Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated comedy
I have always felt that this is an underrated comedy.This box set contains all four series and the relationship between John Thaw and Reece Dinsdale is extremely watchable and quite often pretty funny.

You might be pleasantly surprised at how good the comic timing of John Thaw actually was and he seems a natural for comedy.As Henry he is generally pompous and...
Published on 21 Nov 2008 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consider Yourself - At Home
John Thaw and Reece Dinsdale star in this father-and-son comedy, with Henry (John Thaw) mainly having fun trying to keep Matthew (Reece Dinsdale) out of trouble. At the same time, there's good comedic moments, and an underlying moral to the story too.

Anyway Matthew has fell out with his mother, and wants to live with dad, but Henry has different ideas, he's...
Published on 13 Aug 2008 by DL Productions UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated comedy, 21 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always felt that this is an underrated comedy.This box set contains all four series and the relationship between John Thaw and Reece Dinsdale is extremely watchable and quite often pretty funny.

You might be pleasantly surprised at how good the comic timing of John Thaw actually was and he seems a natural for comedy.As Henry he is generally pompous and bad tempered but he has a heart of gold buried quite deep.I think this series is much better than many that are raved about and I have no problem in recommending it.The price for this box set is very reasonable too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the John Thaw treats, 26 Nov 2012
By 
R. A. Pickard "Genuine adaptation seeker" (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Home To Roost when it was first broadcast on television all those years ago. It has stood the test of time well and has not lost any of it's sparkle. The combination of John Thaw and Reese Dinsdale as father and "long lost son" is a paring with chemistry between the two as good as it can possibly be. All of John Thaw's acting was top drawer and teaming him up with Reese Dinsdale could not have been bettered. The humour is first rate and if anyone has not seen this series first time round, you are in for a real treat. Highly recommended. Don't wait a minute longer. If you are a John Thaw fan, buy the series today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic underrated classic British sitcom..., 29 Jan 2013
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
unfortunately for some reason this superb sitcom - showcasing the marvellous acting versatility of the late great John "put your pants on, you're nicked" Thaw - has flown under the radar not unlike how the equally great 'My Family' has in more recent times. And whatever happened to Reece Dinsdale ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consider Yourself - At Home, 13 Aug 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Thaw and Reece Dinsdale star in this father-and-son comedy, with Henry (John Thaw) mainly having fun trying to keep Matthew (Reece Dinsdale) out of trouble. At the same time, there's good comedic moments, and an underlying moral to the story too.

Anyway Matthew has fell out with his mother, and wants to live with dad, but Henry has different ideas, he's settling for himself in his old age, and doesn't want the hassle or nuisance of having to put up with a teenager in the house. Matthew soon breaks down Henry and a friendship, as well as a father-son bond occurs.

This is every episode ever made, so nothing is missing here, like some box sets these days claim they have everything, then they're missing Christmas specials, this box does not do that. Some of the best moments include the episode where Matthew invites friends back to play a romantic game, and one of the girls is quite smitten with Henry; the ghost on the platform of an old railway station, where Henry scares a ghosthunter into hospital and the episode where Henry is sure Matthew is using narcotics, when in fact it's the son next door who everyone worships.

This is quite simply a funny show, definitely aged over time, I was even sure it dates from the 70s with the synthetic theme tune and the décor in Henry's house. The comedy might be simplistic, but it's still classic stuff and I count this as one of Eric Chappel's finest moments, alongside Only When I Laugh and Rising Damp. The show can feel repetitive so you might find yourself watching this in chunks, but it's still a good watch and reminds me of good days.

Only problem is this didn't play very well in Windows Media Centre in Windows Vista, but once I put it through PowerDVD 7, things were working perfectly, so I'm not sure if it's protection getting in the way, or whether it's just a bad copy. So I suggest renting this before buying if you want to use this on Media Centre. Also the picture quality isn't that good, it's rather discoloured and spotty. I'm surprised Network didn't put this through a clean-up, but still it's good for classic viewing. I think it would have been spoilt with a stereo soundtrack and remastered video, but still would have been nice on some episodes where it's particularly dark.

Still, worth watching if you like Eric Chappel - also John Thaw fans. Would rent before I buy though, as there's no extras; and it's easy to forget if the show really is good in different times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home to roost, 22 July 2009
By 
Mr. V. F. Holmwood "A Florida fan" (Winter Springs, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series goes to prove what I have always thought, John Thaw who I feel found the ideal spot for himself in the Inspector Moorse. He was also a great comedy actor. If you want to have a good laugh, get this set of DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the great john thaw, 21 May 2014
By 
mark allinson (Carlisle Cumbria England uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great to watch a classic comedy with the late john thaw again anytime I like they don't make comedys like these anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good family comedy, 11 May 2013
By 
Ms. Heather A. M. Moore "FILM ADDICT" (NOTTINGHAM UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have been watching this DVD a couple of episodes per night and I am really enjoying them.
I remember watching this when I was a child and finding the programme funny and It still makes me laugh now.
The characters are very well written and the acting from Reece Dinsdale and the much missed John Thaw is brilliant.
I also like Rebecca Lacy performance as Julie the daughter although she is in only a number of episodes and the two ladies who play the housekeepers are very good.
Well worth the money as lots of hours of viewing the Christmas Special is a very good extended episode also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars home to roost, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
makes you wonder where all these great script writers went john thaw is brill at home even with comedy 1st class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
i was very happy with the service and it was worth waiting for will use them again for sure thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun, Good family fun. Would recommend it to family and friends. We really enjoy it and glad we bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD]
Home to Roost - Complete Series [DVD] by John Thaw (DVD - 2008)
£16.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews