Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated comedy
I have always felt that this is an underrated comedy.This box set contains all four series and the relationship between John Thaw and Reece Dinsdale is extremely watchable and quite often pretty funny.

You might be pleasantly surprised at how good the comic timing of John Thaw actually was and he seems a natural for comedy.As Henry he is generally pompous and...
Published on 21 Nov 2008 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consider Yourself - At Home
John Thaw and Reece Dinsdale star in this father-and-son comedy, with Henry (John Thaw) mainly having fun trying to keep Matthew (Reece Dinsdale) out of trouble. At the same time, there's good comedic moments, and an underlying moral to the story too.

Anyway Matthew has fell out with his mother, and wants to live with dad, but Henry has different ideas, he's...
Published on 13 Aug 2008 by DL Productions UK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Complete series Home to Roost DVD, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The item was delivered quickly and well packed. I bought the dvd as a present for a friend. My friend said the quality of the dvd was very good and enjoyed watching the programme again. good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 5 April 2010
By 
P. Brown (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my dad who is a big comedy fan, also I have to say I really enjoyed it myself as it took me back to when I watched it with my parents the first time. John Thaw's performance shows that he was not only good as a serious actor but also brilliant at comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars home to roost complete, 29 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
a very funny show john thaw was a star the olny thing i did not like was the xmas showan hour was to long but thats being petty pity the itv no longer make shows like this well worth your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Great, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Daniel Capstick-bedson (crawley, west sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
'Bloody Great' what more can one say.
its a trip down memory lane, to the time when life seemed so simple and people were content just to get on with being happy.
the humour is realistic and layed back but also has many levels to it which makes this an exelent family comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... didn't know this series at all and as we like John Thaw we wanted to see what it was ..., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
We didn't know this series at all and as we like John Thaw we wanted to see what it was all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Divorced single dads life turned upside down, 12 Feb 2011
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Home to Roost

One of the beauties of the Freeview box, Sky tv and the plethora of television stations is that they have to fill the time with something. There are only so many coooking, weight loss and reality televisions programmes they can show so they reshow the old comeides.

I have been lucky enough to pick up most of the episodes on ITV 3. I loved rising Damp by Eric Chapell and you can never tire of rewatching that as every episode is good. Home to Roost is not quite in the leagure of Rising Damp but it is very good indeed. I could not take to Only when I Laugh but Home to Roost I can watch any time

It is gentle domestic comedy of a middle aged divorced father living on his own when his 17 year old son leaves his mother and decides to come to live with him.

I suppose at the theme of divorced parents was not really depicted on television and certainly not in comedies.

Henry Willows played by John Thaw has a calm settled life and it is turned upside down by a son he has not seen since he was very young. All the bitterness of the divorce returns but it is very funny as he comes to terms with this grown up son.

Some of the best episodes involves the interplay between Henry and his cleaner who is filrtatous but he seems not to notice and her dsigust at the antics of the son . Also the son Mathew tries to engineer a reconciliation between Henry and his divorced wife Sheila Hancock . They even end up sleepeing together then realise it has all be engineered by the son.

There are shades of Dear John but the differrence is that Henry Willows is happy with his life and has no intention of finding another women to fill the hoe in his life. He clailms he was happy in his little world until his son turns up.

All in all an very good comedy and is not in the first rank of British comedies of the time but is an excellent runner up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home To Roost, 20 Sep 2009
By 
Scooby (New Forest, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series - still funny! John Thaw is excellent as always and shows his ability to act in both serious drama and sitcoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Alexander G. Clark "Alex Clark" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Brillaint Comedy Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Burgess (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
great to own the whole series, very funny, we have lost a great actor in John Thaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home to Roost, 30 Jun 2013
By 
Gh Leason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is fantastic I love it Watched it when it was on TV and had to get the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD]
Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] by John Thaw (DVD - 2008)
£16.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews