Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Just Gets Better & Better
Not many artists can produce 3 top selling albums and then top them with something that is all together in a different league. Not many artists can have such a wide appeal whether you're 16 or 60. Not many artists can produce an album with lyrics so very personal without sounding self absorbing. Well Pink has done all of those. Whether you want straightforward rock, dance...
Published on 26 Nov 2008 by Monsieur le B

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised
Let me tell you, I liked some of her songs but not enough to buy one of her albums.
This time I decided to give it a try and I was very surprised. The album is very fine, definitely better than expected and some songs are quite something.
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by The big F


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Just Gets Better & Better, 26 Nov 2008
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
Not many artists can produce 3 top selling albums and then top them with something that is all together in a different league. Not many artists can have such a wide appeal whether you're 16 or 60. Not many artists can produce an album with lyrics so very personal without sounding self absorbing. Well Pink has done all of those. Whether you want straightforward rock, dance music or stunningly beautiful ballads (no Dion/Carey warbling here), combined with edgy almost bluesy vocals, this album has it all. Frankly, this is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never too old !, 18 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
This is a girl with energy, going from the definitely rowdy to the softer approach. The variety of songs on this disc must have something for everyone - all tastes, all ages and all moods. I may be well over 60 but I enjoy her natural energy. A terrific cd. Buy it and play it loud - especially when driving alone in your car! It's great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funhouse indeed, but her most mature offering yet, 18 Oct 2008
By 
G. W. Hope - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
Well, P!nk (Alecia Beth Moore, for those who don't know already) is back. Back, and better than ever. The majority of the songs on the album deal with divorce (no surprise due to her recent break-up with ex-husband Carey Hart), and while they are unlikely to depress you, Funhouse is Miss P!nk's most mature offering yet - and a fantastic one at that. With the fantastic lead-single So What lifting the album to high heights, expect P!nk to have another roaring success with this album, and God bless, because she and the album really deserve it.

1. So What [3:36] | As aforementioned, the debut single from the album, which has went to number one in eight countries (so far), and also on the Global United World Chart where it is her sixth number one there. No questioning why; this corker of a track truly deserves it. It's not very often a fantastic, catchy pop song like this will come along these days, and (although I'm sure everyone's heard it by now) check out the instrumentation at the end of the song; it's epic.

2. Sober [4:13] | Planned second single from the album, and a fantastic track to follow the amazing lead single. This is very 2001-ish, very M!ssundaztood, which was also an awesome album, so if you liked that album, you'll surely love this song. A wise choice for second single, it'll most certainly be another hit for P!nk.

3. I Don't Believe You [4:35] | No. Words. This song is just ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. A breath-taking, heart-breaking lyric provided with no more than only acoustic instrumentation, this may be her finest ballad ever, and possibly her best track ever altogether (though there are SO many gems on this album, ha!). No doubt written about her heartbreak with Carey, I Don't Believe You is definitely one to listen out for. The album is worth paying the price just for this track alone in my honest opinion.

4. One Foot Wrong [3:26] | Very bluesy song; although this song is still mind-blowingly fantastic, it's the only one on the album I haven't completely fallen in love with yet. The song is strictly about troubles as P!nk sings "Somebody gets it, I'm gonna fall" / "The lights are on, but I'm in the dark." VERY relative song, I'm certain everybody will find something they can relate to that links to this track.

5. Please Don't Leave Me [3:53] | Up there with I Don't Believe You as my favourite song on Funhouse and my favourite P!nk song altogether. This is beautifully written and produced, VERY emotional; you can hear the pain in her voice, particularly during the third verse. Another extremely upbeat, catchy tune; although it's about pain, as I said, it's unlikely to bring you down, infact quite the opposite. BRILLIANT track.

6. Bad Influence [3:38] | Here the listener gets treated to a combination of P!nk and Danja (who produced Britney's "Blackout" album and works with the likes of Timbaland). It works EXTREMELY well and, while is still kept in grand P!nk style, it's very funky and the chorus is one of the catchiest hooks! Yet another standout, but there are just too many, speaking of which...

7. Funhouse [3:26] | ...the title track. This funky 70/80s disco take is also a different direction for P!nk, and the musical changes during the song (there are two) are a pleasant surprise. This song represents the whole feel of the album: "This use to be a funhouse, but now it's full of evil clowns." It's as if to say life isn't what it seems, but we're still having fun. The countdown is also EXTREMELY fun (no pun itended, but it really is). Dance along and sing along.

8. Crystal Ball [3:28] | The second fully acoustic track on the album. And what a gorgeous song it is. The subject matter speaks about not knowing what the future holds, but liking it that way: "Fortune teller says maybe you will go to hell, but I'm not scared at all." This one may be one of the most beautiful, emotional lyrics she has ever written also, it's very inspiring too: "I've felt that fire and I've been burned but I wouldn't trade the pain for what I've learned." Very true, very honest song.

9. Mean [4:19] | Wow! And here we are introduced to Country P!nk! She's back to her usual agressive ways, though, cussing here and there and giving the impression of an angry emotion. Not that this is a bad thing; the song works well with P!nk's fabulous vocal and, if this were to be sent to Country radio, I'm sure it'd blow up! Great, new direction, and again, the album may be worth the purchase on this track alone if you want to hear this new side of P!nk.

10. It's All Your Fault [3:54] | There are so many songs on the set that could be released as a (successful) single; this here is no expection. A fast, furious, angry, bitchy take on a breakup: "It's all your fault, you called me beautiful, you turned me out, and I can't turn back," It's All Your Fault will be sure to please the listener's ear!

11. Ave Mary A [3:17] | This one really needs to be paid full attention to. P!nk sings of some of the unfortunate ongoings in this world today; another VERY emotional, all the same impressive number: "If the darkest hour comes before the light, where is the light?" / "I can't help thinkin' that we lost the plot, suicide bomber and a student shot." Fantastic take on today's society, P!nk really captures all the scenes well.

12. Glitter In The Air [3:48] | The closure of the album, and the third and final ballad/acoustic performance taken from the set. VERY tearjearking; this album includes P!nk's best ballads and this is no expection - once again, OUTSTANDING, AMAZING, heart-shattering, emotional vocals and instruments, and the bridge in this song may just be the most emotional - and best vocal she has ever delivered: "There you are in the garden, clutching my coffee, calling me sugar. You called me sugar." Listen to her voice go!

On a sidenote, the UK also get the brilliant "Boring" and "This Is How It Goes Down" (featuring Travis McCoy of Gym Class Heroes), as well as the enhanced video for "So What" as bonus features. These are all the more reason to buy the album!

A fantastic return from P!nk; I'm sure she'll go far with this one, and I for one sure hope she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
Pink at her best. If you like Pink you'll love this, if you don't like Pink you'll still think it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shockin rockin pink, 8 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Nigel Perkins "bignig59" (brum uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
great new stuff from pink hard rockin to slow ballads to break your heart or blow your mind awesome 200%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blowing up Funhouse!, 1 Jun 2009
By 
Ktar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
Funhouse is not only P!nk's best album up-to-date but also one of the most massive and hot albums ever! And, this is not only about the tracks; it's about everything in it! The designing, the photos, the tracks! Everything! And, she had very talented cooperators, such as the brilliant Max Martin, Kara DioGuardi, Danja, Eg White, Butch Walker, Billy Mann etc! P!nk knows really well how to balance different types of music in a record and to express herself via them. The album contains tracks for different moments: When you wanna rock, when you wanna cry, when you wanna relax, when you wanna dance! All in all, it's all the music in a record!

Designing: Flawless ! 10/10 (Even the photo on the cd is really brilliant!)
Tracks: Perfect perfect perfect! My favorite one is Sober! Oh God! This song is really emotional and hot! I've spent so much time listening to it! So, So what, Sober, I don't believe you, Please don't leave me, Bad influence, Funhouse, Mean, It's all your fault, Ave Mary a, Glitter in the air, This is how it goes down and Boring (One of P!nk's best song ever! I think that everyone should buy the uk edition of Funhouse in order to have this track as well!) deserve 10/10 and One foot wrong and Crystal ball 9/10!
Voice: So emotional, so mature! 10/10

So, buy this record without second thought! It's a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 1 Nov 2008
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
Can it really be two years since Ms Moore's last album 'I'm Not Dead' echoed
around the red flock wallpapered walls of The Wolfcave ?

As a longtime admirer of this feisty young woman and her work The Wolf finds
himself just a little disappointed with this latest offering.

Having said this her weakest efforts are still head and shoulders above the competition.

The energy we have come to expect is still there to some degree but the quality of
the writing is more than a little lacklustre at times.
Truth be told here and there our heroine's heart doesn't seem to be fully in it.

That said there are still some very fine moments.

'Please Don't Leave Me' is up there with the best of her back catalogue.
A mordant mid-tempo rocker, mixing spite and pathos in equal measure.

'So What', 'Bad Influence', 'Funhouse' and 'Boring' are blandly formulaic,
unconvincing makeweights.

'Sober', 'Ave Mary A' and especially the magnificently angry
'It's All Your Fault' are much closer to the real deal. Raw, edgy and committed.

'Mean' and 'One Foot Wrong' are perhaps the albums lowpoints.
Production and performances leaning towards lazy, undisciplined bathos.

'This Is How It Goes Down' is a real stinker.

The quieter, more reflective moments provided by 'Crystal Ball' and 'Glitter In The Air'
are both well sung and provide a little welcome respite.

A mixed bag then.

Her hardcore fans will doubtless welcome this release unquestioningly.

The Wolf, for his part, looks forward to a return to form next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly solid album (",), 18 Oct 2008
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
It comes as no surprise that the bulk of Pink's fifth album deals with her recent divorce. This is not meant in a negative sense in any way. The great thing about Pink is that she has always tackled deep, emotional issues through her music and it has always sounded sincere and came across very well. Never depressing but instead engaging. This album is no exception to that. There are some lighter moments too such as lead single 'So What', 'Funhouse' 'Bad Influence' (which is possibly better and catchier than So What).
The albums sound is similar in style to her last album 'I'm Not Dead' though the overall sound of the album is darker than her previous. Max Martin and Billy Mann are back producing most of the material with Tony Kanal (of No Doubt) and surprisingly Danja aswell (however the style stays true to Pink).
There are a few uptempo songs such as 'So What' 'Bad Influence' and 'It's All Your Fault' and some truly moving slower songs such as 'I Don't Believe You' and 'Glitter In The Air'. Overall there really are no weak songs at all on the album. Pink is still making pop music with the most credibility, attitude and substance and if you liked her last album then you will love this album. It has a slightly different feel but it is not a huge style change. This really is one of the best albums of 2008. I highly recommend you buy it and find it out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shades of Pink, 17 April 2009
By 
Denise hale (CHELTENHAM, Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
I loved "I'm not dead" so this was top of my Xmas list and duly supplied by my son. I like the passion in her voice, I like her humour, I like the way an "in your face" track is balanced by thoughtful, introspective realisations of the same subject. This could not have been an easy album to write but it's a great one to listen to and sing along with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P!nk Goes From Strength To Strength..., 18 Mar 2009
By 
WCW Fan (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Funhouse (Audio CD)
I must admit that I haven't always been a fan of P!nk (and that I tend to go for more "alternative" music like "Within Temptation", "Evanescence" etc), however with her switching to a more "Rock"-based style in recent years, I found myself really getting into her music and enjoying it (what sold me on her was her previous album "I'm Not Dead").

"Funhouse" is even better. It offers a variety of fun, catchy songs, rock, and gentler more melodic tunes. Of course, it features the singles "So What" (a great track, ideal as an opener for the album), "Sober" (truly beautiful) and "Please Don't Leave Me" (one of the album's best tracks and possibly one of P!nk's greatest songs ever), but also includes the moving "I Don't Believe You" (which truly separates P!nk from the "generic pop act" crowd), the well-balanced "One Foot Wrong", the fun "Bad Influence", the No Doubt-esque "Funhouse" (well, it was written by Tony Kanal), the incredible "Crystal Ball" (another slow and moving song), the superb "break-up" song "Mean" and more.

Perhaps "This Is How It Goes Down" (which features an unnecessary rap in the middle, which spoiled the song for me) and "Boring" (a very "radio-friendly" pop tune) are a little out of place here, and are quite wisely at the end of the CD (they're not bad songs, it's just that their style feels like a step back to the "old P!nk", and what this album demonstrates more than anything is how P!nk has grown as an artist and a performer).

Obviously, P!nk fans don't need telling that this album is great, but if you're not a fan yet (but have enjoyed the odd P!nk song on the radio or TV), then I urge you to give this a try. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Funhouse
Funhouse by Pink
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews