Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of Body of Lies - But only the truth !
Despite luke warm reviews and moderate box office performance this top notch thriller really exceeded my expectations.As you would expect from a Ridley Scott film it has stylish visuals aplenty but also has depth beneath the glossy surface.The basic plot line in itself is simple and is based around the US war on global terrorism.Within that frame work lies many shady...
Published on 1 Dec 2008 by J. D. Naylor

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very nearly great
I was really looking forward to Body of Lies. Two excellent lead actors with support from the equally excellent Golshifteh Farahani. All under the watchful eye of Ridley Scott whose visual execution is always a pleasure. Despite this I finished watching this film feeling a little short changed. The story isn't engaging enough. It isn't stong enough to run through the film...
Published on 5 April 2009 by Tangerine


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of Body of Lies - But only the truth !, 1 Dec 2008
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Of Lies [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Despite luke warm reviews and moderate box office performance this top notch thriller really exceeded my expectations.As you would expect from a Ridley Scott film it has stylish visuals aplenty but also has depth beneath the glossy surface.The basic plot line in itself is simple and is based around the US war on global terrorism.Within that frame work lies many shady characters,tailing of suspects,clues,red herrings,globe trotting adventures some decent action sequences and an horrific torture sequence which,all in all make for a quality film.True the plot is minimal and you could say that it's style over substance but hopefully you can see beyond that.What you have here is a stylish and intelligent piece of main stream film making that is more driven by character rather than plot and action.If you enjoyed the understated political thriller "Breach" starring Chris Cooper or the Gene Hackman classic "The Conversation" then you'll have an idea of the basic target audience here.Some of the films subtleties echo John le Carre rather than Tom Clancy and the action when it comes is relevant rather than something just to keep the audience awake !
Di caprio gives another top quality performance but Crowe is a disappointment in an underwritten role and not particularly convincing as a government intelligence chief.He could have been given so much more to do here to add to the film.
The running time at well over two hours could have been trimmed a little especially some of the earlier scenes but that's only a minor gripe.
All in all a pretty decent espionage thriller with brains as well as muscle.Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb thriller, 17 Mar 2009
By 
K. O'Leary (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Of Lies [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
One of the best thrillers I've seen for ages, the story has plenty of depth with many intriguing twists and turns in the plot, but Ridley Scott's story telling is so good you never find yourself wondering what's going on. Although the film also has many action packed and tense scenes, I became so immersed in what I was seeing on screen that I found watching it became a strangely relaxing experience; thoroughly enjoyable. It reminds me a lot of one of Ridley's brother Tony's efforts: Spy Game, with Robert Redford and Brad Pitt (another excellent thriller).

I wasn't much of a Di Caprio fan, but I've changed my opinion of him after this performance. In the past I've always thought he's a little flimsy to play hardman roles (he just about pulls it off in Departed), but this time he's matured enough to make a very believable CIA Operative. Russell Crowe is also brillant as Di Caprio's odious boss, he appears to have fattened himself again for this role.

The Blu-Ray presentation is also faultless; wonderful details and colours (the rocks in the desert scenes can be picked out for miles), and the sound is also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Islamic terrorism - a thought-provoking expose, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Of Lies [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a hard-hitting account of events in the life of a counter-terrorism operative (Leonard di Caprio ). It reveals the violence of terrorist action and of those who seek to contain it. The film's saving grace is the skillful twining of cause and effect, revealing how Western responses to islamic discontent can prove inappropriate and counter-productive. It manages to convey the issues along with the essential frailty of human endeavour and even ends on a note of hope for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Body of Lies, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Of Lies [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A tense thriller with plenty of twists and turns - difficult to decide who was on which side at times! The lead actors look as if they are having a blast and the scenery was fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Middle East political thriller, 6 Nov 2013
By 
S. Ahmad (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Of Lies [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Action packed? Compared to Jason Statham? I don't think so. The overall impression was that it's a complex, slightly confusing story with many characters and some action - a torture scene, and, very effective and pertinent, what it's like to be at the receiving end of drones - and what it's like to be at the control end thousands of miles away. It raises the issue of the dubious morality of modern warfare, where people far away, in state-of-the art luxurious surroundings are effectively playing a computer game with peoples lives on the other side of the world - who may be genuine military targets or civilians & innocent bystanders. Additionally, you have a nice contrast between the controller in the Defence Department in Washington, who enjoys his pampered good life while at the same time being in constant contact with his agent on the ground doing the dirty & dangerous work. Talk about a disconnect. The film works well in that it shows the complexity of Middle East politics, the many different national, sectarian, racial groups,all with different allegiances - so that you never really know who to trust and if people are who they really say they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Film With Class, 3 April 2009
This review is from: Body Of Lies [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A superb film which is smart, funny, tense and absorbing. The acting is undeniably good with Crowe and Dicaprio having a true chemistry together something shown by the often funny exchange of words between the the both of them. The storyline is excellent albeit quite complex and constantly evolves throughout the film which keep ones interest in the film through its 128 minutes duration that feels far shorter. The script deserves a special mention as does the as usual clinical direction by Ridley Scott. If you liked Blood Diamond, Black Hawk Down and The Kingdom, you will like this. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Thriller, 7 April 2009
By 
NeilC (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Body Of Lies [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of DiCaprio as I think he's made a string of excellent films (The Departed, The Aviator etc.). While Body of Lies isn't as good as either of these, it's still a solid effort that keeps you gripped with a plot that ebbs and flows with twist and betrayal across a variety of well-shot locations. The film has enough depth to keep you interested and moves along at a fair pace without seeming over long.

My only big gripe is the annoying American angle on it, whereby every middle-eastern character after 2 sentences of arabic (to give it "realism") suddenly bursts into perfect English. Iraqi insurgents, Jordanian secret service, ultra-secretive terrorist leaders, no-one is immune!

Probably not one for the collection, but definitely worth a rental or 2nd hand buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very nearly great, 5 April 2009
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Body Of Lies [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to Body of Lies. Two excellent lead actors with support from the equally excellent Golshifteh Farahani. All under the watchful eye of Ridley Scott whose visual execution is always a pleasure. Despite this I finished watching this film feeling a little short changed. The story isn't engaging enough. It isn't stong enough to run through the film as a spine. The basis of an idea was there but I just didn't feel it was carried all the way through like I had hoped. The real message being delivered here is how a more subtle approach can bring information dividends rather than taking a more clumsy, brash approach. The suggestion in the film being that the current American approach has not yielded the intelligence it could have if they had been as subtle as it may have been. Ferris (Di Caprio) recognises this whilst Hoffman (Crowe) is of the view that bad things have to be done to win the day. This is a standard approach for this sort of film - pupil and master disagree before parting company in the long term. It has been done before and whilst this isn't Ridley Scott's fault as the film is based on the novel by David Ignatius they could have dealt with this better. I have read the book and it is far more enjoyable than the film. Body of Lies is a well polished film but lacks a real core. The adaptation from written word to film has not gone well. Despite this it is worth watching but don't expect too much from it. It is just another Hollywood blockbuster and overall, despite some elements that were well done I didn't find it satisfying enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Of Lies [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I watched the film, then read the book, then went back and bought the film to watch it again. I loved this film. There is a lovely balance of action and proper 'spy work' in it, and it also features solid performances from the cast. I'd recommend the film, and also the book to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 29 April 2009
By 
Craig Mills "Metus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Of Lies [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Body of Lies continues director Ridley Scott's consistency of making top-quality movies, I'm never disappointed with his work, and there was no change here.

The acting was good, DiCaprio, Crowe and all the surrounding cast performed well, I particularly enjoyed Mark Strong's performance as head of Jordanian intelligence Hani Salaam.

The plot moved along nicely, the film didn't feel too short or long, and I felt it had suitable pace to it, the cinematography was top-notch and the music, while not particularly memorable, supported the film well.

Overall, I would recommend Body of Lies quite highly, it's not a masterpiece, and dosen't do a whole lot new, but it dosen't do much wrong either, it's certainly worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body Of Lies [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free]
Body Of Lies [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2009)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews