Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars109
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2009
This series is good enought to keep you on the sofa. Unlike others, I really don't give a flying Fruitbat about who does what accent. After all, here is a series about a Victorian woman who has lived an incredibly long life (owing to the injection of vampire blood) who lives in a vast Gothic house that has a cellar as big as London Zoo in which she houses a variety of monsters. Do you really expect the makers to worry about whether or not your disbelief has been switched off? Your "Turn off disbelief" button should have been pressed once you read the series' description.This is a good production in the science fantasy category and it has a lot of atmosphere. I didn't give it the extra star because it borrows shamelessly from other series. For example if you cannot see the "Trouble with Tribbles", a story line from the original Startreck, in one of the Sanctuary episodes then you are probably under thirty years of age and there are more examples. There are also some of the continuity errors one might expect when a plot charges along with the speed of this one. For example, the whole cast teleport halfway around the world and end up on a cliff above a lost city. One then hears the question, "there must be a way down there"; hmmm maybe the teleporting batteries were all worn out for the day.
The first series ended on a cliffhanger (another Startreck ploy?) and I am dying to see the next series. Great fun made by people who obviously love a romp and the productionis rich and colourful.
If you liked series like Dresden The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] then this will appeal to you, I hope.
66 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
Surprisingly good.
True, the special effects are, now and again laughable. Unlike say Battlestar Galactica.

It concerns a so-called Sanctuary(which is secret but everybody knows about it) for Guys who happen to be Werewolves, MerPeople; even a Frog-Lizard guy in a cool smoking jacket turns up very briefly.
As you do.

He does look a cool guy though. Worth having a drink with.

The point is the stories are quite good; the scripts well-written and punchy with a modicum of wit. And, reasonably well-paced.
The characters themselves are quite nicely drawn.
Only one or two are one-dimensional.

And better, the clichés aren't too badly done. For example, where "somebody" is always stupid enough or security systems fail at just the right time - allowing the 'bad guy' in. Oh Dear...How will we survive(to the next story line).

I particularly love the 'unexpected beginning' to some episode.

It managed to hook me for 4 episodes at each viewing (4 episodes per disk...).
And that's saying something.

I intend to check Series II and see if they can keep up the pace.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
Fans of the recently refurbished much improved Primeval or anyone bored by the latest series of Torchwood, who remembers just how good the first two series of that programme were, should really enjoy this similar Canadian offering. Light in tone but still occasionally bloody, it features a fresh-faced team of scientists and psychiatrists in an enormous Gothic castle, who investigate and offer accomodation & protection for 'abnormals' (ie: monsters). They're led by a mysterious, enigmatic Doctor who seems to have the gift of eternal life. Thrilling, funny & scary in turns, it is often very silly, and there are plenty of bits (homages?)which will remind you of other tv programmes (Heroes, X Files, Buffy etc ) ..but it is NEVER dull. Clever, inventive, fast-paced and fun (and, more importantly full of monsters...) everything that Torchwood: Miracle Day promised to be , but isn't. A real tonic... and everyone tells me that it gets better with season 2...
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 April 2009
I've never been a fan of science fiction, but some reason that this series appeals to me. In fact, I have thoroughly enjoyed it. I stumbled across it by accident while flicking through channels one day, and I've been an addict ever since.

The best I can relate it to is a cross between Dark Angel), Poltergeist The Legacy), Veritas the Quest (never been released on DVD), and Primeval).

This series originally started as 8 webisodes available from 2007. These webisodes built up such a cult following that the series was eventually commissioned the television.

The series stars, and is produced by, Essex girl Amanda Tapping (Stargate SG1,Stargate Atlantis) as Dr. Helen Magnus who is ably assisted by daughter Ashley Magnus (Emilie Ullerup), and Dr. Will Zimmerman (Robin Dunne). Also appearing as part of this "Scooby gang" are going Christopher Heyerdahl ("Bigfoot"), and Ryan Robbins (as Henry Foss).

The first TV series has 13 episodes, and the second series has now been commissioned and started filming in April 2009.

*** EXTRAS ***

- Commentaries for all episodes
- Webisodes
- Making of Sanctuary
- Bloopers
- Photo gallery
- Season two preview

I recommend this series to anyone (science fiction fan or not), it's a good bit of escapist fun.
44 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2009
This is an excellent show, with action, drama, science fiction and great charecter development all thrown in. I was unfamilier with the actors other that Amanda Tapping who was back to her best which made her a favorite with Stargate.

If you like such shows as Supernatural, Dresden Files etc i suggest you check Sanctuary out.

Just hope they do Season 2
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
Have seen trailers for subsequent series on Syfy channel and so I bought this so I could start at episode 1.Pretty compulsive viewing (quite a few late nights lol) and thoroughly enjoyed by both myself and wife.Can't wait for Syfy to start showing series 2 again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
I bought Sanctuary Season 1 on DVD and it is great, I love it. The product arrived very soon and in perfect condition, and it works perfectly, no problem at all. I would recomend buying things through this page, great service!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
I have the complete series and found the storyline great, the actors believable and the special effects as very good to brilliant. Sanctuary is exactly that for those who may be different to the normal accepted human we all think we are. There are Vampires, Lycans and others that are less recognisable but none the less just as believable. Woven through this are some of the events of note in the late 19th the 20th and 21st centuries. People, both real and fictional appear and there stories are intermingled in a very believable way. It could all be SO true! Thoroughly enjoyable and a series that cries out to be viewed again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
The story of the Sanctuary, a place where the strange and the unusual supernatural creatures can find refuge from the cold, unsymphathetic world of so-called normals, is a fascinating one. A show about the supernatural where these abnormals are considered unique and worth saving (or worth saving the world from) is starring an immortal scientist, Dr. Helen Magnus, a strong, smart and independent woman. With her are her wild warrior daughter Ashley, a psychologist Will Zimmerman, a computer geek with a secret Henry, and an abnormal full of hair and attitude, "Big Guy". The show is about the Sanctuary as a place of protection, but also as a prison for the more dangerous creatures, some of whom can't control their beast-like natures. Opposing the Sanctuary is a clandestent secret organization called the Cabal who have more man-power, more money, more guns, and a mean streak.

Having only watched the first season - which ends in a cliffhanger, as usual - the show is definitely worth watching. I highly recommend it. In a world where the strange is either admired or feared, a show about a place where such extreme points of view aren't the whole truth is a wonderful new addition to scifi and fantasy shows out there. The first season only has 13 episodes, but I hear bigger seasons with more episodes are on the way, so hold tight. Every episode stands alone - except for the last two. These stories are new takes on some of the mysteries humans have been wondering about since the dawn of civilization and longer.

Don't pass this show by. It's definitely worth checking out! Two thumbs up!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
This is an amazing series, with great storylines, wonderful characters and some brilliant humour. All the actors are amazing (especially Amanda Tapping), and the way the show links up with history is really interesting.
In response to the review about the "bad" british accent, if you understand the storyline you will understand why Magnus doesn't have a typical british accent. Accept it as part of a 3 dimensional character (who originates from victorian times), and just enjoy all the layers that have been put into this series.
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.