Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts the "Super" in "Super Audio Compact Disc (SACD)", 15 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Avalon 21st Anniversary (Audio CD)
Superlatives have become such a way of life that it's easy to disregard anyone who resorts to using them. That would be a mistake here; this new SACD edition of "Avalon" is an incredible release that deserves nothing but the highest praise. It's so good in fact that it should single-handedly convince anyone who's been debating whether or not to invest in SACD to get off the fence and run to the store.
Because the original producer and engineer were able to utilize the original multi-track recordings, this release sounds incredibly fresh. The clarity of separation for instruments just HAS to be heard; it's so good it puts many other releases of more recent titles to shame. The 5.1 mix neatly utilizes every speaker in a natural style rather than resorting to gimmicky discrete channel effects. It's a completely natural mix and obscures the fact that the original recording is more than 20 years old!
This is a hybrid disc that will play in regular CDs (except for the bonus track "Always Unknowing", which is available only in the m/c version). But this surround mix is so amazing that you'd really be cheating yourself if you listened only to the stereo CD version! And to think that this is available (so far) only in Europe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxy Music never sounded SO GOOD., 27 Mar 2004
This review is from: Avalon 21st Anniversary (Audio CD)
This is an absolute must buy even if you have the CD.
The multichanel mix is amazing. It is like the music is given an other dimention. I listen quit a lot to multichanel music and must admit that very few come even close to the quality of this one. Every time you listen to it, it just blows you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a little piece of heaven!, 26 July 2008
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon 21st Anniversary (Audio CD)
As if the album wasn't stunning enough on the power of the songs, bryan ferrys voice and great production..this sacd takes the album to another dimension!

i am a huge sacd fan and have bought nearly a hundred of them...however a lot leave a lot to be desired!

this has to be in my top 5...for the way it has been carefully remastered so the sound fills every corner of the room! they could be playing in the room!

there is not a bad song on the album to start with, but old favourites like "more than this" and "take a chance on me" sound stunning and the classic title track was crying out for sacd and it sounds amazing!

i would review each track but the review would be the same for each!

the bonus track "always unknowing" is a slow heavenly sounding track that could have made the original album

if you like bryan ferry and roxy music or just a fan of sacd's this is a must (as is propaganda "secret wish")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 37 minutes 21 seconds of perfection., 13 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Avalon (Audio CD)
Every nuance is cared for in this superbly produced (but not over-produced) album. Frankly, words could not spell out the score, but I'll give it a go. It is wonderfully lush, romantic, incisive. It is also a remarkably cohesive album. Although there is variation between tracks, particularly rhythmically, the overall musical feel and the lyrical feel are both quite lucid and they are perfectly matched.
The album begins with 'More Than This' which lays down the very high standard of the album, with no instrument dominating but marvellous little sequences coming in at just the right time, most notably from the guitar and the keyboards. The vocals are also used cleverly, as more than a voice - as an instrument in itself with peaks in the middle of lines creating a sweeping effect in the verses, like the tide washing in and out, to which the lyrics refer. The second verse is a gentle gaining of understanding from the first and the track moves onward to its serene departure. You could say I kinda like it.
Next is 'The Space Between', lyrically a suggestion of moving beyond friendship and characterised by some marvellous percussion. The highlight of the title track is the stunning background vocal with pitch perfect high notes. Next (on the original sequence at least) follows a short instrumental which maintains the flow with refined touches in both foreground and background, then comes the heartfelt 'While My Heart Is Still Beating' (the lyric including "My heart has flown away now, will it never stop bleeding?").
Strong rhythm pulses through 'The Main Thing' then comes the moody opening to the Bryan Ferry/Phil Manzanera composition, 'Take A Chance With Me' which goes on to plead "All the world, even you, should learn to love the way I do", clearly depicting love as the maker and breaker of lives. 'To Turn You On' is a superb love song, the singer again committed to his emotions for better or worse. 'True To Life' maintains both mood and theme and features some evocative vocal effects, then the album finishes with another instrumental and the tide washing in again.
It is no wonder Roxy split after this as the only way would have been down, as Ferry's over-produced solo attempts to recapture this have proven. This album may not be the best of all-time (there - I've admitted it!) but it is my personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late lament, 9 Dec 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon (Audio CD)
Many Roxy fans from the Eno era probably look down on the later albums as they are mainstream offerings, but within that context they are among the classiest, most distinct pop albums of any age. 'Avalon' is proof that they adapted effortlessly to the changing recording values of the 1980s, a rarity among bands plying their trade in the early 1970s. In any case, they were revered by most of the latest pop generation of that age, such as Duran Duran.

'Avalon' has the richest collection of hit singles of any of their albums. 'Take A Chance With Me', with its folky descending scales wrapped in cutting edge cool, is gorgeous, yet languishes in the shade of the giddy 'More Than This' and the showstopping title track. The whole album is recorded beautifully, boosting even the less memorable material. 'The Space Between' and 'The Main Thing' are great dance tracks, while the usual cut glass guitar and swooning bass converse throughout. A fitting end to a great catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great SACD, 24 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. C. G. Veitch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon 21st Anniversary (Audio CD)
I agree with all that has been said about this wonderful SACD. The mix is brilliant and the surround sound is so involving. I just adore Avalon in multichannel! What a huge mistake the major record labels have made by not getting the launch of SACD right and giving us the titles we want and supporting this amazing format which increases listening pleasure so much. SACD mulitchannel releases like this disc are the things to purchase not the continual reissue of remastered titles where there is little that is new or added value, which SACD truly gives and is a worth investment. Fab disc, played an awful lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop perfection, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Torben Madsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon (Audio CD)
The last Roxy Music album and an album that sits easily among the slickest, best produced albums I've ever heard. In fact, it's so smooth that if the songs hadn't been as good as they are, it might just have been one of those style-over-substance releases.

Thankfully the songs are very good. 'More Than This', 'The Space Between' and 'Avalon' sets the tone right from the start, and as this remarkably 'dark' sounding album unfolds, we are treated with great album cuts like 'While My Heart is Still Beating', 'The Main Thing' and 'Take a Chance on Me'.

In some ways 'Avalon' seems far removed from Roxy's earlier, admittedly brilliant albums. But beneath the polished surface, the spirit of Roxy Music is still very much there.

One of the best albums of 1982 in my book, overshadowed by very few (Roxy-fans Duran Duran's 'Rio' and Simple Minds' 'New Gold Dream 81/82/83/84' both spring to mind) and indeed one of the best of the decade.

An elegant end to the studio recordings of a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good surround mix, 12 Oct 2006
By 
J. Alan "JohnA" (Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon 21st Anniversary (Audio CD)
One of the better SACD surround mixes.

Not in the league of DSOTM, but still clean, sharp and well-positioned.

Some material was originally mono, so they perform bit of 'ping-pong' at the rear channels, but it is brief and not annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music doesn't get much better than this!, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. C. Bath (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avalon (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the most sublime and most complete albums ever completed by a band! When I listen to an album, I usually judge it overall by the number of great songs or songs that grip me, that make me listen and think 'wow this has a good rhythm/several great bits to it'. Avalon is one of the few albums I have ever heard where every song is one I like an awful lot. I love Roxy Music, just as much as I love the Beatles, in particular because of the way they changed over time. I love 1963 Beatles as much as I adore them as they were in 1968, and it's exactly the same with Roxy Music. I love the edgy 1972 sound as much as I love them as the smooth sounding outfit they had become in 1982. And that is what makes a great band for me. Changing styles, hugely varying songs but all with the same mark of incredibly high quality.
The song 'Avalon' was the first tune I ever heard properly by Roxy Music, and it is the obvious highlight on here. There is also the wonderful 'More Than This' that feeds out beautifully in the last minute. But my personal favourite is the perfection of 'True To Life', possibly my favourite song ever! I think this song is the closest my brain has ever come to hearing what it imagines the most perfect song would sound like. I know that's just me, but give it a good listen and see for yourself. 'The Main Thing' and 'The Space Between' are the other true heavyweights of incredible sound and great rhythm. The weakest song on here is probably 'To Turn You On'- it doesn't quite match any of the others for the way it sounds- its not as gripping. This must have been a wonderful goodbye for the band in 1982/3, and a fantastic 'note' on which to end. The genius of the remaining original members Ferry, Mackay and Manzanera is in absolute evidence here. All I can say is, much as I like Brian Eno, thank god it wasn't Bryan Ferry that left the band! I've read that many people dislike the 1979 onwards stuff, that it lost the true Roxy Music sound. They must be kidding themselves! To understand true musical perfection, get this! It blows away almost anything made today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ClassicRoxy, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avalon (Audio CD)
Classic Roxy album- brings back some fantastic memories for my wife and I - what a great voice Brian Ferry has- a must for Roxy fans- Ally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avalon
Avalon by Roxy Music
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews