Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2007
Mazzy Star's debut album is a dreamy blend of folk/pop with hints of blues and a twist of 1960s-style psychedelic rock. What really stands out, though, is Hope Sandoval's remarkable voice, by turns honeyed, strong and plaintive but always pretty damn sexy.

The most successful tracks are those with a more minimal backing to Sandoval's vocals, for example `Ride It On' and `Give You My Loving'. `I'm Sailing' shows a strong blues influence whilst `Ghost Highway' and the title track are rockier numbers. These latter songs are the albums slight weak points, the title track in particular outstays its welcome a little.

The lyrics match Sandoval's vocals beautifully - melancholy tales of absent men and unrequited love are steeped in the atmosphere of America's Deep South.

`She Hangs Brightly' is a lovely record with few faults; as mentioned the best tracks are truly exquisite. Recommended.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
40 minutes of slow-paced alternative rock with sultry vocal performances and occasional psychedelic blues emphases. This elliptically titled debut album was recently profiled in retro music magazine Uncut magazine. It was enthuisastically described as, "the template for the band's music: soft focus, Lynchian and nocturnal", and rightly awarded a rating of 10 out of 10. It is as good as this relatively indolent group's one and only hit single - the captivating, much-covered ballad of 1994, 'Fade Into You'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
I only discovered Mazzy Star recently, having missed out on most of the early 90s alternative music scene. Not to everyone's taste (notably most of my family) but Hope Sandoval's dreamy disposition, beautiful voice and her troubled lyrics set her above and beyond the plethora of female singer songwriters of her era. Such a pity she turned her back on recording for so long.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
love this album.very laid back and dreamy.by far their best. have purchased a few of their other albums but this is by far their best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Very relaxing music but can get boring if you listen attentively but ok for background music which I listen to a lot
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Soft lilting music that makes no demands on the listener. Melodic and delightful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
Mazzy Star's first album is still the best. I've listened to it since the 90's.
Both Vinyl and CD versions are good in different ways.
Be My Angel is my favorite track.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Haunting, moving, edgy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Interesting 🙂
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
After finally getting round to acquiring Mazzy Star's three albums, I find this to be my favourite by quite a long way. That's not to say I don't like the two that followed, but the tracks here sound more like proper songs; rather than murmured, impressionistic mood pieces. Imagine The Velvet Underground fronted by Dolly Parton (well not quite! Hope Sandoval's vocals are quite unique, but you get the idea), a successful emulsion of country/folk meets indie/rock, all whipped together in a blender called `pop'.
11 comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.