Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars digitally re-mastered excellent sound, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
This is a wonderful CD, would make a lovely present for an elderly relative, easy listening and a joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We'll meet again., 21 Oct. 2009
By 
Y. J. Lowe (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This record is an absolute delight, especially for those of us who lived through the war. Although I was only a little child at the time, I remembered the words to nearly all of these songs. I also had the good fortune to meet Dame Vera Lynn recently when she came to sign copies of her autobiography, and she is a lovely person. I recommend this cd to everyone - and especially to my generation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Songs that won WW2 Vera Lynn, 5 Oct. 2009
Although I was barely 2 when war ended I find these Vera Lynn songs very nostalgic. Remember seeing her on TV as a child. These songs kept people going during the dark years of the war and still sound great today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovley easy listening, 27 July 2006
These tracks are sixties re-recordings which means that the sound quality is far greater that recoridngs of twetny years previously. Lovely , would reccomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Lynn remembers, 14 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought 2 Vera Lynn CD's for my mother in law who suffers from dementia. We could not believe how well she remembered the words. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vera Lynn Remembers The Songs that won the War, 24 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD was purchased specifically for the entertainment of residents in a nursing home run by a charity which supports ex-military personnel.
The tracks are virtually all remembered and well loved by this particular audience.Remembers: The Songs That Won the War 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Lynn ~Rememberance, 1 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great CD for anyone and brings back wonderful memories. Great for very elderly people they love singing along to it. If you have anyone in a care home this is a brilliant gift it starts conversations amongst them about tmes gone by. Vera Lynn is a national treasure. Fantastic CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Lynn - a Star for ever!, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
M. S. Boom (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought two different CDs which were available recently on Amazon... I am very happy with each one, and continually play them on a daily basis! I would heartily recommend you buy them too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wonderful Vera Lynn, 29 Oct. 2009
By 
Jaime Gonzalez (Valdivia, Chile) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the album satisfied complet my expectatives. I remember Vera from two sources. ONE is the song at de end of the film Dr. Strangelove and the second is the song VERA in the album THE WALL Pink Floyd. During the gold period of the singer I was child ( born in 1940)but I remember to have listened Vera in BBC tramisions during the second World War
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vera lynn remembers, 2 Jan. 2011
I do not think there is anyone who is a greater fan of Dame Vera than me! I went to sleep with Vera when I was in the R.N. awaiting drafting at H.M.S. Nile in Alexandria - on the recording, of course. I was in Coastal Forces as a Scribe (P/MX 736514), eventually ending up at Turkish Harbour, Athens, which I helped to close down in 1945. I thought I had all of her recordings until I spotted Amazon's list which included this CD. I recommend anyone who served in the 1939 -45 war to purchase this wonderful selection. At 80+ I admit to living in the past. At least we know what happened, if our memories still work! As we are catapulted into the Winter of Discontent (January 2011), I do not think I am alone when I say, I do not like the look of the future. Happy New Year and continued success to you, Amazon. Why not send a donation to The Dame Vera Lynn Trust for Children with Celebral Palsy. Regret I can not lay my eyes on the address, but those readers who have the expertise of the Internet will no doubt be able to find it - you will get an acknowledgement, unlike some charities I have supported in the past. Don't forget to make your donation "Gift-aided", the Trust will claim back some of the income tax you have paid! Clem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews