Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of the story. An absolute must have., 2 Oct 2002
By 
faliboni (Torino, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Dubliners (Audio CD)
The Dubliners formed in 1962 and this double cd-set features the first 4 albums that the band recorded for EMI between 1966 and 1969. All in all 56 essential tracks - digitally remastered - that brought Irish folk music to the masses and helped the band to establish themselves as THE Irish band. This is the original line-up - featuring Ronnie Drew and Luke Kelly - and the digital sound helps to appreciate the virtuosity of the playing and the charisma of the singing. "Whisky in the jar", "Nancy whiskey", "Roddy McCorley", "Galway races" and "The auld triangle" are only a few of the timeless classics featured here... timeless classics known to most people in their latest versions played by the Pogues, Thin Lizzy, Metallica, Shane MacGowan & the Popes... Well, that's how everything started. An absolute must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drink it up men, it's long after ten!, 19 Nov 2003
This review is from: Original Dubliners (Audio CD)
I had only previously listened to some pogues cds when i decided to seek out the real thing.
I was not disappointed. Well, there is a lot to take in here, with so many tracks but slowly i realised what an amazing set of songs there are on this cd.
Where do i start? Well, apart from the more obvious titles (to the non -fan anyway), there's Peggy Gordon, with a great vocal from Luke Kelly (I think..), there's Drink It Up Men, a tribute to "the black liquidation with the froth on the top", and The Parting Glass is a popular (to say the least) end of the night tune in Ireland, the version here is Ronny Drew typically craggy style.
Open your ears, open a bottle of the Ginger Lady (or Nancy Whiskey!) and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, 29 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Original Dubliners (Audio CD)
This is truly the Real Deal for Folk Music. Listen out for the late (and great)Luke Kelly's soaring voice on the amazing Ewan MaColl's "Bonnie Shoals of Herring" and also "I wish I was back in Liverpool". And, unless I am very much mistaken does Luke not lapse into Scouse brogue for part of the song? Invest in this now and crack open a pint bottle of the dark stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Irish folk @ it's best., 5 July 2013
By 
P. Hughes (Caerwys,North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Dubliners (Audio CD)
Most of the songs on this CD I had on some battered LP's that have not been played for years.Had almost forgotten how good this group were in their prime. Shoals of herring is the stand out for me. Musically fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The real thing, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Dubliners (MP3 Download)
This is the Dubliners at their raw best,takes me back to when I used to watch them at the Starlight Club in Blackburn,great music at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Proper Treasure Trove, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Dubliners (Audio CD)
This is such a fantastic bargain. Forget the soft core Irish folk rubbish, of which there is much. This is proper folk, properly sung and properly played by proper artists who meant what they sung. Luke Kelly's Working Class Hero is also wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Dubliners (Audio CD)
many thank you for such speedy response, fantastic cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories., 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: Original Dubliners (MP3 Download)
This reminds me of my childhood when the Dubliners were constantly plsying. I had forgotten some of the songs but they came back to me fresh as anything. A good listen for fans of Irish music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Dubliners (MP3 Download)
Great item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Dubliners
Original Dubliners by The Dubliners
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews