Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER
I have to cut straight to the point fever is an out standing album, Kylie had her work cut out after "Light Years" but boy she done it. The classic Kylie disco element is still there but updated with funky electro tunes, she is a true princess of pop constantly adapting, moving and improving while still keeping the elements that we adore about her! While you have all the...
Published on 11 Nov 2002 by whale2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Fine Album!!!
This Album by Kylie sees a change in style, going less disco. The tracks are the same as the international version plus only one new song found also on 'Can't get you out of my head'(single). Butterfly is found on her 'Light Years' album.

All the songs are worth a listen, but I would recommend fans to buy the original version and then buy the first single...
Published on 8 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER, 11 Nov 2002
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
I have to cut straight to the point fever is an out standing album, Kylie had her work cut out after "Light Years" but boy she done it. The classic Kylie disco element is still there but updated with funky electro tunes, she is a true princess of pop constantly adapting, moving and improving while still keeping the elements that we adore about her! While you have all the original tracks which are out standing on this limited addition you also get some amazing mixes including "cant get blue Monday out of my head", "in your eyes"- Roger Sanchez mix and best of all "Come Into My World" remixed by Fischerspooner.
This album can not be ignored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly Good, 7 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
My 13 year old daughter bought this home at the weekend and I thought I was in for another hour of the same nausea I experience with Britney Spears, Spice Girls etc. To my suprise, this is an absolutely brilliant album, probably the best album of the year. Perhaps Im just tired of all the doom and gloom in the world, but this album made me happy for a change. It has much more to recommend it than this however and is more than a throwaway pop record. Every track has something of interest even though it is pure dance music. Ive always liked the best in dance music over the years and this is right up there with the best of them. Buy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Dance Your Socks Off, 4 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
'Fever' by Kylie Minogue is one disco-tastic album. Put it in your stereo and you'll want to dance until you drop. Kylie knows what she does well and this album is a great example. With 'Cant Get You Out Of My Head' still echoing on the radio, you'd be crazy not to want to hear more - and this album delivers. With not a single slow ballad in sight, Kylie's spinning around the dancefloor with pop tunes that have both modern and retro ('70s and '80s disco) appeal and even manage a sly reference to her previous mega-hit, 'Spinning Around' (check out track 8...). After the last album, we all thought we'd be so lucky (sorry!) if there was more to follow... and there is. Perfect pop and delightful disco - just right to lift your spirits or get you in the mood for dancing. And long may it continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glossy, polished, pop masterpiece!, 5 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Welcome back Kylie! For the second time in two years, Miss Minogue delivers the ultimate pop album. 'Fever' surpasses the disco-camp 'Light Years' (which itself was Kylie's best album up to that point) with it's classy club grooves and dance feel. From the storming 'Love at first sight' with its Modjo-esque melody to the 'Can't get you out of my head'-tinged and Armand Van Halden-inspired 'Come into my world', this album delivers. 'More more more' is the title of the first track and that's what 'Fever' does - ;leave you gasping for more... There are at least another eight hit singles on this album including the excellent 'In your eyes' and 'Love affair'. Kylie has done it again and even surpassed expectations with this perfect pot-pourri of pint-sized popstar polished, glossy pop! Pop is dead? Not if this album is anything to go by... A glorious pop masterpiece. Well done Kylie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DAFT KYLIE!, 20 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Hot on the heels of her career saving LIGHT YEARS album/tour, Lady K releases her finest album to date. Highlights include the glorious first single, CANT GET YOU OUT OF MY HEAD, and the Daft Punk-esque LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT...perhaps her greatest moment, ever! While the album relishes some of the disco gloss of LIGHT YEARS, FEVER finds Kylie Minogue discovering and defining a sound all her own. Future singles HAVE to include LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT, stomping jammer IN YOUR EYES, and the sexy, vocally stunning title track. It is finally appropriate to say look out, Madonna...Kylie Minogue IS the Queen of Pop. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pop Knock-Out!, 25 Oct 2001
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
For anyone who has ever said that Kylie Minogue was not a credible pop-star, here's a chance to have a change of heart. Fever has got to be one of the most consistent pop recordings of the year, if not one of the best. Lead by the incredibly infectious first single, Can't Get You Out Of My Head, this is a true collection of dance-pop gems which rarely fall short of being great tunes. With clear influences from the likes of Kraftwerk, Giorgio Moroder, and Modjo, just to name a few, the album can be easily hailed as a tribute to electro-pop and disco. This is also the album Kylie wanted to make and should have made when she created Light Years. Fever is a much better record than Madonna's Music or Sophie Ellis-Bextor's Take Me Home because it displayes confidence, consistency and a completely finished piece of work. Can't Get You Out Of My Head, Fever, Fragile, Your Love and the Mark Pichotti produced Give It To Me are the album's stand-out tracks but the rest sure as hell doesn't disappoint. If you're a fan of Kylie or pure pop music, you can't go wrong with this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Kylie album, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
It's never easy to define appeal of a particular singer's music, but it's especially difficult where Kylie's music is concerned. I became a Kylie fan at the beginning when she was with Stock, Aitken and Waterman, despite not caring much for most of the music that they produced. Kylie wasn`t the only Stock, Aitken and Waterman artist whose music I liked, as I also like Bananarama and Jason Donovan, but I can`t think of any others. Nevertheless, Kylie's music has changed a lot since then. I also enjoy her later music, but in a different way. Yet through all the changes, Kylie's music isn't and never has been typical of what I normally listen to. So I guess it's down to the quality of the songs and Kylie's wonderful voice, both of which are well up to the expected standard on this album.

Four British top ten hits came from this album, which also revitalized Kylie's career in America. The first and biggest of these hits, Can't get you out of my head, made number one in Britain and became a huge hit in America and around the world. Nothing else here matched the achievements of that song, but the other three hits here (In your eyes, Love at first sight, Come into my world) are all excellent. The title track was presumably considered for single released but, at least in Britain, wasn't released in that form. It's worth noting that all the songs here are originals, even though a couple of them (Fever, More more more) use titles of old songs made famous by others.

Typical of Kylie`s albums from the early years of the new millennium, this album works well whether played as background music or listened to without other distractions. Overall, I have a slight preference for the album that followed this (Body language) and the one that preceded it (Light years), but there's really not a lot to choose between them. If you enjoy any of the three, you'll also enjoy the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't get her out of your head, 22 July 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Kylie Minogue re-broke into pop stardom with "Fever," her eighth studio album. And it's somehow not surprising -- "Fever" is infectious, dancey and perpetually catchy. Despite the "lovey" tone of the songs, Kylie's album is dancepop in its purest form, and is probably the best example of the type.

It starts off on a rather middling note with the fast-paced "More More More," before launching into the sparkling "Love At First Sight," a more complex dance song that is surprisingly infectious. ("And everything went from wrong to right/the stars came up and filled up the sky/the music you were playin' nearly blew my mind/it was love at first sight!")

Things coast on from there, including the infuritatingly entertaining "Can't Get You Out of My Head," the funk-edged "Give It To Me," and the sultry "Love Affair." She also dabbles in softer electropop, in songs like the swoony "Fragile" and the swirling "In Your Eyes," both of which turn down the tempo and up the emotion.

It's always sort of nice when a guilty pleasure doesn't pretend to be anything but what it is. And "Fever" has no such pretensions. It's a fun, slightly suggestive album that you can dance to, with the forgettable lyrics of dancepop, and some truly enjoyable beats that have a tendency to stick to your mind like old bubble gum.

Even her most ardent fans can't claim that Kylie has a great voice -- she has a voice that is lightweight, wispy and pretty. It matches the music, and she knows how to use it, never overtaxing the ol' vocal chords. In other words, no Britney-style chord-straining yowls or screeches. Rather than exceptional vocal quality, Kylie gets props for knowing her limits, and working with them.

And the dancepop of "Fever" also gets props for unusual complexity. Rather than repetitive beats repeated on every song, several songs from "Fever" switch tempo, switch synths, and have their highs and lows. There are some distinct flavours to some of the songs, such as funk and a bit of disco, which add extra spice and memorability.

"Fever" is a guilty pleasure, but at least it's a fun, entertaining one. One of Kylie's best, and definitely worth "spinning around."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER ? HEATWAVE? YES , YOU WILL BE BURING UP, 2 Oct 2001
By 
drew@glive.co.uk (london/highbury UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
being a kylie fan since "i should be so lucky" and growing up with her music ,she never failed to come up with something to knock me off my feet but this time ...wow... she really hit me off my feet !!!
the first single "can't get you out of my head" ( currently on its way to be the best selling single in the uk for 2001) gives u an idea what to expect from the whole album !
from the US garage disco style of "more more more" to the modjo-esque "love at first sight" u then glide over to her winning single "can't get you..." .then comes "fever" the title track ( no not a cover version , there are non on here ) . by the time u reached the next tune "give it to me " u probably already switched on the disco lights and dance under ur mini discoball in ur livingroom ! but behold ...what is that ? the album is getting better? u bet it is !!!!
it would take more space on here then permitted to tell u about all the tracks on here :-)
so are the other rewiews on here right by saying its her best album yet ?
it sure fever is !! with x-mas round the corner u have the perfect office party /home party /party record of the year and the next !!
so vicky B go home and look after brooklin ,cheers :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!, 8 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
I had high expectations of this album, and when I first listened to it one or two tracks really stood out, but the rest seemed a little bland. However, after about three listens...wow! It's great...definitely Kylie's finest hour. There isn't a bad song on the album, they all eventually grab you and you just can't get them out of your head...(oops sorry that was a little predictable!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fever
Fever by Kylie Minogue
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews