stall and Market now long gone) had a copy on the back wall - it became like a holy grail to me, but was way out of my league price wise - I often used to walk past the stall just to gawp at the cover of this (and the other holy grail - the dress cover MWSTW on mercury) and dreamt of one day winning enough money to buy these out of reach luxury items.
Many years later (about 1990 I think)I was in the right place at the right time with the right cash and finally managed to purchase a copy of the Philips 'David Bowie' album for a bargain £75 at Piccadilly Record Fair (ahh - happy days...)- the reason the cover is so important is it shows the Bowie who wrote and recorded these songs - slightly hippy; slightly pre-fame Bolan; a lot Scott Walker; the songs make more sense without the Ziggy pictures - Bowie was not that character yet - and the back cover by George Underwood (who had incidently previously designed Tyranasaurus Rex's 'My People Were Fair' cover) was so important to help the imagery of the songs / lyrics.

Cut a long story short - this is a great vinyl reissue at last - titled as it should be 'David Bowie'- not 'Space Oddity' and packaged in the gatefold sleeve - Compared to the original Philips cover it has been very well done - typography in the right place; inner gatefold lyrics and credits identical; no barcode to spoil the images - my only gripe is the back cover is slightly enlarged and some details from round the edge have been lost - but a very minor gripe that is. I like the 'Bowie/Philips' style record label too -

.....If only they'd reissued this like this in November 1972 it would have saved me so much time and money !.....but with an artist who's image is so important to their output it's great to finally have this record looking like it should. The reissue Cd is nice too but this is the real deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spare Oddities, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first impressions of the remastering on this release were positive, but listening closely is a different matter. CD1 is peppered with gliches from somewhere in the production process, ranging from small clicks to full-scale spikes! Very annoying if, like me, you listen on headphones.
(What is it with EMI? Remember the Ziggy2002 channel-swap fiasco?)

Hard-core fans will rightly buy this 40th Anniversary Edition for the bonus disc. For 'early Bowie' addicts it is an essential purchase.

Buyers wanting the original album should stick with the Space Oddity 1999 remaster. It sounds about the same as this, plus it's cheaper, relatively error-free, and (essential for newcomers to this album) it includes the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius that is.., 7 Aug 2011
David Bowie truly is a one of a kind songwriter. He manages to channel influences and craft something unique and completely his own. This album has quite an early Syd Barrett era Floyd vibe with the occasional psychedelic lyricism and strange instrumentation. (I think Bowie liked Syd's hairdo too..) In my opinion the songwriting on this album is some of Bowies best and the fact he was in his early twenties when writing the material is astonishing.

Upon first listen, the bulk of the album almost feels slightly overshadowed by the track 'Space Oddity' as everyone knows and loves the song. After a couple more listens through, the album flows wonderfully. Highlights for me are 'An Occasional Dream', 'Cygnet Committee' and 'Janine'.

Also if you have a record player, please buy the reissue vinyl! It sounds incredible. Plus the reproduction of the poster for a gig promoting the album was a nice touch..

All in all, if you don't already own this album then do yourself a favour and start delving into the career of one of Britain's most beloved musicians. A definite 5*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Step In Bowie's Career, 21 July 2009
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Oddity (Audio CD)
I had reviewed 'Space Oddity' before, but in recent weeks, with the return of David Bowie to the recording medium with a new album, have had course to revisit his incredibly rich and varied (and variable!) back catalogue of recordings. I'd always liked 'Space Oddity', but thought it, like his Deram debut album David Bowie, something of a curio, a search by Bowie to find the right vehicle for his creativity. However, by any standards (not least of which is forty years of hindsight), the 'Space Oddity' album is a mini-masterpiece, and like it's successor, 'The Man Who Sold The World' The Man Who Sold The World a consistently underrated entry in the Bowie body of work.

Take the title track itself - seen at the time of its' release as a kind of topical piece inspired by the Apollo moon landing, it is, in fact, a more allegorical record, beautifully produced by Gus Dudgeon, and given a vivid arrangement by Paul Buckmaster. The mix and orchestration frame Bowie's vocal tellingly, and truly deliver on the ambition of the track, making the whole thing a work of wonder, that sounds as thrilling and dizzying as it did Way Back When.

The remainder of the original album's tracks were produced by Tony Visconti, which range from intimate, fragile but emotive acoustic ballads ('Letter To Hermione' and 'An Occasional Dream') through to sweeping, magisterial pieces like 'The Cygnet Committee' and 'Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud', and tough-rocking outings like 'Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed'. Furthermore, the blissed-out, hippie-fied closer 'Memory Of A Free Festival' now sounds incredibly moving, and not the kind of 'hello skies', hello trees' faux-naive piece that I thought it was forty years ago. Visconti's crisp production invests the acoustic guitars on the ballads with a warm resonance - it's even better on the remastered vinyl edition - and Bowie's voice is quite magnificent throughout.

It's staggering to think that, within a couple of years of this release, Bowie would deliver albums of contrasting brilliance as the aforementioned 'Man Who Sold...', 'Hunky Dory', and 'Ziggy Stardust', endlessly inventive and of huge scope and range. But 'Space Oddity' is now firmly ensconced as one of my personal favourite Bowie albums, and over four decades hasn't withered it's multi-faceted majesty. If you've not got it, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie says goodbye to 60s and hello world beyond, 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Space Oddity (Audio CD)
If you're wanting 'Ziggy' or 'Thin White Duke' don't go here. If you want Bowie at his early creative freeflow, then "Space Oddity" is a great pit-stop. The title track (different from the original more acoustic Phillips version) is sublime and orchestra-rich. This version here was subsequently re-released in 1975 and became Bowie's first and most worthy Number 1 single in the UK. The balance between farewell to the 60s and hello 70s and beyond is most evident with "Letter To Hermonie" and "Memory of a Free Festival." The only missing item from the RCA pressing is the sleeve cover which RCA decided was best showing a still of Bowie from the "Space Oddity" video and the title shown on the cover in 'Apollo' styled lettering. The cover now is a mix of the photoshoot used for the 'Phillips' pressings (when the LP was titled "Man of Words, Man of Music"). This CD not only benefits from being remastered at 24-bit, the whole concept works and is a pillar amongst the great 1969 to 1971 albums, recorded by Bowie; Moody Blues; Joni Mitchell; and Cat Stevens - to name but a few. Unfortunately missing from this CD pressing is "Velvet Goldmine" which was recorded during the same sessions but is still available on compilations and as an extra track on the 1975 "Space Oddity" maxi-single release. "Velvet Goldmine" was not included on the original Phillips or RCA pressings, but did surface as a bonus track on the early 90s CD release. Nevertheless, this is Bowie in all his early images and lyrical flows. Brilliant time capsule, brilliant CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!, 6 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Oddity (Audio CD)
I may not know Bowie and his discography but this early album of his is just fantastic! Simple! Don't go on just the title track, the whole of this album is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space Oddity
Space Oddity by David Bowie
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews