Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behind Closed Doors
For their first two albums, Thunder's career had been on the rise and rise, but come the third, Behind Closed Doors, the world of grunge had arrived (a subject dealt with by Luke Morley on "Preaching From A Chair") and their brand of music was not so in vogue - so this album consolidated their position but was to be their last album proper with EMI.

The album...
Published on 17 Aug. 2010 by Mr. Shy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent tunes (and some album fillers!)
'Behind Closed Doors' saw Thunder return the the scene after a long break following the excellent 'Laughing On Judgement Day'. The album shows a good array of tracks from the rocking 'Stand Up' to the acoustic ''Til The River Runs Dry', however the album lacks real punch towards its close, a must for true Thunder fans, but for someone coming to Thunder for the first time...
Published on 26 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behind Closed Doors, 17 Aug. 2010
For their first two albums, Thunder's career had been on the rise and rise, but come the third, Behind Closed Doors, the world of grunge had arrived (a subject dealt with by Luke Morley on "Preaching From A Chair") and their brand of music was not so in vogue - so this album consolidated their position but was to be their last album proper with EMI.

The album itself contains several excellent Thunder tracks, many of which were aired live by the band right up to they split - River Of Pain, Fly On The Wall, Castles In The Sand and the music runs the gamut from all out rock to quieter, more reflective ballads. The mood of several of the tracks is quite dark (eg It Happened In This Town and Til The River Runs Dry) but the album is not exclusively so, the lyrics for lead single Stand Up for example are amusingly written. The only song that really feels like filler is Too Scared To Live, but that too is at least amusing.

Is it worth buying this two disc edition over the original CD? If you don't already have the singles, then yes. It contains most of the B-sides for the three singles from the album (Stand Up, River Of Pain, Castles In The Sand), as well as the In A Broken Dream single which came out to promote Their Finest Hour (and a Bit). These are fun acoustic versions, studio songs (of which Move On, which can also be found on The Rare the Raw and the Rest, is the best, though the band revisted Life In A Day a few times) and some covers and live versions (and given they were a fantastic live band, live versions are never a bad thing).

There's also a good booklet detailing this phase of the band's career.

However, unlike the remastered collections for Backstreet Symphony, Laughing On Judgement Day, and The Thrill Of It All, the second CD of B-Sides etc is not complete for the era. The acoustic I Hear You Knocking from Castles In The Sand (with Danny Bowes doing his best crowd participation), the live version of the Who's 5:15 from River Of Pain, and the live version of 'Til The River Runs Dry from In A Broken Dream are missing - a version of the first can be found on At the BBC: 1990-1995, the second is on The Rare, The Raw and The Rest, but the third has yet to make any appearances on any CD (it was only on the cassette single before). Still, this leaves something for the collectors to seek out on ebay...

Overall, if this CD is not already in your collection, this is the version to go for. If it is in your collection but you haven't heard the b-sides, then this is still worth buying as the second CD has as much to enjoy as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Rock album, 5 Oct. 2005
By 
Angus Bell "spideypsych" (Guisborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
This is a mature complex darker piece of work that follows the equally excellent Laughing on .... . As a guitarist I can only weep at the sheer musicality that drips from the strings and frets of Luke Morley - he handles a variety of textures and moods across the album from out and out rockers to the bluesy ballad "I`ll be waiting". Fly on the wall is slightly funky with a wailing brass section in the mix!! However this is a band that showcases the absolutely superb vocals of Danny Bowes - who is only matched by Paul Rodgers of Free and Bad Company for that smokey rock/blues voice!!
Add intelligent lyrics and a good production to the overall mix you have an irresistable combination.
This is a five star "must own" album for all fans of classic britrock. Only Led Zeppelin beat them for musicality! Oh and perhaps Peter Frampton with whom they played recently in Newcastle!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thunder Behind Closed Doors, 8 Mar. 2010
I think to focus on the shortened 'In A Broken Dream' and dismiss the quality of this album is shameful! Behind closed doors was already epic and brilliant and much loved my Thunder fans. To take it and remaster it worked wonders for it. Disc 2 is excellent too, but i bought this to hear the classic album in top notch form, and im not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best In The Thunder Collection, 14 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Phillips (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
I cant speak for every Thunder fan but I think that this one of the best albums the band has made. The reason it's so good is because the quality of the material is just as good as the previous Thunder albums Backstreet Symphony,& Laughing on Judgement Day. Luke Morley shines on Behind Closed Doors because he is not only an good guitarist but he is a excellent songwriter. Songs like Future Train, Till The River Runs Dry (which is a true story written about domestic abuse) Too Scared To Live & Preaching From A Chair are superbly written. There are so many good songs on here such as the live favourite River Of Pain, Ball & Chain, Stand Up, I'll Be Waiting, & Castles In The Sand. The only weakness on this album for me is Fly On The Wall which sounds incredibly naff, but apart from that it is a superb album. This is an underrated album by a underated band. Give it a go. A great album for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thunder behind closed doors, 4 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
I like this one tremendously. In' I'll be waiting' thunder have created a ballad for judgement day perhaps. Also there is the non power ballad types such as 'it happened in this town' an unsurprisingly unsentimental poke at the cruelty of bad problems which you can earn the right to sing along with too. It wasn't too controversial to be released as a single I thought and at that time the world needed some sort of dig, so why this never happened l have never been able to fathom. Some great moments like 'river of pain', probably the bluesiest based rocker they did and a good single choice, but 'preaching from a chair ' wins 'the tune not needed' prize for sheer cheekiness. Ivor novello was Ivor the engine for a start if you want gongs and grammy's .Another magical album confirming the hattrick in the historic stairway of the band with plenty of their own stuff to punish critics with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent tunes (and some album fillers!), 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
'Behind Closed Doors' saw Thunder return the the scene after a long break following the excellent 'Laughing On Judgement Day'. The album shows a good array of tracks from the rocking 'Stand Up' to the acoustic ''Til The River Runs Dry', however the album lacks real punch towards its close, a must for true Thunder fans, but for someone coming to Thunder for the first time their debut album 'Backstreet Symphony' or 'Laughing On Judgement Day' would be a better choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Rockers maintain high standards, 28 Nov. 2003
By 
ronster500 (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
The Brit-rockers' third album and the last for major label EMI, "Behind Closed Doors" marked the first change in the band's line-up, with Swedish bassist Mikael Höglund replacing original four-stringer Mark 'Snake' Luckhurst. Once again guitarist Luke Morley is responsible for writing the bulk of the material; although the other guys pop up in the credits here and there and in particular drummer Harry James starts to make his mark in the songwriting process. The album consists of the by now familiar mix of rockers and power ballads, with a funky direction taken on "Fly on the Wall" and "Too Scared to Live". The incredibly powerful and versatile voice of singer Danny Bowes enables him to handle the differing styles with ease. Highlights are the fantastic ballad "I'll Be Waiting"; another showcase for the singer in the style of the debut album's "Don't Wait For Me", and the perennial live favourite "River of Pain". The album features some darker lyrical content this time around; in particular on "Til the River Runs Dry", "Future Train", and "It Happened in This Town", although there are lighter moments such as the satirical take on tabloid health scares in "Too Scared To Live", and the excellent swipe at the fashion police in "Preaching From A Chair".
To conclude, another album with high quality songwriting and musicianship; although I would advise the newcomer to get the debut album "Backstreet Symphony" first, if you like that then you will not go wrong with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-mastered realy works plus you get so much more with the cd ., 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This re-mastered Thunder cd is so much clearer and louder that the old cd . I just have to tell people to go and get these re-mastered cd .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
MRDNUNN "DN" (Ilkeston,Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
Excellent album from a top band - one of Britains finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Their Best, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Behind Closed Doors (Audio CD)
Let’s start by getting a few things straight. I love Thunder, I really do. I didn’t quite cry when they announced they were calling it a day in 1999, but it was close. And I jumped about like a madman when they reformed for 2002's Monsters of Rock tour, and announced a comeback album, due out later this year. I’ve bought all of their albums, even Luke's solo album, and the one he and Danny did together; I’ve bought concert tickets. I’ve laughed at their lyrics, and I’ve danced around the living room with a hairbrush to their songs - as a 20-something male!

Now you’ll understand why I do not make the following statement lightly. This isn't a great album. It’s not as bad as some I’ve had the misfortune to listen to, but it’s not as good as the rest of Thunder’s releases. So, what went wrong? If only I knew. Maybe it’s the mid-career dip that a lot of bands seem to suffer. Maybe it was the thought that the end of their record deal with EMI would occur with their Greatest Hits album (which followed shortly afterwards) and they just wanted out. Maybe it was the change of producer from Andy Taylor to Mike Fraser. Maybe it was the change of bassist from Mark Luckhurst to Mikael Hoglund. I don’t know for sure, but whatever it was, this is a sub-standard Thunder album.

Most of the songs themselves aren’t too bad. There’s the traditional Thunder rock/pop up-tempo numbers, a couple of flashes of their usual humour, and some nice slower numbers. But there are also some songs that sound like someone else could have written them, even though guitarist Luke Morley was in control of that side of things as usual. That, really, is the major problem. Most of Thunder’s songs sound like only Thunder can, especially with Danny Bowes’ unique vocals. But many of the songs on this album remind you of someone else. Perhaps if you don’t know Thunder, this wouldn’t be a bad album. But for the dedicated fan, it is a blot on an otherwise beautiful landscape.

Although there are some stand out tracks on this album, they serve only to show more clearly the low standard of the rest of the album. If you own all of Thunder’s other albums, I would recommend buying this to complete your collection, just to say that you have.

If, however, you are looking for a good rock or rock/pop album, or even one good Thunder album, this should not be your starting point. The quality of Thunder’s studio albums seems to have a “V” shape to it, with the two albums at either end of their career “Backstreet Symphony and “Giving the Game Away” being the best and this one, in the middle, being the worst.

In the album’s defence, I will say that it does have an eye-catching cover, and does look very impressive, more so than it sounds for much of it. As I saw the band live for the first time shortly after this album was released, I have a t-shirt with the album cover on, and the tour dates in a circular shape on the back, which is certainly very eye-catching. I just feel it’s a great pity that the most positive thing I have to say about a Thunder album has nothing to do with the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind Closed Doors
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews