Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Display of Brilliance
Air has done it again with their album Talkie Walkie. An excellent mix of the signature sounds of Air. Using the sweet sounding melody styles of Moon Safari and Les Prof., yet mixed with the excellent and unique sound of 10,000 Legend. This CD is another stroke of brilliance by Dunckel and Goodin displaying their amazing songwriting abilities.
This album is marked...
Published on 29 Jan. 2004 by Amy J. Shkreli

versus
19 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Im falling more and more out of love with Air
This a Beautiful album if you want vocal pop songs , but when i think of Air i think of the Great tracks they've made in the past like Le soleil est pres de moi , J'ai dormi sous l'eau , casanova 70 , Les professionnels , La femme d'argent , Talisman.The problem started with the moon safari album where Beth hirsch sang on two tracks (you make it easy , All i need) which...
Published on 28 Jan. 2004 by Mr. Tyrone Power


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Display of Brilliance, 29 Jan. 2004
By 
Amy J. Shkreli (Waltham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
Air has done it again with their album Talkie Walkie. An excellent mix of the signature sounds of Air. Using the sweet sounding melody styles of Moon Safari and Les Prof., yet mixed with the excellent and unique sound of 10,000 Legend. This CD is another stroke of brilliance by Dunckel and Goodin displaying their amazing songwriting abilities.
This album is marked for sucess without a doubt. It's dreamy sound will appeal to those who are looking for the sounds of Moon Safari. However the styles reflect a bit of 10,000 Legend, which some did not respond to, but I believe was a brilliant piece of work. Plus there is the added bonus of hearing Dunckel and Goodin handling vocals themselves, which adds a whole other element of beauty to the already fabulous music of Air!
Well Done Guys!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Journey into the Sublime, 1 Oct. 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
Once in a while, you'll come across a certain special album, and the one word that best describes it is "pretty." That's certainly an appropriate adjective for Air's "Talkie Walkie," which has some breathtakingly elegant moments. The French duo creates dreamy landscapes of mellow pop with acoustic and electronic touches. "Cherry Blossom Girl" soars kite-high with a catchy chorus and strong melody, while the dark and mysterious "Run" has interesting horror-show synths and hypnotic spoken vocals. The latter song could very well be my favorite on the album. "Mike Mills" and "Surfing on a Rocket" are just as good and noteworthy. To peg "Talkie Walkie" as mere chillout fare would do both this album and Air injustice. It's strong enough to be considered one of the best albums I've heard this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favorite- Air: Talkie Walkie, 21 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
This was only my second Air album purchase and i have to say it was a great a risk, as i didn't know what to expect as i had only heard _Moon Safari_ but the album is just beautiful. Full of sheer quality music, that is amazingly breathtaking. 'Alone In Kyoto' also featured on the Lost In Translation soundtrack is absolutely superb! My favorites are 'Cherry Blossom Girl' 'Run' 'Surfing On A Rocket' all perfect. And for me a personal favorite, i am not sure who to recommend it to, maybe the electronic fans or just chillout lovers! It's beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wistful, romantic and soothing, 14 April 2005
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
This is the first Air album I bought after hearing them on The Virgin Suicides soundtrack and it is amazing!They mix slow, mystical music with powerful lyrics of love, space and cosmic motion that is great to just chill out and listen to. Sitting around daydreaming or while I'm doing drawing its just such a great album to put on anytime. My favourite song has to be Cherry Blossom Girl which is heart-achingly goregous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning in every sense, 7 April 2004
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed listening to Air since getting my hands on an import version of "Premiers Symptomes" all those years ago.
Moon Safari was indeed a landmark album, certainly setting a precident for "Lounge" or "Chill out" or whatever the buzzwords were at that time!
And then came that 2nd album, which took a beating critically but certainly had its moments. Yes perhaps it was slightly pretentious and quite "Prog Rock", but there is no way that "Talkie Walkie" could have been made without its heavy influence.
I quite agree that in many senses it is a fusion of Moon Safari/10.000Khz, only in my opinion much better!
Having recruited Nigel Godrich to produce the album was a match made in heaven; Godrich, with his uncanny knack of creating gorgeous, blissfull soundscapes, and Air, with, well an uncanny knack of creating gorgeous, blissfull soundscapes!!
I admit that on first listen I wasnt sure what to make of it all, but after the third listen I was completely hooked. These songs, that are nearly all under 4 minutes long, completely transfixed me. So beautiful in the sense of structure and production, that I find it really hard to criticize any part of it! Maybe the vocals arent to everybodies taste, but for me they sound genuine and romantic. I cannot recommend this album enough! Its intelligent in its content and subtlety, and as your all probably aware, advertising agencies are starting to catch on...
It wont be long before these tracks are all over our televisions, be it in Property programmes and 'certain' Cell phone adverts!
I just hope that this doesnt become a problem as there is nothing worse than a brilliant track being ruined by some media marketing strategy (Take note Lemon Jelly!)
Certainly a thought provoking album, with a potential to outlast any of their previous output due to its undeniebley clean production, I hope they make the right decision on the next album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Sept. 2005
By 
bridgetjones "lizzylou21" (Mighty North of England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
I know that this album from the brilliant french duo Air is undoubtedly going to be compared to their masterpiece Moon Safari and in my opinion that prevents people from fully appreciating just how good this album is..Air have gone back to what they do best- dreamy, romantic, futuristic chillout music and this formula works so well.
My personal favourite songs are Universal Traveller, Run, Alone In Kyoto and Cherry Blossom Girl but they are all excellent songs.
If you approach Talkie Walkie without judging or comparing it to Moon Safari you'll get a lot out of this album.Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype, 28 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
Being a massive Air fan I read the almost exclusively great press reviews of Talkie Walkie with some caution. The reviews for 10000Hz Legend weren't so positive but I loved it. But they were accurate, this is a brilliant album. From start to finish it's great, with some genuinely moving and heartfelt moments.
The highlights for me are the tracks 'Cherry Blossom Girl', 'Mike Mills', Surfing on a Rocket' and 'Alone in Kyoto'.
'Cherry Blossom Girl' is definitely going to be the first single, it's a classic Air song. A strong acoustic guitar leading moving the song along; floaty, moving vocals and perfect melodies using flutes and synths.
I loved the track 'Mike Mills' because not only is it a really well written instrumental that fits well in the album but it has a truly beutiful string arrangement in it that is worthy of note.
'Surfing on a Rocket' starts with mean bass stab and some great guitar work. But the thing that makes this song are the vocals. The fit perfectly and make this a great pop song and a potential single.
'Alone in Kyoto' this is the album closer and reminds me of something that I can't quite put my finger on. It has a real electronic feel to it. It is fairly minimal but is another really beautiful song and the perfect way to close the album.
These were my personal favourites but the songs I din't mention are also fantastic; 'Alpha Beta Gaga' and 'Biological' both rather surreally having bango on them.
In conclusion I'd say this album sits somewhere in between 'Moon Safari' and the under-rated '10000Hz Legend'. They seem to have got most of the experimentation out of there systems and are concentrating on making us all smile again. And the decision to dispence with guest vocalists was a stroke of genius, Jean-Benoit Dunckel provides the vocals himself and does an admirable job. It's only January and Air have already come up with the album of the year - 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars return to form, 30 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
moon safari was air's landmark album and has spawned many ripp-offs. since, air have found it hard to match it.... until now.
the songson this album float around your head as you drift off listining to the charming melodies.
there are a couple of questionable tracks but it seems on the whole air have found the right formula on "walkie talkie". if you like chill out music and their first album, this is defiately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright, breezy, airy..., 8 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
It is a return to form in a manner of speaking, but certainly a different form than they took with ‘Moon Safari’. Like Radiohead they should be credited for having the guts and vision to explore other directions – in this case the progressive sounds of ‘Hertz’ and the excellent, unique soundtrack to ‘The Virgin Suicides’. To have merely churned out further ‘Safaris’ would have drawn as much criticism as their experimental excursions. ‘Talkie Walkie’ is definitely a sublime, slow-burning grower whose subtle brilliance will dawn upon with repeat listens.

‘Venus’ eases us in with its smooth vocals and slow clapping beat. ‘Cherry Blossom Girl’ is like a bright summer day’s ‘All I Need’. The hypnotic refrains of ‘Run’ do jar somewhat against the rest of the album, yet it has a great dark fairytale feel to the track. ‘Universal Traveller’ shifts back down into a gear with a more subtle use of the voccorder. ‘Mike Mills’ is a pure instrumental, spiralling up slowly through guitars and synths to a gorgeous orchestral summit. ‘Surfing On A Rocket’ has quickly become my favourite track - sounding wonderfully retro-prog-rock without any cheese in sight. The slow refrains of ‘Another Day’ is one of the album’s weaker tracks, however it’s marking time for the effortlessly uplifting soundtrack-esque ‘Alpha Beta Gamma’. ‘Biological’ is perhaps the strangest and least-endearing track on here sounding occasionally like Air have been parachuted somewhere into the American Midwest folk-scene at the dead of night. With repeat listens you discover more layers to the track and you’ll find yourself not reaching for the ‘skip’ button again. ‘Alone In Koyoto’ is a beautiful closer, evoking the vulnerable, bleary-eyed innocence of ‘Lost In Translation’, yet even without Sofia Copolla’s gorgeous imagery it plays just as well; a superb dreamy and emotive instrumental to close the album.
This isn’t a landmark ‘Moon Safari’ release, and to draw continual comparisons is unfair, rather it shows Air comfortable with their sound and ignoring any traditional genre boundaries. It comes across that they’re simply enjoying making music, which compared to a lot of the commercial, deadline-driven, rigid-format music industry these days cannot be a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real grower, 25 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. T. Butterworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talkie Walkie (Audio CD)
Once upon a time, an album would have to be listened to a good few times before it could be truly appreciated. The Beatles were famous for producing 'growers' that needed repeating listening before the musical depth can be accessed.
So it is with this album. Initially, it is little more than musical wallpaper, but upon repeated listenings the melodies and countermelodies, and the lyrical and musical phrases gradually insinuate themselves into the subconcious of the listener until the brain is temporarily made host for Air's musical creativity.
Better than Moon Safari, and easily the best album so far this year, Talkie Walkie is truly sublime. Many bands could fill two CDs with fantastic tracks, but very few could boast two albums on which every track is worth listening to in its own right. Air have now acomplished this and are a welcome antidote to the many 'one or two good songs' albums produced incessantly by the music industry at the moment.
Forget those ultimately one dimensional bands such as 'Kings of Leon' 'The Darkness' and the like and buy an album you will listen to so often that in three months time you will never be able to listen to it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talkie Walkie
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews