Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant movie for the ladies
This movie is a very pleasant and amusing movie for the women folk. All of the actresses are superb and put in excellent performances.
Published 4 months ago by S D SHARPE

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars another star driven romantic disappointment
Wealthy Mary Haines (Ryan) leaves her husband after she finds out from
her socialite friends he has been cheating with the attractive sales
girl Crystal Allen (Mendes) Ryan, Bening, Mendes, Messing and Pinkett
Smith are the stars in Diane English's adaptation of the hit 1939 hit
The Women. All these big stars have had their names printed in the...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Stampy


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
As major Chick Flicks go it was only ok. Actually thought the best bits were in the original trailer. Dissappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This film was a disappointment. It seemed as though it was trying to be Sex and The City but it failed. The original film was far better. Some re-makes just don't work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD MOVIE, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
ONE OF MY FAVORITES MOVIES LOVE IT, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, BUY USED ALL MY MOVIES ARE CHEAPER IT IS GOOD QUALITY AND HELP THE PLANET
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great fun while inspiring to find your destiny call, 16 July 2013
By 
D. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a well acted, cleverly written, great fun, feel good movie which also gives insight to how important it is to find our call and fulfill our destiny when Meg Ryan's character sets out to do that after several setbacks and how she comes over those setbacks which is very inspirational and can motivate everyone to look into their own lives and make the necessary changes to fulfill their own destiny...

Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars if stuck worth watching, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The actresses in it have all made good names for themselves but the film itself was just ok & if there's nothing on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful - terrible script, badly directed - mildly entertaining, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Fairy Godmother (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Just watched this on TV. The acting is good from some fine actresses, but the film is cringe-makingly bad, with terribly cliche'd lines and drama. It is in a similar vein to a second-rate 'Sex and the City' TV episode. It seems disjointed and the plot jumps from one scene to another, seemingly missing some kind of important connection along the way. The plot is not original - woman finds out husband has been unfaithful with a sexy floozie - leading to post-divorce 'finding myself' (briefly). This theme is not original and has been done very much better in other films. (Think 'Under the Tuscan Sun' which is a much better post-divorce film - still lightweight, but produces emotion and reactions).

What it lacks hugely - is a decent script. The words and screeching that come out of the mouths of the women, are just not cinema. To be honest, it makes women look lightweight, air-headed and capable of nothing except thinking about fashion.

I haven't seen the old version, but trying to do a remake just hasn't worked - it needed some pithy screen-writing - and an up-to-date story - plus a bit of drama.

I haven't given it one star though - the two stars is because it was mildly interesting and interesting to see older female actresses starring.

For a really excellent film about 'Women' see 'Enchanted April' which is in a much higher league with fantastic dialogue, script and direction. Less famous actresses (except in the Uk - Miranda Richardson and Josie Lawrence) - thought-provoking, moving and beautifully filmed. It does help that this particular film was a good novel first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as some reviews suggest, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I was not looking forward to watching this film - I'm a huge fan of the original George Cukor gem, which is a classic of wit, glamour and satire and one of my favourite films. I am also a devotee of Rosalind Russell and her turn in the original, as the horrendous Sylvia, is a stand-out comedy performance. By contrast, the reviews I read of this remake were mostly scathing, so I prepared myself for the worst - perhaps that's why I didn't find it quite as dreadful as everyone makes out.

True, it doesn't have the crispness, verve, or sophistication of the original - but I don't think it's meant to. The original version of 'The Women' pretty much invented the concept of the chick-flick and it was a product of its era. It has a 1930s polish to it that typifies films of that time. The 2008 re-working of 'The Women' is undoubtedly tepid by comparison - the script does not crackle in the same way. However, it's far easier to make a script crackle when you are pitting the characters against each other - bitchy put-downs are always funnier than heartfelt emotion and arch brittleness always comes across as being far wittier than simple truths. However, we live in a different era, now - and although I could wish for a bit of 30s glamour and sophistication in modern culture, there's no doubt, this is a better era for women to be living in. The old chestnut of a plot that cautions: 'Women Beware Women' is (thankfully) not as relevant as it once was - women's friendships are recognized and celebrated by the modern media, in a way they rarely were, eighty years ago. I suspect that is why Diane English chose to take the film in the direction she did - she decided to focus on women's support for each other, rather than cooking up a bitch-fest. And good for her - it gives the film a more positive and healing, pro-female message that few films have, even today. If the theme of the original film was: 'Women Beware Women', the plot of the re-make is: 'Women Celebrate Women'.

Sadly, this doesn't make it a brilliant film - it just makes it a mildly entertaining feel-good chick-flick, albeit one with a noble aim. But comparing it to the original is fairly fruitless - in spite of the mirroring of plot and character, the original is a very different film, because it was made with a very different purpose, in a very different era. And although Rosalind Russell's Sylvia remains a shining example of bitching comedy genius, Anette Benning's Sylvie is far more complex, sympathetic, likeable and authentic - far more like a real woman, in fact.

The only point I would agree with most other reviewers about is the casting of Meg Ryan as Mary Haines - this was a terrible choice, simply because of Ms Ryan's disturbingly altered face. Given that Diane English's reasons for altering the tone of her re-make seem to be in order to create a more positive message for women, it seems very odd casting. Injecting your body with that much botox is indicative of a profound degree of self-loathing and insecurity that doesn't sit at all well in a film that supposedly celebrates female empowerment. Similarly, Mary's fashion collection at the end of the film - supposedly a representation of her new, creative freedom and identity - is a lean and mean collection of clothing that would look good only on the ultra-thin models that are seen modelling it... given that the Mary Haines in this version is the devoted mother of a young daughter with an increasingly-distorted body image and high anxiety about her weight, it seems very unlikely that she would create such a punitive fashion collection. Yes, I know it's only a light-weight comedy, but why include these themes, unless you are going to address them? If Diane English had had the bottle to follow through this potentially complex and relevant plot thread, she might have created a really interesting film - not at all like the original, but inspiring and thoughtful in its own right. Sadly, she bottled it - and the result is a mildly-entertaining girl flick, rather than the joyous celebration of women that I suspect she originally had in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great viewing, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. P. Lewis (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Lots of fun. Great cast. Excellent entertainment. From start to finish for. The man who thinks the grass is greener. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Tripe, 28 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Seriously. Just awful. Like a trip to a menagerie with all that twittering and squawking. Stupid story. Woeful performances. Jada Smith serves no purpose whatsoever. My wife summed it up perfectly. "That was absolute garbage" (without a hint of a smile). LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FUN COMEDY WITH A GREAT CAST, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Women [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I remember when this movie came out it got totally panned by critics. I finally watched it on tv today and i dont get the hatred as i really enjoyed it. This is pure entertainment with an excellent cast, all of whom gave a great performance. The only disappointment with the film was that certain cast members like Jada Pinkett Smith and Bette Middler were under used. Also the pot smoking scene seemed pointless and does not set a good example for younger viewers. Despite this i would still recommend this film to anyone looking for a good light hearted comedy to pass a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf2b3cc)

This product

The Women [DVD] [2008]
The Women [DVD] [2008] by Meg Ryan (DVD - 2009)
3.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews