Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Noir in Bright Daylight
This was the best film made in '97 but like Polanski's "Chinatown" it is destined to become one of the finest movies NOT to take the Oscar home. Curtis Hanson took James Ellroy's novel, a book many doubted could be translated to the film medium, and co-wrote one of the finest adapted screenplays ever done. He then brought on board a couple of Aussie unknowns, a gorgeous...
Published on 11 Jan. 2003

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Throws the kitchen sink at you
I've watched it a couple of times now, I made myself give it another go after I was a little overwhelmed by it all the first time. My only problem with this film is that it really really wants you to love it, and puts absolutely everything into that quest, and the budget was evidently unlimited. The result, for me at least, is a colourful noir that has all the classic...
Published on 25 Jun. 2008 by Lou Knee


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets More Rewarding Every time you Watch It, 20 April 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The fact that this film was overlooked at the Oscar's in favour of Titanic and As Good as it Gets is more criminal than most of the characters here in. Not that I am knocking those two films, but LA Confidential is just a pure dream that gets better the more you watch it.

One word of warning is that the plot is very confusing the first time around. Names like Meeks, Stensland, Rolo Tomoassi and Piers Patchett will leave your head spinning but the film is good enough to make you come back to it. Russell Crowe is fantastic (the best performance of his career), Kevin Spacey is also superb and as for the rest? Well, let's just say no one lets the side down. The directing is hypnotically good and the story is a brilliant piece of screen writing and a wonderfully interwoven plot.

I watched this film so much that I eventually had to stop to avoid ruining it, but seeing on TV again this weekend was enough to get me back to write this review. It stands alongside the Shawshank Redemption, Goodfellas and Fight Club as one of the absolute best films of the 1990s that will be appreciated much more in years to come. An absolute gem which should be mandatory in schools, just watch it, this film is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
Bobby (Button Moon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L.A. Confidential [Blu-ray] [1997] (Blu-ray)
A stunning Blu Ray transfer for this and an overall great package. The film itself is something of a masterpiece but in HD it shines like never before. The cars and the costumes take you into different world because of the clarity of the picture and with the cast on top form too it is simply stunning.

A must own for any fan of the film regardless how many other copies you own.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good cop, bad cop routine!, 12 Dec. 2010
By 
Nigel Mc (The Chilterns) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Confidential [Blu-ray] [1997] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite American crime movies and I am so pleased that Warner's have produced such an excellent version in Blu-ray. Recently, a colleague loaned me his copy of Training Day - which he believed to be a good crime movie. Much as I like Denzel Washington I didn't especially like that film and compared to LA Confidential that film would only really merit 1* at best!

LA Confidential has an interesting and complicated plot. The film has numerous twists and turns and will have you riveted to your seat even on repeated viewings. The film is, to a large extent, believable and it has a credible, gritty script and its credibility no doubt has its foundation in the life style of its author James Ellroy. Ellroy was born in Los Angeles and had a practical knowledge of policing methods having been convicted of various crimes including burgary. He was also aware of the excellent work of Joseph Wambaugh. Is it any wonder that the script should so realistic? Police officers talk like police officers, the police culture is an embedded part of the script. Unsavoury as that may be the script is credible and believable - warts and all!

I am not sure about the origin of the 'good cop, bad cop' scene with the District Attorney. This was probably wistful thinking on someone's part. It would be nice if the DA had got his come uppance in such a way but this is perhaps stretching credibility. The final shoot-out is also a little far fetched but some licence needs to be given in the interests of making the story more enjoyable for the viewer. At some stage I would like to read Ellroy's book to discover the differences between book and film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hush hush, 15 Nov. 2003
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a gripping thriller from beginning to end, succeeding in capturing the noirish mood of the book while retaining a sense of humour and joie de vivre. Many would have turned in a formulaic and cliched number with this material, but Hanson has taken infinite care to craft a stylish vision of the 50s, populated by living, breathing characters. He coaxes sympathetic performances from an excellent cast, enabling delivery of successive plot twists with panache without losing any clarity or credibility.
The quality is evident when you watch LA Confidential again. Each time, you notice more detail and appreciate the subtlety employed in fleshing out Elroy's world and builiding up layers of suspense.
Magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever Crime Thriller with Lots of Loose Ends for the Viewer to Tie Up, 11 July 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a review of the special edition of this film. Admittedly, its subject matter would not ordinarily attract me, but it is so well-written, so well-shot and directed that it is worth watching many times. It's a clever crime thriller with lots of loose ends to tie up. With top-notch performances from its all-star cast and with a good score from Jerry Goldsmith (you can watch the film with just its music soundtrack), one can appreciate why the film garnered so many awards.

It's 1953. Mickey Cohen, Los Angeles's biggest crook, is behind bars. So who's filling the gap in the city's organised crime community? You'll never guess! (Or maybe you will.) With its story of racism, violence and corruption within the police force, and its crooked links with the media, the subject-matter has much present-day relevance.

There are some generous extras on this special edition. There are lots of biographies and production notes about the stars and the crew. There's also a lot of background information that spells out the actual circumstances on which the film is based. (For example, there really was a Mickey Cohen.) In addition, there is a twenty-minute behind-the-scenes featurette, and a ten-minute review of director Curtis Hanson's photo-pitch for the film to its producers. All that's missing is a director's commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This film is truly amazing. All performances are sublimely delivered and the soundtrack fits to a T what the film is about. The DVD itself is stocked full of extras too. Including documentaries and filmographies. The Dolby Digital sound delivers a truly engulfing atmosphere complementing perfectly what you see on screen; in particular the film's Big Finale. Definitely worth its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, 28 Dec. 2007
I have watched this film about 50 times and it's never boring. From Curtis Hanson's direction, Brian Helgeland's script and the performances of the three leads, this is perfect in almost every way. Each time I watch it I spot more subtleties that I hadn't noticed before. The story is just about perfect, and the fact that Hollywood doesn't churn out more thrillers like this is a major disappointment. This is probably the best performance of Russel Crowe's career, or Kevin Spacey's come to that. Guy Pearce is also excellent as Ed Exley.
If you want to see an intelligent film that's also very believable and full of action, then this is it.
Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Film, 5 Nov. 2007
By 
M. Godenho "mg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is a must see. The cast is excellent and the story is addictive, in depth and full of twists. In fact there's not many reasons to dislike this movie!

Guy Pearce plays a straight good cop. Russell Crowe plays a slightly dodgy bad cop. Kevin Spacey plays a "media loving" cop and I won't say any more because it will give it all away.

Needless to say there are movies that you MUST SEE - Like Goodfellows, The Godfather, Ben Hur etc. I would easily rate this film as a must see along side those classics.

If you've seen it them you'll kow what I'm saying. If you haven't, then what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, instant classic, 11 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always loved this movie, since the moment I went to see to the cinema to watch it, but I have never bought a DVD copy, although I have no idea why....finally I bought this special edition and I have to say that I am really happy, as I have remembered why this movie is on my favourite list.
It has everything a good movie should have: a beautiful woman, with elegance and classic beauty, mystery, good cops, bad cops and some of them in the gray areas of life, you have movie stars, gossipmongers, corruption, drugs, sex, and scandal. Basically this movie is all that the Black Dalhia wanted to be but couldn't.
Kim Basinger is excellent here, perfect in every scene she is in, but she is not the only one that shines here, the whole cast is fantastic, Russell Crowe was not as famous here as in Gladiator but his performance was brilliant, and Guy Pearce and the reas were just as good.

Highly recommended and this DVD has lots of surprises, like the pilot of the series.
Now, the language information: Languages (English, German, Spanish) and subtitles (English, Spanish, Danish, Estonian, Finnish, German, Norwegian, Swedish)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't mess with Mr Inbetween", 9 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
It was Kim Basinger who won the Oscar for "LA Confidential" but the real stars were Guy Pearce and Russell Crowe. The two ex-"Neighbours" actors both give towering performances in a truly wonderful movie about corruption and violence within the police force.
Set in the 1950's the feel of the age is beautifully captured through the soundtrack and the excellent costumes.
Kevin Spacey supports Pearce and Crowe with another sublime characterisation and Danny Devito is by turns comic and tragic.
One of those films you simply don't want to end-tremendous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L.A. Confidential [Blu-ray] [1997]
L.A. Confidential [Blu-ray] [1997] by Kevin Spacey (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews