Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a shock.....
.....But not an entirely unpleasant on. It does take some getting used to though. The first two albums were very guitar based and this leans heavily to a more electropop direction, so it seems very weird at first. 'No you girls' 'What She Came For' and 'Live Alone' is a very catchy typically Franz rock/pop song in the vein of 'Do you want to' but the other tracks so...
Published on 23 Jan 2009 by Miss D. Miu

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars bad
One cd is missing, I only received the special edition cd and not the tonight one. I am disappointed this time
Published 8 months ago by Alessandra Marivo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a shock....., 23 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
.....But not an entirely unpleasant on. It does take some getting used to though. The first two albums were very guitar based and this leans heavily to a more electropop direction, so it seems very weird at first. 'No you girls' 'What She Came For' and 'Live Alone' is a very catchy typically Franz rock/pop song in the vein of 'Do you want to' but the other tracks so elements of Orange Juice/Lyndsey wells/8O's synth/90's break beats. The tempo of the songs often change at the beginning and mid stream e.g. 'Bite Hard, What She Came Fo" which makes all the more exciting and creative. 'Katherine Kiss Me', the last track is slow and acoustic and seems abit of an odd choice to end on. If you are sole fan of guitar based music - stay way. But if you like twists and turns and fancy something varied I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight: Franz Ferdinand, 11 Feb 2009
By 
M. White (Hampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album has had mixed reviews in the press, but don't be put off. This is a quality set of songs, some of which ("No You Girls, "Bite Hard", "What She Came For") stand out as instantly catchy candidates for singles, but the more I listen to the album, the harder I find it to decide which song I like best. They are all so good in their own way. At the moment, "Live Alone" is my favourite. It's insanely danceable and the lyrics show a rejection of true commitment in favour of the excitement and thrill of love. The comfortable and routine is not for Alex Kapranos! As with previous Franz albums,the lyrics, melodies and hooks are still there. It takes a few listens before they are fully revealed, but the album is all the better for it. Although the songs stand well along, to do them full justice, I think this is best listened to as an album, as it truly is a journey through preparing for, enjoying and recovering from a great night out. Buy the album and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC ALBUM, 2 July 2009
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
This album is a really good one and i would reccomend to any franz ferdinand supporters to buy this one as its possibly the best of 3 albums! More amazing base lines and amazing music from the band.
- The album came perfectly on the first day of the expected delivery date and was in mint condition. fab! by it now!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Vinyl Edition, 17 Mar 2009
The album,takes a little getting into, but its relentless beat (until Katherine Kiss Me) takes you out for a night you'll never come home from ;-)

The vinyl edition is superb. Two discs, top notch pressing and a big sturdy cover that won't get dog eared over time. Of course, worth getting the 2CD edition as well for Blood (The Dub remixes), but if there is one vinyl album you have to get in 2009 it's this one. So good, you'll want to buy a turntable if you haven't got one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight Tonight Tonight, 17 Dec 2008
This is so worth the wait. If you're holding your breathe wondering why it's taken a while relax. Tonight is as fresh and immediate as their debut but darker, tighter, and way more psychedelic. The LP opens with current single Ulysses, setting an insistent and edgy pace. Turn It On, Live Alone, and Bite Hard all feel like they're wearing sunglassses after dark the night after the night before. Lucid Dreams is twisted and trippy, it's followed by Dream Again an even further out twist. For the whole of Tonight, they're once again the hippest band in the UK, way out there on their own. Finishing with Katherine Kiss Me, one of their most instant head to feet to party numbers. Whoever Katherine is - Tell Her Tonight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasent surprise, 11 July 2009
By 
L. Johnson-matchett (Dunfie, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
Tonight is quite different to Franz Ferdinand's previous two albums; this time, it's more electro/pop based. I wasn't really expecting it but after listening to the album all the way through it really caught hold of me, and I've been listening to it everyday for the last month. For an album to be perfect it needs every song to be perfect as well, and this album has definetly accomplished this for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Franz Ferdinand: Tonight, 4 Jun 2009
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
Excellent album, liking it more each time I listen to it. If you liked their previous albums, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 27 Feb 2009
By 
J. Byrne (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Franz Ferdiand have evolved with this album, more electronic sounds but very much true to themselves. Even better than their first amd much much better than their second album! Lucid Dreams (track 10) is cracking, check it out and wait for the instrumental to kick in at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Boxset Cool Sound, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Hiroshi Mori - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It can recognize that it is growing whenever this band puts an album on the market. Since the first album was individually tedious, it was disillusioned, but he was surprised at the height of the quality of a previous work, and it was pleased with it. of course, the height guarantee of the quality of the newest album -- it carries out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab. Buy it., 16 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonight: Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD)
If you are as clever as the band (and as modestly pleasant), this is a brilliant album.

It's fun, groovey, less "shout-ey" than their second offering and in general HUGELY palatable and a positive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tonight: Franz Ferdinand
Tonight: Franz Ferdinand by Franz Ferdinand (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews