Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album for the ages.
Though Cole and Shearing came from totally different backgrounds, their approach to music was similar, and in this remastered CD of the original 1961 album, the two find the perfect blend of sound and mood, allowing each to be himself while complementing the other. Cole is a crooner here, singing mellow, usually romantic ballads, and often sliding down the scale to his...
Published on 30 Aug 2005 by Mary Whipple

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly remastered
Disappointed in the balance, unless I just got a bad copy.. Nat King Cole sounds great but Shearing's piano sounds as if it were in the next room with the door closed!
Published 8 months ago by D. T. MACLEAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album for the ages., 30 Aug 2005
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Though Cole and Shearing came from totally different backgrounds, their approach to music was similar, and in this remastered CD of the original 1961 album, the two find the perfect blend of sound and mood, allowing each to be himself while complementing the other. Cole is a crooner here, singing mellow, usually romantic ballads, and often sliding down the scale to his lower notes. Shearing plays quiet, inventive, and "tinkly" accompaniments in the background, without ever stepping on Cole's notes. Both are gentlemen of the old school who maintain a professionalism and formality which shows clear respect for the audience and for each other, while at the same time conveying a sense of controlled passion and warmth for the music.
Varying the sound from the easy swing beat of "Pick Yourself Up," in which Cole offers gentle advice, rather than an assertive recommendation, to the Latin beat of "Serenata" and "The Game of Love," the very slow ballads of "Lost April" and "I Got It Bad," and the less familiar songs of "There's a Lull in My Life" and "Don't Go," Cole uses phrasings which make overly familiar lyrics suddenly come alive. Shearing, keeping his piano accompaniments relatively simple, adds to the moods Cole creates, while Ralph Carmichael, with the String Choir, fills in the arrangements.
Three songs stand out: "Let There Be Love" begins with a bluesy piano intro and light percussion, until Cole and Shearing guide the song into somewhat louder and jazzier realms near the end. "Fly Me to the Moon" is sung much more slowly than usual, sounding more intimate and private as a result, as if Cole is singing directly to the audience in phrasings that sound conversational. "The Game of Love," with its syncopated Latin beat has a great piano solo by Shearing, flute-y piccolo sounds, and a more integrated accompaniment with the strings. Cole's phrasing is reminiscent of Belafonte here.
For listeners more accustomed to the minimalist percussion and piano accompaniments of modern jazz and ballad soloists, the inclusion of the heavy strings of the String Choir may sound a bit dated and a bit intrusive, an overly romantic (Nelson Riddle-like) element commonly included on recordings at that time. Cole and Shearing adapt to the strings beautifully, leaving room for them while keeping their own styles simple. With beautiful songs rendered even more beautiful by the partnership of Cole and Shearing, this is an album for the ages. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem, 21 Dec 2009
By 
bugrit (North Yorks) - See all my reviews
There is no doubt about it, this one is an absolute gem.

Here we have a pianist-turned-vocalist who simply rejoices in what his piano sideman is doing. Nat later described George's "double-doogies" (whatever they are) as something magical and there is no doubt that Shearing was equally inspired by his illustrious lead's vocalising.

Their "Let There Be Love" is a perfection, an evergreen, an immortal and that one track alone is worth the price of the entire album.

George Shearing did it again when he accompanied Peggy Lee on their "Beauty and the Beat" album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nat Cole sings and George Shearing plays, 22 Dec 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Two stars (and more) for the price of one!! Here we have the Shearing Quintet (with Emil Richards on vibes, Al Hendrickson on guitar, Al McKibbon on bass and Shelly Manne on drums) and the strings of the Ralph Carmichael orchestra accompanying, or I should say partnering, Nat `King' Cole. All of the tracks are either slow and romantic (`I got it bad and that ain't good'; `Lost April') or gently swinging (`A beautiful friendship'; `Pick yourself up'; `Let there be love'). There's a fascinating syncopated Latin arrangement of `Everything happens to me' as one of three bonus tracks. Leroy Anderson's `Serenata' is also in a gentle Latin rhythm with some atmospheric flute playing. The arrangements are by Ralph Carmichael and Shearing. A lovely disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD brings together the mastery of 2 musical greats., 7 Dec 2000
By 
dcheetham1@aol.com (Stockport, England) - See all my reviews
Nearly 40 years ago I bought the LP on which this CD is based. It started a musical love affair with both these fine artists. The bonus is that there are 3 extra tracks on the CD which weren't on the original LP. Hearing this CD again is like being reunited with an old friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nat and George perfect!, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Sally Smith "Sues" (Beautiful Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Wonderful relaxing combination of both artists at their best, I cant stop playing it in the evenings, real unwinding music! Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 3 Mar 2009
A Kid's Review
George Shearing with piano, and Nat King Cole by singing make this a beautiful cd. I specially like "fly me to the moon". Definetely I'd recommended this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the Hall of Fame, 9 Aug 2008
By 
E. B. Rawlinson "Bryan Rawlinson" (Stockport England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The combination of the great man Nat, & the man from England, ( His protege ) was a work of genious. The master (now a vocalist) and pupil as accompanying pianist.
I bought this album some years ago, and the CD version remains in the glove box of my car, to soothe my savage breast, when confronting the other idiots on the road. Super music. Isn't it sad that the young people of today don't know what they are missing ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly remastered, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointed in the balance, unless I just got a bad copy.. Nat King Cole sounds great but Shearing's piano sounds as if it were in the next room with the door closed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Wispa (Paraparaumu, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The CD itself was good but the case was broken in the centre where the CD clips in, otherwise happy with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Advance Nat King Cole songs, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD was hardly found in HK, and this is worth to find this in Amazon with fairly reasonable price. The songs inside are less popular comparing with other Nat King Cole compilation, the sound quality is impressive as the album was recorded in late stage of Nat. For the fans who wanna know more about Nat King Cole, this is a great album that worth to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nat King Cole Sings/The George Shearing Quintet Plays
Nat King Cole Sings/The George Shearing Quintet Plays by Nat King Cole And George Shearing
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews