Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth It just For The Photos!
So, you're thinking of buying "Bomb the Rocks". Perhaps you saw the band playing on "Kill Bill". If you did, hesitate no more! This disc is worth the money just for the band photos in the booklet!
If you just got here by following random links or something, you've hit pay dirt! The 5678's are three (sometimes more) Japanese women who dress in bizzarre sixties...
Published on 14 May 2004 by tinalove2love

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
Arrived on time which was good but the CD case itself was cracked in a few places and as I was giving this as a christmas present I wasn't too pleased to have to give it to them in that condition. Otherwise generally good.
Published on 23 Dec 2009 by K. A. Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth It just For The Photos!, 14 May 2004
So, you're thinking of buying "Bomb the Rocks". Perhaps you saw the band playing on "Kill Bill". If you did, hesitate no more! This disc is worth the money just for the band photos in the booklet!
If you just got here by following random links or something, you've hit pay dirt! The 5678's are three (sometimes more) Japanese women who dress in bizzarre sixties clothes and play fuzzed up raunchy covers of old tunes from the 50's and 60's, like "Roadrunner" whilst doing the twist in bare feet. Could anything be cooler? Well, yes, what if they also didn't speak English too well, so that they mangled up the words of the songs a bit. That would be way cool, nah?
Only one draw back here. They've made loads of other albums which you'll have to pay mucho mucho to import from Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had known about these girls before the film., 13 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of course I only came to hear about this band through the film, This is fun music, I listen to this album with a smile on my face. Fantastic album, cool band. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and extremely cool, 2 Nov 2004
I recently bought this CD like most people after seeing them in Quentin Tarrantino's Kill Bill Vol. 1.
The song range from 50's rock and roll to 90's punk. Ok so the vocals are a bit shaky but the instrumental performance is mind blowing. I especially love the drummer, she provides raw energy to the tracks.
Woo Hoo is still my fave track just because it is so catchy (the song from the Carling advert). Bomb the Twist, Three Cool Chicks and She Was a Mau Mau are all cracking tracks too.
All in all a cool, trendy funky original album to own. Buy It!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early hits writ large!, 30 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This really is a case of `if you don't like this you don't like music'. Not because it is the greatest thing you have ever heard but because this is what music should be about... sometimes we forget music should entertain and not `impress' you.

Only 2 or 3 songs get past the 3 minute mark, most are 12-bar blues with no more than about 5 or 6 lines of repeated lyrics and every one of them will blow you away with the energy and power available to this band.

Buy it, love it, start a garage rock band and love every second of it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Count Four, 26 Nov 2012
I first heard of the 5678s via a CD called "And Now For The Girls" on the Sympathy For The Record Industry" years before the hit in the U K with Woo Hoo which I recognised as an instrumental by the Rock A Teens in the 50s
Seems it was because of the inclusion of it in a movie called Kill Bill
So here's a collection of vocals and instros from a Japanese girl group who seem to have picked up all the tricks by listening to Western music even to passing some of it off as their own work
Thus Pinball Party is half Wipeout and half Telstar
Their version of Long Tall Sally bears only a slight resemblance to all other versions
The name 5678 refers to the fact that in they love the music from the 50s to the 80s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frantic fun!, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast, furious & a whole heap of fun, The 5.6.7.8's deliver 27 tracks of noisy, feel-good, foot-stomping music that you can't help smiling to. And their poor grasp of English adds even more fun to their music! If you've heard them on, you know, THAT film, then you know what to expect & the rest of the album is more of the same, without a single slow track. There's also lots of fantastic pics of the band, mostly in bizarre '50's B-movie type costumes. This is as kitsch & as fun as it gets!

Most of their music was brought out on EPs, rather than full-length albums & was only released in Japan, so if you want to give the 5.6.7.8's a try, this compilation is by far the easiest way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'New' discovery of the year, 23 April 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What ever you do, don't mix this up for the Steps EP of the same name. The5-6-7-8's are a 3-piece japanese band of banshee-esk girls who haverecenly shot to the surface as the band from the huge fight-scene in KillBill Vol.1. Dirty and raw which some fantastic guitar riffs and excitingdrums. This band is as original as it's still possible to get (forget theDarkness, this is it the real thing.). Tarantino loves them (after heconvinced a clothes-shop clerk in Japan to sell his copy on hearing itwhile passing by to catch a plane), Kurt Cobain would have loved them, Ilove them, so should you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 23 Dec 2009
By 
K. A. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Arrived on time which was good but the CD case itself was cracked in a few places and as I was giving this as a christmas present I wasn't too pleased to have to give it to them in that condition. Otherwise generally good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews