Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars124
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2006
This album is bursting with energy. It takes the excited, almost child-like glee and presence of pop-rock with the sound of great indie. What you get is music that sound great, even on repeat, and a band that is also highly likeable. They sound like the kind of people you would want to meet in a pub and have a light-hearted chat with. This album features some great songs ("Sofa Song" stands out, as well as "Eddie's Gun") and I would recommend it to anyone. It seems suitable for any mood or occasion. With that glowing praise I still can't give it 5 stars as that 5th star is reserved for albums of legendary status. This album is very good, buy it now and let it all go.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2006
This CD includes songs taken from two live acoustic shows (one at Abbey Road and one in Osaka, Japan).

I am a massive Kooks fan and it was great to listen to the songs from their album "Inside In Inside Out" acoustically, recorded live.

The above amazon track listing is not correct, but the CD does feature most of the songs listed, plus a brilliant version of "California".

There is even a bit of commentary between songs from Luke Pritchard, as he talks to the audience.
0Comment17 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2006
Right, so you're being hit over the head by the ever growing hype of the cool Arctic Monkeys and then another one of those "The ..." bands comes along and you think, 'not again'. And that's where you've made your mistake, because The Kooks are not just another one of THOSE bands. They are so much more.
On the off chance I listened to my friends copy of this album and heard Seaside and that pretty much sold the band to me. I discovered the joy of living in a coastal town during university (sunny Bournemouth if you're wondering) and something so simple as track one, where lead singer Pritchard invites the listener "Do you want to go to the seaside?", connected with me on such a simple yet emotional level that I haven't experienced since Counting Crows' debut album.
Any way, that is just 1 minute and 40 seconds long and is different to everything that follows. The next 13 tracks contain addictive riffs, very passionate vocals and a sound that stands out from anything out there at the moment. The lyrics can certainly be improved upon, and it does not provide as much variety as such stellar debuts as Definitely Maybe or Parachutes (yes, it's this good that I will even dare compare it to those masterpieces). But in Ooh La, She Moves In Her Own Way, Naive, Jackie Big Tits and Time Awaits (they wa it opens and ends sounds like two drastically different songs; amazing!) you have enough singles here to make other bands blush. As a result I booked tickets to see them at the Astoria, bought two copies of the album (well my girlfriend can't seriously be borrowing mine now can she?!) and will be telling every mate of mine to listen to them.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2007
I couldn't disagree more with the opinion that this album only has one good track on it. It's not a classic album - not by a long shot - but it's a decent debut with some pretty catchy songs. My favourites are 'Seaside', 'Ooh La' and the two biggest singles 'You Don't Love Me' and 'She Moves in her Own Way'. But there are some other good songs on there too (and yeah, a couple that aren't quite so great)...

I guess it depends on the expectations you bring to an album like this. With the last couple of years in British music being, in my opinion, pretty dire, this was a nice surprise for me. A bit raw around the edges perhaps, but well put together, decent song writing, and some impressive musicianship (I saw a live acoustic version of 'Ooh La' on what I think was the Glastonbury coverage last year, and the guitar playing on that was fantastic - that's what convinced me to buy the cd).

Good to sing along to. Enjoyable. Puts a bit of faith back in the British music scene. You can't ask for an awful lot more than that can you?
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2006
This album is amazing, forget the Artic Monkeys, Hard Fi's, Franz Ferdinands etc because the Kooks blow them all away with this stunning debut album.
The album is so varied with standout tracks "She Moves In Her Own Way", "Sofa Song","Eddie's Gun" and "Ooh La".
If you're a fan of Indie/Rock - The Kooks will be at T In the Park, Isle Wight, and Oxygen festivals this summer.
Finally if you've never heard of the Kooks they are releasing "Naive" on March 27th 2006.
Kooks Fans - lets hope it hits number 1!!!!!!!
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2006
I'm not going to come on here and write a load of stuff thinking I'm some great music critic. Straight up, this is one of the best albums I've heard in my 23 years on this planet. It's not a grower, it's bang on the money from the first time you hear it. I'm going to see them in October and I can't wait. Naive is not the best song on the album, far from it. Buy it, I promise it will be the smartest money you'll ever spend. The first song is soooooo good. One last comment, 5 stars are not enough.
11 comment28 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 April 2015
The Kooks were a big part of my middle secondary school years. I listened to their first album 'Inside In/Inside Out' constantly, and it's still being played today. If indie music is you're thing, you will not be disappointed by this cracking debut, which is now almost ten years old.

Although the band have since released three more albums (the most recent, Listen in 2014), you could mistake this now classic release for a greatest hits album, as it spawned six top 40 UK hit singles: 'Eddie's Gun', 'Sofa Song', 'You Don't Love Me', 'Naïve' (top ten), 'She Moves in her Own Way' (second top ten), and 'Ooh La'. Things open up with the Coldplay like acoustic 'Seaside' which, along with the humorous 'Jackie Big Tits', provide the album-only highlights.

Luke Pritchard is an excellent vocalist, and 'Inside In/Inside Out' is packed from top to bottom with simple yet smart, highly sing-able songs. I will always have a soft spot for this album, not just for the memories, but because it's just good fun and catchy music. Music lovers at the time fell in love with this talented young indie-pop band, who knew how to write and perform tunes with high energy and beautiful melodies. Their second album Konk is also well worth seeking out. British music really is so often wonderful!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2006
I bought this album on the back of hearing Naive on the radio. Naive is an amazing song but it's one of the worst on the album, that tells you just how good Inside In/Inside Out is. It's one of those imense albums where every song is amazing, the last (relitevly) recent album i heard that even came close to such afeet was Hot Fuss(Killers) or perhaps There's Nothing Left to Loose(foos).

Inside in inside out keeps you on your toes with lots of quite short (2-3min)tracks.(no short songs have been so good since the Britpop classic Song 2, Wooohooo!). They're constantly moving on to yet anouther amazing one, with great acoustic guitar,lyrics and vocals this is the best indie album for yonks

Get it!!!!
11 comment18 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 July 2006
From the moment that Seaside begins, you will be utterly hooked with this album. The hooks are infectious and addictive, and Luke Pritchard's voice neither overpowers nor fades into obscurity but floats along in perfect accompaniment to the acoustic arrangements behind it. The opening track is far from conventional, as opening tracks go, but that is part of the beauty of it and sets the tone for what is to come in splendid style. Naive is the song that most will probably recognise, but by no means towers over this album. Rather, this is most certainly a wonderful slice of indie rock that is never intrusive but begs to be listened to from start to finish.

Glorious!
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2006
Basically, i dont like much modern music. Most i find is commercialised bland rubbish, with loads of studio tweaking and poor musicianship. This album, in my opninion, is one of the best of recent times. Lets go through the standout tracks in my opinion:

1: Seaside. Quite frankly i cant imagine a much better opener. this is emotive and enjoyable, and quite sad if youve already got the blues im sure!

3: Sofa song: This is great to dance to at parties and the lyrics and first guitar solo are very happy (theres no other way to describe it).

5: Ooh la: Just catchy

6: You dont love me: Slightly too indie but the first part of the song especially is catchy nd fun.

7: She moves in her own way: Most peoples tout for the gest song on the album i think, and i would agree, wonderful lyrics, catchy, summery and a good guitar solo too.

8: Matchbox: Quite odd in my opinion but one of my favourite tracks on the album

9: Naive: Overplayed on the radio but still a wonderful song that will ahve you singing along throughout

13: Time Awaits: The only of the latter songs that i really like, this is amazing and the in/out phasing guitar at the end puts me in mind that things are going to be big for this band in the future

Overall, this album is not my usual taste in music. im not really an indie fan (i dont liek babyshambles, libertines, aric monkeys etc) and yet this is my kind of album - it shows that there are great things to come and that the singer has a great maturity especially. Im a massive skynyrd, zeppelin and lizzy fan, and yet this will certainly be played by me alot!!!

buy it now and dont listen to the other people who have had a go at this on here!!!
0Comment20 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.