Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a shock.....
.....But not an entirely unpleasant on. It does take some getting used to though. The first two albums were very guitar based and this leans heavily to a more electropop direction, so it seems very weird at first. 'No you girls' 'What She Came For' and 'Live Alone' is a very catchy typically Franz rock/pop song in the vein of 'Do you want to' but the other tracks so...
Published on 23 Jan 2009 by Miss D. Miu

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars bad
One cd is missing, I only received the special edition cd and not the tonight one. I am disappointed this time
Published 13 months ago by Alessandra Marivo


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected and Utterly Brilliant, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Babelmonkey (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
After the somewhat disappointing You Could Have Had It So Much Better, Franz Ferdinand took the more electropop route with Tonight, to outraged complaints from diehard fans and to my own personal disquiet - I've never been a great fan of the style. After a few listens, however, I was not only won over, but it has become one of my favourite albums.

Although Ulysses is the popular song (and is undoubtedly a great song), my personal favourites are Can't Stop Feeling and Lucid Dreams, the former being a head-bopping, exciting romp that would make a great single; the latter equally brilliant but infused with a three or four dream-synth (my musical lexicon can summon no 'official' definition) which makes it very different - and consequently memorable - when compared to my usual music tastes. However, all the songs are strong, with the interesting tactic of repeated lyrics used in No You Girls and Katherine Kiss Me.

So while Tonight will satisfy those who love their synthesisers and electropop, it always provides an accessible, exciting avenue for those who, like me, have never previously wanted to explore those particular musical genres before. And that, surely, means that it has accomplished everything Franz Ferdinand hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back on form, 10 Feb 2009
By 
C. J. Calvert (Carlisle,England,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well i just gotta say that they have won me back as a fan, i went totally off Franz after the first album. This new album is superb, i only gave it a try after hearing them perform Ullysses(?) live on Johnathon Ross and thought it was superb, i really love the dirty synths on that track and the whole album.
I think it's a good mixture of guitars and synths too on this record... All in all a great album

Craig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasent surprise, 11 July 2009
By 
L. Johnson-matchett (Dunfie, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
Tonight is quite different to Franz Ferdinand's previous two albums; this time, it's more electro/pop based. I wasn't really expecting it but after listening to the album all the way through it really caught hold of me, and I've been listening to it everyday for the last month. For an album to be perfect it needs every song to be perfect as well, and this album has definetly accomplished this for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Boxset Cool Sound, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Hiroshi Mori - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It can recognize that it is growing whenever this band puts an album on the market. Since the first album was individually tedious, it was disillusioned, but he was surprised at the height of the quality of a previous work, and it was pleased with it. of course, the height guarantee of the quality of the newest album -- it carries out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 27 Feb 2009
By 
J. Byrne (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Franz Ferdiand have evolved with this album, more electronic sounds but very much true to themselves. Even better than their first amd much much better than their second album! Lucid Dreams (track 10) is cracking, check it out and wait for the instrumental to kick in at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tonight: So Much Better!, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. D. Gumble "Dan" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Since the release of their eponymous debut back in 2004, Franz Ferdinand might be seen as something of an oddity amongst the vast majority of their contemporaries. Take for instance the likes of Kaiser Chiefs, Bloc Party, The Rakes, The Killers and just about any other band belonging to the new wave/disco genre that dominated the music scene five or six years ago. Each of these bands plus a whole host of others, of which there are far too many too mention, burst onto the scene offering such great promise and excitement, only to return with follow ups of such uninspired banality, it seemed hopeless to expect anyone to serve up a second offering of any genuine worth. Thankfully Franz Ferdinand managed to buck this trend of crashing disappointment by returning with 2005's 'You Could Have it So Much Better', an album charged with such unshakably infectious melodies and perfectly crafted pop songs, that many of the already lacklustre records being released at the time were rendered about as exciting as a mild bout of tinnitus. Anyway, having failed to disappoint us yet, Franz Ferdinand are back with their third album, 'Tonight: Franz Ferdinand'. With four years having passed since their previous outing, anticipation and expectation was always going to be high. Would they be able to deliver for a third time running? The answer is a resounding YES. Furthermore, this could well be their best record to date. The band combines their obvious disco-pop sensibilities with a newfound electronic element, creating a somewhat fuller texture that has not always evident in their previous albums. The most obvious example of this has to be `Lucid Dreams'. Arguably the defining highlight of 'Tonight: Franz Ferdinand', the song builds from a typically catchy verse into an enormous, synth-laden chorus, concluding with, an admittedly slightly drawn out, four minute long electro freak-out with the omission of guitars altogether. Other definite highlights include current single `Ulysses', a track that offers the melodic facets that dominated their debut, whilst clearly showing off their recent penchant for dirty synth hooks. `Turn it On' and `No You Girls' are instant crowd-pleasers, each with the potential for future singles. `Can't Stop Feeling' also deserves a mention, serving as perfect indicator as to how far they have come over the past four years, the track being driven by a stomping synth riff as the guitars, once again are put to one side. While critics of the band might argue that there isn't quite enough experimentation or risk taking on offer here to attract many new fans, they certainly aren't at risk of losing any. Ultimately, this is the sound of a band genuinely enjoying themselves in the studio, which is something that translates with absolute clarity. With a third, refreshingly strident album now under their belt, one can only hope that Franz Ferdinand will be able to maintain the same high standards on their fourth outing, and on this evidence, they should have no trouble in doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab. Buy it., 16 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
If you are as clever as the band (and as modestly pleasant), this is a brilliant album.

It's fun, groovey, less "shout-ey" than their second offering and in general HUGELY palatable and a positive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Franz Ferdinand: Tonight, 4 Jun 2009
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
Excellent album, liking it more each time I listen to it. If you liked their previous albums, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Always Difficult Third Album, 4 April 2009
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
Alot of bands find the 2nd album harder to write, but alot of the time the 1st carrys the 2nd. the 3rd album for me is always going to be the hardest. bands like oasis and even the kaisers didn't produce the goods on a quality 3rd album. but franz have done it for me with there 3rd album. for those people who say that this is a bad album, they are obvisously not fans anyway. for me, this album still carries the usual franz sound. but they have added a more grown up feel to the tracks. this album sounds great and it is a album i'm proud to own. its a album to sing and to dance to. what more can you ask for!! 4 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Hand Banana!, 29 Jan 2009
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
Franz Ferdinand are a band. Let's get that nice and sparkling clear, shall we? And, as such, bands make music. Sometimes they make a little music, sometimes they make a lot but they always can be counted on to know where exactly they came from. Now imagine, expanding on Armando Iannucci's analogy about how we indulge the creative members of our society, that Franz Ferdinand were butchers. Okay, so they turned up, all neatly dressed and hygienic, in 2004 and they did indeed chop some good meat. They filleted, they minced and they quite possibly even boned a little. And we all saw what they had done and we were pleased. The following year, they saw fit to make sausages and even showed us how to spatchcock a game bird or two. Well done, the Franz!

Now, after a long-deserved break, they return in 2009 - the year of the Ox - and suddenly Franz Ferdinand have gone cannibal on us. Gone are the carefree days of the Slap Rump or a generous bit of Top Bone action, now they want to eat you, body and soul. Something dark happened while they were away and now they want your blood. You can hear the pulsating jugular beat in opening track "Ulysses" and then pretty much everywhere else on the album. Flesh tears, tendons snap and bones are stripped clean as we descend into the Danza Macabra, the Zombie Jamboree. And finally (not including the superb Erol Alkan remix of "Do You Want To"), Franz are leading the charge back onto the dancefloors, where all good Pop music belongs.

Franz Ferdinand have never been a dark band, musically or otherwise, but this sees them finally shake off the formulaic "Mr Soft as performed by the Fire Engines" vibe that their previous two albums were mired in. Add to that the fact that Alex Kapranos, while clearly better dressed than 99% of his peers, is old enough to know better and so is possessed with the classier brand of Pop nous that age brings, and we could be looking at a band that will actually stand the test of time. They say you get the heroes you deserve and, in the same month that the NME somewhat pathetically pits a crass anachronism like Noel Gallagher up against Barack Obama as Hero of 2008, God only knows that we need some new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tonight: Franz Ferdinand
Tonight: Franz Ferdinand by Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews