Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Bowie album
Bowie collaborated with the innovative producer Brian Eno on his trilogy of 'Low', 'Heroes' and 'Lodger' (Eno later went on to produce David's 1995 album 'Outside').

I have always loved this little gem of a Bowie album and it's one that often gets overlooked by the critics and some fans. It may not be as ground breaking as 'Low' or 'Heroes' or even 'Scary...
Published on 13 Aug 2006 by Richard

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is another good Bowie album
This is another good Bowie album, nicely written and not one I had listened to before but as I was completing my back catalogue thought i would give this one a go ... not disappointed ...
Published 14 months ago by Lumbago Whatever


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Bowie album, 13 Aug 2006
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
Bowie collaborated with the innovative producer Brian Eno on his trilogy of 'Low', 'Heroes' and 'Lodger' (Eno later went on to produce David's 1995 album 'Outside').

I have always loved this little gem of a Bowie album and it's one that often gets overlooked by the critics and some fans. It may not be as ground breaking as 'Low' or 'Heroes' or even 'Scary Monsters' that followed a year later, but it is still chock full of tunes, plus in it's own way, it is experimental, influential and even ground breaking, what with it's blend of New Wave and World Music. Think about it, firstly it's the Eastern influences that may have inspired bands like The Clash and The Pogues, for example 'Straight To Hell' (The Clash) and 'Summer In Siam' (The Pogues), which are not too far removed from 'D.J.' and 'Yassassin' in origin. Also Bowie got in there first before Paul Simon's 'Graceland' with splicing African Music to Pop/Rock.

There are so many highlights to recommend here. My favourites are: 'Fantastic Voyage', 'Yassassin', 'Red Sails', 'D.J.', 'Look Back In Anger', 'Boys Keep Swinging' and 'Repetition'. There you go, that's 75% taken care of, and as for the other 25%, well that's also blooming marvellous. One to add to the record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heinz 57, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. T. Chippendale (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
Many people write about how this album follows 'Low' and 'Heroes', or the (slightly misleading) Berlin Trilogy tag. What this music makes me think about is finding Bowie. Having bought Changestwobowie as a teenager around 1981/2 I started to buy his previous albums, Lodger was one of the first and remains a favorite. I loved the variety, the feeling that I was somewhere exotic (I never knew where the exotic was). My vinyl copy was getting so scratched that I needed a replacement and listening again made me feel excited about the music Bowie was making, with his usual keen eye at this time for musicians to realize the sound in his head. Lodger doesn't seem to fit in with the previous two albums, again maybe it's the variety of songs rather than the similar sounding themes that spread over Low and Heroes. Putting songs like African Night Flight, Move On then Yassassin together might seem like clumsy song order to some, but to my ears added to the strange journey around Europe/Africa/Berlin (delete or add as necessary). You can't beat an album that has the words 'cricket menace' to describe the contribution of a (non) musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Bowie Album, No Hesitation, 7 April 2013
By 
C. Owen (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
I've just come from Bowie's Facebook page, where you can vote for your favourite. It was easy! Lodger. No hesitation. It's the one that does the most creative Bowie thing best, which is to create rocky music that kicks ass at the same time as taking you to a strange and different place, leaving each song's proposition forever open to interpretation and reinterpretation. You will never (CAN never) be done with this one! It will stay with you unless you totally walk away from it (and I defy you to do that if you ever took Lodger on board in the first place)!

Faves within the fave:

Red Sails
African Night Flight
Look Back in Anger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terribly underrated album, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
i told a friend of mine - a fellow musician and songwriter - that most bowie fans didn't like this album. i'd introduced him to bowie and this album some 6 months before. he replied; "but that's not real bowie fans". and i must agree. this is pure bowie. pure complex and daring lyrics as well as musically daring composition and innovative orchestrations.
this is an absolutely brilliant album, but also one of bowie's most challenging. none of the songs are as catchy as any on ziggy or as soulesque as stationtostation, and that may be hard for some fans to swallow. but when you let this liberating album grow on you, it proves to be a revelation more complex than most. and isn't that what bowie's all about, more than "let's dance"?
i still consider low to be the best berlin album, but this is surely one of the best albums of the 70s. incredibly demanding of it's listener, with no quick hook lines or flashy productions, this is post modernism at it's best.
enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie at his Best, 15 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
Ever since I first played this album 2 years ago, I have never been able to put it down. On each listen you discover a new hidden sound, this depth makes it as durable as 'Low' and Heroes'. What annoyingly lets it down is the muddy, slightly muffled production; Which was due to the songs being filtered through older production equipment in America, as opposed to more advanced equipment in Europe where they were recorded. Very different from the other 'Berlin' albums, it has no instrumentals, just short, weird pop songs. This is Bowie at the height of weirdness (check out the freaky booklet shots from the 'Boys Keep Swinging' promo). 'Repetition' is probably the most disturbing song Bowie's ever conjured. 'Fantastic Voyage' is a delightful Hunky Dory-type ballad, then you're set off on a trip to Africa, Turkey, China and the U.S.
I can't recommend this album enough, but you must be a real Bowie to like it and willing to persevere repeat listenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artful lodger, 13 Mar 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
I recall buying the single 'Boys Keep Swinging' and playing it for weeks. In the wake of its success, I was surprised that 'Lodger' seemed to pass everyone by, more so than just how conventional the b-side, 'Fantastic Journey', sounded. It isn't so difficult to understand now, though, why the album seems to have a reputation for being wedged in at the end of the 1970s. Unlike its two predecessors, 'Lodger' has a jarring disparity of styles. The exotic 'African Night Flight' and 'Yassassin' provide a stark contrast to the album's more straightforward moments. Though each track benefits from the usual care and attention, the sense of fragmentation gives 'Lodger' an unfinished air, as if Bowie hadn't decided how he wanted it to sound. Brian Eno was reputedly none too impressed with the finished item because some of the more daring material was axed in favour of the straighter stuff.

Even so, there are several great moments on 'Lodger', Adrian Belew's guitar-throttling solo on 'Boys Keep Swinging' only adds to the riotous feel of the song and the follow-up single, 'DJ', has Bowie's delicate offbeat magic behind it. Bowie's experimentation doesn't work as well as on previous albums, but 'Lodger' is certainly worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic bowie, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
Maybe not his best ever but a great entry in the Bowie canon!
Good tunes great musicianship. Perhaps his best period along with low and heroes ?
No collection is complete without it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but still great, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
not his best, but still great. Not so well liked by many Bowie fans, but bears repeated listening. A few gems such as Yassasin and Boys keep swinging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie, 15 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Cher E. Wray (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lodger (Audio CD)
Replacing alot of my vinyl, one of my fave cds. Some great tracks. One to have in your collection if you are a Bowie fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gem, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lodger (MP3 Download)
one of his best albums as far as i am concerned, although i like all bowies work, there is no greater singer song from england than bowie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lodger
Lodger by David Bowie
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews